We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - could use some updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Destiny USA Shopping!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in East Syracuse
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“OK - could use some updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night around Christmas. Standard 2 1/2 - 3 star amenities, but details overlooked. Our duvet cover didn't have an actual comforter in it; some minor areas left dirty/stained. Corridors and elevators were very cold and drafty. Eventually the Hilton conglomerate will realize that wireless internet should be free at this price point. Did not use the pool or gym this time but they are larger than those found at most chain hotels. Overall - a reasonable value if obtained via Priceline/Hotwire but perhaps not if one were paying full price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for spending the Holiday with our family at DoubleTree by Hilton Syracuse. We are thankful for your business and feedback provided. I am pleased that you found some aspects of the hotel a value, but I am disappointed that we did not meet all our your expectations (or ours). I would be happy to speak with you in more detail offline regarding your experience at our Hotel. Our number one goal is to have every guest leave 100% satisfied with their accommodations.

Internet access is free is all common and public space, in room wifi is available complimentary for all levels of Hilton Honor members. If you are not an HHonors member you can sign up for free at our front desk and start receiving benefits immediately.

We hope to see you again soon!

Brendan England
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    187
    109
    25
    15
See reviews for
155
99
30
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Only mistake was ordering room service--21 percent added onto prices. Restaurant is open late, so go there. Food was excellent, so was pool and service for breakfast. Room was fine except for lack of blankets on children's cot. Kids deserve quilts too! Especially since the draft by the window is awful. Halls are cold too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. We appreciate your business and feedback.

Our food and beverage team is very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal(s) with us. The Regatta Restaurant and Lounge is open late, come in and try our New SMOKE SHED Promotion, featuring Beef Brisket with Brown Sugar Barbeque Sauce!! Room Service is also available (21% gratuity added).

We are also pleased you enjoyed our indoor pool. We also of a 24 hour fitness center, indoor Jacuzzi, sauna and seasonal outdoor pool.

I will provide your feedback to our engineers so we can properly determine what areas within the hotel may need a temperature adjustment. Our goal is to deliver 100% exceptional service, if at anytime you have a question, concern, or request do not hesitate to reach out. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you again
Brendan England
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I ended up in this hotel because I booked via hotwire an 'airport' hotel. suffice it to say that during heavy snowfall this am it took about a 15 min drive to actually get to the airport. The room was spacious (2 dbl beds on 5th floor), beds excellent, bathroom impeccably clean, the hotel has a decent size pool and excellent gym. The food at the only restaurant/bar was so so, as one would expect. Great selection of beers on tap. This venue is clearly a conference and events facility.The staff were truly welcoming, which was a pleasant surprise. Beware, if you actually turn on the heater, it'll make a lot of noise, so you might find sleeping a tad bit of a challenge.

Not so great is the standard internet rip-off, an about 10$ charge per 24 hours if you want to use it in your room (free in lobby area/bar). Breakfast was also not included. For the same amount of money we could have had a hotel of similar quality in the same vicinity that offers free internet and breakfast. In that sense the deal wasn't that great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is always clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and I look forward to staying at this property. The exercise room is a great size with plenty of equipment.This place is a great value for the money!!

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room yet. I have stayed here at least 15 times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was staying at this hotel on business, I would like to say what sets this place apart from others that I stay at is the hospitality. Everyone from the housekeeping, maintenance, hotel staff, and the bartenders (ESPECIALLY BREEANA or BREE) greets you in a polite manner, not because it's their job but because it is the right thing to do, it's a natural greeting and not the type they are just programmed to say. Amenities at hotel was fine, restaurant was good (bit pricy though), and it was very clean. It would be better to have had free wi-fi which is the only reason that I didn't rate as a 5 star...I didn't even know places charged for wi-fi anymore. They are located close to all routes, local entertainment, restaurants, and shopping areas. All-in-all I think that this place is an excellent choice and once they implement free wi-fi, they would be an outstanding choice for anybody visiting Syracuse.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor Rooms avoid a lot of travel (footstep) noise and you can walk down the stairs and not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I thought the hotel seemed nice enough at first; looks good, has been updated, friendly front desk service, but when I pulled back the blanket and saw the bedspread I was horrified. It is filthy (see picture). After taking a closer look at the room I see this is a common theme. The coffee maker still has coffee in it, the sink is dirty (has hair in it), and the floor has not been carefully vacuumed. If I wasn't in a room with double beds (the other of which appears outwardly clean) there is no way I would sleep here. This is an expensive hotel and the standard of cleaning here is unacceptable. Also no microwave or fridge in rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Please accept our sincere apology for the unacceptable level of cleanliness you encountered during your recent stay with us. We strive to provide our guests the highest quality service and comfort and we regret the poor impression we made. Your comments have been shared with our housekeeping team and we will all work harder to provide the level of hospitality you deserve moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, should you return to the area in the future. If available, I am able to speak with you in more detail offline.

Thank you,
Brendan England
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Some areas are some what dated but room was upgraded with granite counter tops and new carpeting. Front desk employees and others were accomodating and friendly. Honored my request for a quiet room and did not hear any disturbances. Breakfast buffet had a nice assortment of fresh fruit and other breakfast items. Plenty of safe, free parking.

Room Tip: THis is a holiday season with many local businesses having Christmas parties. I asked for a quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share some information on your very positive stay while also giving great detail that truly highlights your experience with us. From our location to downtown Syracuse to the touches in the room, we strive to exceed expectations and we truly appreciate you taking the time to let your fellow travelers know that we did just that for you! We look forward to having you back again sometime soon and making your next visit equally enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Address: 6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
#6 Family Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service hotel in Syracuse, New York, is situated in a corporate park just off the New York State Thruway and is only ten minutes from downtown and Syracuse University. Take the complimentary shuttle to Syracuse Hancock International Airport.Our rooms and suites offer modern decor with complimentary WiFi throughout. Relax in the courtyard area with seating, plus enjoy the heated, indoor pool with a whirlpool spa and the heated, outdoor pool with a sundeck. Dine at Regatta Bar & Grille, offering cocktails and light food. Our hotel in Syracuse, New York also offers room service, a complimentary 24-hour fitness center, complimentary 24-hour business center and a self-service pantry. Host a meeting in 12,000 sq. ft. of event space including two ballrooms and two boardrooms capable of hosting up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel East Syracuse
Doubletree East Syracuse
East Syracuse Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.