We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort and beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kurumba Maldives to your Saves list
Kurumba Maldives
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Vihamanafushi, 09000   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Thila Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent resort and beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a great visit here and would return. The resort is family friendly, without being over-run by kids which was really important for us. Generally quiet (except for planes overhead but to be expected given the airport location) and very peaceful, with attentive staff and excellent facilities. Breath-taking beaches and really magical sand/sun/reef/sea life. We also met Jason the manager, who clearly sincerely cares about the guest experience and the staff on the island.

The location - a 15 minute boat ride from the airport - made this a great option for a short time, as no sea plane was required. The airplane noise overhead was more than we expected and did occur even at night, so I would bring earplugs if you are sensitive to noise. I'd also recommend lots of high quality rub and sweat-proof sunblock. The sun is very strong here and midday I'd recommend clothing not just sunscreen. If you are fair skinned, by all means do not snorkel without a rash guard and serious sunblock. We saw a few people who did and it clearly ruined their trip.

The deluxe bungalow was perfect for our family as the daybed was suitable for our helper and the cot for our daughter was good quality. The beds are amazing - one of the most comfortable I've stay in. The linens and facilities are in excellent condition with thoughtful features like doors that shut quietly and a well laid out closet area. My only suggestion would be to have more shampoo/soap in the bathroom. There are 2 showers and a tub but only one set of jars with soaps which were slippery and we nearly dropped one moving them back and forth (they were ceramic and would have shattered on the floor). After-sun lotion would have been very useful as well. The outdoor shower is a fantastic feature.

The spa was very good and generally the food excellent. The restaurants do fill up so I would make reservations and make sure you let the resort know of any special diet needs in advance. They had some good kid/baby options as well. Worth checking out the menus and the days certain restaurants are closed in advance. You can order from the room service menu at many locations around the resort which is helpful as well. They wont serve food at the sunset bar after 5 pm, which made no sense to us, but you can eat and then go sit out at the bar for a drink.

The beach and sand bars are good, although the drinks a little bit inconsistent in how they were mixed. The sand bar got a bit noisy at night every night with Russian tourists who were drinking too much vodka, but otherwise generally other guests were also friendly and well behaved. The bungalows are very well insulated other than the plane noise.

The sports and recreation center staff were friendly and knowledgeable and helped us make the most of our time here, and the rental equipment in good order. I'd recommend the night snorkeling and the dolphin sunset cruise. The dive center is good but separate and the hotel staff generally didn't know much about the dive offering (or even what hours the dive shop was open) which was a little frustrating, so if you are an avid diver, I'd recommend you contact Euro divers directly and make arrangements. The house reef is excellent and diving in the area generally world-class. We saw sharks and turtles every day, both diving and snorkeling.

The resort was generally trying hard to assist us wherever possible, and gave us a late check out when we had a night flight which made our last day so much better. Overall a fantastic trip and we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Sand Bar is near rooms 168-175 and it was nice to have this close by. We were in a deluxe bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Jctokyo,

With sincere gratitude allow me to write a note of thanks for your review and time you spent to create it. It was a pleasure to meet your in person and I am sure we will meet again. I know how much time it takes to write a long review after relaxing holidays and believe me your every minute is valuable.

It is very important for all our team to learn about guests experience to improve and grow in a professional way. We are very happy your experience was great. I will definitely pass your feedback to all Kurumba’s staff and I am sure it will help them to understand that there is always enough space for improvement and at the same time your kind worlds will cheer them up for new achievements. Definitely we will look into all your suggestions in regards to make even small things simply perfect. Each and every guests is important for us and of course each personality is a new and different world and they act in a different way. But what we absolutely love about our guests is that no matter from where they are and who are they are – they will always find a way to understand each other.

We were happy to provide you some extra touches as a late checkout – there is nothing more important than guests’ comfort though we know take check out can be a bit tricky to provide some times. You know we say our home is your home and this is a pleasure to give as much positive experience to our guests as we can with warm hospitality.

I hope that the weather is beautiful today in China and your journey to home was fast and comfortable.

