We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than I thought it would be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Syracuse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Syracuse to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Syracuse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6550 Baptist Way, East Syracuse, NY 13057   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in East Syracuse
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nicer than I thought it would be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had car trouble and East Syracuse was an unexpected stop for us. We stopped her and thankfully they had a room for us. The room was nice and clean. We were travelling with our dog so we had to find a pet friendly place which can be hard last minute. We were glad to find this hotel. They were very pet friendly and the fee was reasonable.

Room Tip: Good pet friendly hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    10
    10
    6
See reviews for
17
11
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Did not know this was an extended stay hotel until we checked in. Was only here two nights. Front desk staff was incredibly friendly and even gave away free tickets to get something out of the "cupboard" which is their version of a little convenience store. Coffee is free and everything else from soda, chips, tv dinners etc are available for pretty fair prices. Laundry facilities are available too. The room was dated but very clean with all the essentials. Separate room for the bedroom with it's own tv, small living room, small kitchenette with microwave, stove, sink, fridge and cabinetry. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone staying 2 nights or 2 months, great value no frills hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room upgrade if you are a Priority Club member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for one night on May 3, 2012. The personnel here are extremely helpful and friendly. This is basically an extended stay suite motel. There is an entrance hallway but no lobby. For our one night's stay, the one-room suite we had was clean and contained the basics, along with a small kitchenette. There is a room off the entrance named "The Pantry" which allows patrons to buy small food items that are very reasonable priced and the purchase is based on the honor system of payment - having such reasonably priced items conveniently available for purchase is a really nice perk. This motel is located amongst a cluster of other brand motels. There are some restaurants located within these other motels or only a short drive away from this area. For our traveling plans of passing through this area for a one night stay, the price was just right. It has both non-smoking and smoking rooms and allows pets. If concerned about smelling smoke residue, it's our understanding that one should ask for a room on the first or second floor. Yes, there are better appointed motels within this cluster of brand motels, but they are priced higher; therefore, for price point and location, Candlewood Suites is worthy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom for 1 night while visiting Syracuse University. Room was comfortable and clean. Hotel was quiet, enjoyed the food cupboard which was on the honor system.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtees, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Lisa,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with our dog and it was comfortable. We had the studio suite and there was only 1 bed so only 2 people could stay which was fine for us, but in the future if we had 3 people I wish there was a pull out sofa bed without paying for a 1 bedroom suite. It was very quiet in the hotel and we liked that - never heard any noise. They have washers/dryers which is a nice addition, but because it is long-term stay you don't get clean towels everyday. I would stay here again when I am in Syracuse.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be good. We were right across from the elevator and didn't hear a thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

It's amazing after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor's site what some people expect from mid-priced properties.

Flash: this ain't the plaza!

I've said before, never had problems at Candlewood Suites and this property is like the others.
Clean, quiet ( considerate guests) comfortable bed. Room to spread out.
Equipment in the exercise room works.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtees, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Candlewood Suites for 2 nights in order to go shopping. The suite was not large and was a bit cramped for 5 people, but the price could not be beat. Although the room we were in was quite dated, the hotel room was clean and had all the amenities we required. We liked the fact that there was a bathroom for each of the two bedrooms. The only downside to the sleeping arrangements is that one person had to sleep on the pullout sofa bed - which was really an uncomfortable sleep. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Candlewood Suites, but will likely try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Syracuse

Address: 6550 Baptist Way, East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Syracuse 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Hotel East Syracuse
Candlewood East Syracuse
Candlewood Suites East Syracuse
East Syracuse Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.