We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stay here many times throughout the year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Destiny USA Shopping!
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in East Syracuse
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“I stay here many times throughout the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is always clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and I look forward to staying at this property. The exercise room is a great size with plenty of equipment.This place is a great value for the money!!

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room yet. I have stayed here at least 15 times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    151
    72
    15
    9
See reviews for
104
75
24
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was staying at this hotel on business, I would like to say what sets this place apart from others that I stay at is the hospitality. Everyone from the housekeeping, maintenance, hotel staff, and the bartenders (ESPECIALLY BREEANA or BREE) greets you in a polite manner, not because it's their job but because it is the right thing to do, it's a natural greeting and not the type they are just programmed to say. Amenities at hotel was fine, restaurant was good (bit pricy though), and it was very clean. It would be better to have had free wi-fi which is the only reason that I didn't rate as a 5 star...I didn't even know places charged for wi-fi anymore. They are located close to all routes, local entertainment, restaurants, and shopping areas. All-in-all I think that this place is an excellent choice and once they implement free wi-fi, they would be an outstanding choice for anybody visiting Syracuse.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor Rooms avoid a lot of travel (footstep) noise and you can walk down the stairs and not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I thought the hotel seemed nice enough at first; looks good, has been updated, friendly front desk service, but when I pulled back the blanket and saw the bedspread I was horrified. It is filthy (see picture). After taking a closer look at the room I see this is a common theme. The coffee maker still has coffee in it, the sink is dirty (has hair in it), and the floor has not been carefully vacuumed. If I wasn't in a room with double beds (the other of which appears outwardly clean) there is no way I would sleep here. This is an expensive hotel and the standard of cleaning here is unacceptable. Also no microwave or fridge in rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Please accept our sincere apology for the unacceptable level of cleanliness you encountered during your recent stay with us. We strive to provide our guests the highest quality service and comfort and we regret the poor impression we made. Your comments have been shared with our housekeeping team and we will all work harder to provide the level of hospitality you deserve moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, should you return to the area in the future. If available, I am able to speak with you in more detail offline.

Thank you,
Brendan England
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Some areas are some what dated but room was upgraded with granite counter tops and new carpeting. Front desk employees and others were accomodating and friendly. Honored my request for a quiet room and did not hear any disturbances. Breakfast buffet had a nice assortment of fresh fruit and other breakfast items. Plenty of safe, free parking.

Room Tip: THis is a holiday season with many local businesses having Christmas parties. I asked for a quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share some information on your very positive stay while also giving great detail that truly highlights your experience with us. From our location to downtown Syracuse to the touches in the room, we strive to exceed expectations and we truly appreciate you taking the time to let your fellow travelers know that we did just that for you! We look forward to having you back again sometime soon and making your next visit equally enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had an opportunity to stay here for a Christmas party and to do some shopping while in Syracuse. Reception was always very pleasant, and the cookies were great. I had requested a room with a king bed and got it. It was facing the parking lot in the back, so it was very quiet, which I liked.The hotel is set among a group of hotels on the east part of Syracuse, so it's not downtown, however it's right by the Carrier Circle and the New York Throughway so it's very accessible to where you need to go. There really isn't any place to walk. However it's very fast by car. The room was a nice size and very clean. It looks like they were redone lately. The bed is really soft, but very comfy. The hotel has two pools. The gym and it was fairly large with lots of decent equipment. It did have a restaurant but i didn't eat there and it is kind of pricey. Although the food at the party was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Standard three star hotel, no breakfast, no free internet, no mocro's, fridge subject to availability. Older property, the rooms are in good condition but the heater made loud fan noises. Very nice well equiped gym, nice indoor pool. For the price I would stay at a place that offered all the little extras. There is not much in walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet area away from traffic so all the rooms should be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kmagdon, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Doubletree Syracuse. We appreciate your business and your feedback! I am pleased that you enjoyed the facility especially the fitness center and indoor pool. We also have a full service restaurant, lounge and room service. I do apologize that the heat/ac in your guest room was louder than usual and I would be happy to speak with you more offline at your convenience. We want you returning to our property while in Syracuse.

Our hotel does not offer a complimentary breakfast, but we do offer overnight accommodation packages that include breakfast, as well as other options. Internet is free is all common and public space, in room WiFi is available complimentary for all levels of Hilton Honor members. If you are not an HHonors member you can sign up for free at our front desk and start receiving benefits immediately. Microwaves and refrigerators are based upon availability.


Thank you again
Brendan England
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

While I have stayed at several hotels globally and never written a review, I must say that Doubletree Syracuse stands out as an exceptionally good hotel for both business and personal stays. Its staff is very courteous and remembered my dinner choices even 2 weeks later. Darrelle Thompson, Kevin Magdon and Stacey at the bar clearly stand out as 3 employees who really make the difference. The rooms are comfortable and large sized and this hotel will be the one I will stay whenever I am in Syracuse. The airport shuttle is an added benefit.

Room Tip: I have stayed on multiple floors and I have found all rooms to be of exceptional quality. Floor leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel East Syracuse
Doubletree East Syracuse
East Syracuse Doubletree
Address: 6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
#5 Family Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service hotel in Syracuse, New York, is situated in a corporate park just off the New York State Thruway and is only ten minutes from downtown and Syracuse University. Take the complimentary shuttle to Syracuse Hancock International Airport.Our rooms and suites offer modern decor with complimentary WiFi throughout. Relax in the courtyard area with seating, plus enjoy the heated, indoor pool with a whirlpool spa and the heated, outdoor pool with a sundeck. Dine at Regatta Bar & Grille, offering cocktails and light food. Our hotel in Syracuse, New York also offers room service, a complimentary 24-hour fitness center, complimentary 24-hour business center and a self-service pantry. Host a meeting in 12,000 sq. ft. of event space including two ballrooms and two boardrooms capable of hosting up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.