We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dreams Park Week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meadowlark Inn Cooperstown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Springfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Meadowlark Inn Cooperstown
Save
You added The Meadowlark Inn Cooperstown to your Saves list
5759 US Highway 20, East Springfield, NY 13333   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Dreams Park Week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our team stayed at the Meadowlark this past summer while our son went to Dreams Park. It was a great place to call "home" for the week. George and Tina were so nice and helpful and George makes the best waffles!! Our younger son's team just got their Dreams Park week for next summer and we have already booked next year's week with the Meadowlark. We are already looking forward to next summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    11
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

While the room was clean & comfortable, we weren't impressed with the customer service. No one was staffing the inn when we arrived to check in (after driving 10 hours from Michigan), so we had to wait almost 30 minutes to get a room because a neighbor had to come over & give us a key. 2 days later, we noticed that someone on staff (maybe the cleaning crew?) had left keys to all the rooms in our room, so we went to the desk to return them, but again, no one was working. 3 days later, there wasn't anyone working when we tried to check out, so we just left. Be aware that it's next to impossible to get cell phone reception in this area, so each of these times, we needed to use the inn phone to try to reach the owners on their cells, except for the last time, when the inn's cordless phone was dead. Also, as someone else mentioned, the curtains do not keep the sunlight out, so we were wakened each morning when the sun came up and shone through the curtain on the front door. Others have raved about this place, so perhaps it was just bad luck that all this happened to us, but it was enough that we'll never go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themeadowlarkinn2, Owner at The Meadowlark Inn Cooperstown, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
As you can see from all our other reviews, we do everything we can to make our guests have a great stay. Unfortunately, the days that "moonswings" stayed here my grandfather passed away. He was the most special person in my life and I don’t think I have ever been this sad. My head was definitely not on straight and all three incidents that she complained about were my fault. In the seven years we have been open I have never left the inn without leaving a guest's keys. When I realized what I had done, I immediately called my neighbor who came over and gave her her key. This took less than 10 minutes. The next day I made arrangements for someone to take over the inn while we went to the wake/funeral. The day after the funeral, I was the one that cleaned this woman's room and left the keys in there. My mind was definitely not on work and I didn't pay attention. When she checked out, I thought I had time to run my son to school at 7:30, since she hadn’t come in early in the past couple of days. It was one of the worst weekends of my life and I tried my best to hold it together, but obviously I failed. Running a business 7 days a week when you are going through something like this is very difficult. She wrote, "Perhaps it was just bad luck that all this happened to us." Perhaps it was just back luck for us that we had a guest that was this unsympathetic and felt she still had to write this review. If the worst things that happened to "moonswings" is that keys were left in her room and she had to wait 10 minutes to check in, it's too bad that those things were enough to overpower all the nice things that we have to offer (see previous 84 reviews). By the way, we have full cell phone coverage with Verizon, but AT&T or Sprint do not have towers in the area. - Tina Macaluso, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

That's the way George and Tina (the innkeepers) make you feel. We have been coming here for about 6 years and never get tired of the beautiful area and the very friendly and immaculate Meadowlark Inn. Breakfast with George's perfect waffles is the BEST. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We just got back from a weekend in Cooperstown. We were there with friends who chose this location so we had no idea what to expect. It is about 10 minutes down the road to Cooperstown. It is an easy ride along the lake and while you are driving it gives you an opportunity to see some great scenery. The Inn is immaculate. The Innkeepers make you feel at home right away. The grounds give you plenty of room to play or relax. There is a grill, a seating area, a volleyball court and baseball field. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Everything about the Inn made you feel comfortable and at home right away. I highly recommend The Meadowlark Inn and personally can not wait to have the opportunity to go there again!

Room Tip: We were with a large group and had rented 6 of the 12 rooms. Not a bad one among them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were VERY pleasantly surprised by the Meadowlark Inn. The reservation was made for us by someone living in the town so we weren't sure what to expect. While it has the physical aspects of a motel it has all of the charm of a hidden gem of an Inn. After seeing the grounds and the experiencing the welcoming hospitality we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

You dont have to be going to the Baseball Hall of Fame to enjoy Cooperstown.We went for the Glimmerglass Opera and the Feinmore Musuem, and loved both. The Meadowlark Inn while not really an inn, more of a motel, is a delightful place to stay. The hosts really try hard to accomodate, and make the stay very pleasant. If you do come with children they are more than welcome and they even have a real baseball field to play on.
Our only negative, was the window curtains were very sheer, and let the light in..
We loved the location, as it was on the way into town, coming from the east, and not congested. It was very close to the opera, which was a plus going back late at night.

Room Tip: If you want a stall shower, make sure you request it, as only one room has one (rest are tub/shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were in Cooperstown for 7 nights, and staying at The Meadowlark made our week fantastic. Everything about it was super - the room, the grounds, breakfast (the waffles!) and Tina and George. They were attentive to our needs, extremely helpful with giving us ideas for more family fun, and just nice to chat with each evening when we returned!

Room Tip: We had a suite with a kitchenette! Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meadowlark Inn Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowlark Inn Cooperstown

Address: 5759 US Highway 20, East Springfield, NY 13333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > East Springfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlark Inn is a warm and inviting Inn outside Cooperstown, NY. Located on Highway 20, in East Springfield, it is 5 miles from the Glimmerglass Opera house and 11 miles north of the Village of Cooperstown. Lake Otsego and Glimmerglass State Park are just 3 miles away. We are surrounded by rolling hillside meadows, beautiful farms and open quiet, park-like grounds. A complimentary continental breakfast buffet is included with your stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meadowlark Inn Cooperstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.