See you next time and best regards from the sunny island,

Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    305
    54
    17
    12
See reviews for
416
1,051
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was our third trip to Kurumba, Maldives in 3 years. The beach front deluxe bungalows remain our accommodations of choice, they are still beautiful, rooms spacious, etc, everything we said before in previous reviews. It's the staff however that go above and beyond to make your stay special and keep us coming back. Special thanks to Maya, who took care of us every single morning in regards to our lovely breakfasts and ensured our dinner reservations were always made in advance. Mueed, Moses and many others at Ocean Grill also made our champagne breakfasts and dinners so perfect! Prayankara and Sudeep kept us happy at the Sand Bar with the best margaritas, mojitos and cold beer during the hot afternoons, we looked forward to their smiling faces & cold drinks every day. Ana in the gift shop is also such a sweet and lovely person, always ready with a big hello and huge smile. Not sure if we'll be making another trip back to the Maldives this year, but if so we'll head back to Kurumba. Sorry that I've forgotten a lot of the names, but I will always remember the smiles and good service we got every single day while we were there.

Room Tip: Beachfront deluxe bungalow, always a great room steps away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear CynSpecht,

It is for sure a great review about our resort and your words are extremely valuable for us as you are the one, who experienced our services many times during last three years and can see changes and development of our property.

Thank you for recognition of our team members – it is a honour for Ann, Maya, Mueed, Moses, Sudeep and Prayankara to learn about your appreciation and for sure it will motivate them and many others to work better and better for our guests to exceed expectations every day. To be true the smile on our guests’ faces is the best reward in the worlds – nothing else is more important.

It was a pleasure to check photos your added along with your review – and even if the moment is gone, the picture will keep delightful smiles forever.I hope your journey back to India was safe and easy and memories of your stay in Kurumba are still adorning your days. Remember our team is looking forward to greet you for the fourth time on the sunny island – we all hope it will happen soon.

Best regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is really paradise. The Beach Front Deluxe Bungalow was exactly as shown in the pictures. We walked out our door, fell into our chairs or into the water for a snorkel. The staff are amazing, so helpful, caring and keen to assist. The food was excellent. The rooms very clean, two services a day. Wifi very fast, water supplied. The Island is beautiful. The coral just inside the sheltered area is beautiful. The fish on the outside in deeper water were just magnificent. Snorkelling gear is free. Doctor on the Island if you need one. The boat trip from Male airport so quick and easy. Check in was excellent. The staff just go out of their way for you the whole time. It is nearly 1 staff to 1 guest so can see the service you get. Don't go any where else. The weather was perfect. We spent 8 nights and it was just fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you for your amazing review and I am sure your kind words will be cherished by the team.

I am certainly glad that you have had a wonderful stay and glad that you appreciate the extras we do for our guests here at Kurumba. I will ensure that your review is passed onto the team and i am sure it will be a nice pat on the back for them.

Hope that you had a safe trip back to Australia and please feel free to contact me if you are looking to return.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

7 nights stay. Fantastic resort with excellent service and attitude by the staff. Special note to Yunka (chef - best beef curry ever), and Himmath and Anway who were the staff at the main restaurant. Food consistently good and great drinks. Airplane flights disturbed sleep somewhat but that is out of the resorts control. Everything fantastic but to be honest, from a South African perspective, Mauritius and Mozambique offer as good a value proposition from a shorter flight time and better cost perspective.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Asogan,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had a wonderful stay. In terms of our value for money, our intention is to include more services and touches in the guest experience than other resorts and I do hope you have the most of our activities and entertainment programs.

Again, thank you for your time and we do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have just returned from the most amazing holiday to Kurumba. We are fortunate to be well travelled and have stayed in many beautiful hotels around the world. I must confess that I rarely make the effort to post a review on tripadvisor despite reading other people's reviews obsessively before I book.

The reviews for Kurumba were so overwhelmingly positive that I was worried it could not live up to expectations. Fortunately, I was wrong. This place is perfect.

The island itself is stunning (as you can see from the photographs) but what the photographs cannot capture is the happiness that exudes everywhere and everyone. The staff told us they love working at Kurumba and all are keen to ensure you have the best holiday of your life. They smile, they show a genuine interest in your needs, nothing seemed too much trouble for them. I particularly liked the fact the management spent a lot of time talking to guests, making sure everything was perfect. If there was any hint that something could be improved, they actioned it immediately.

The GM, Jason, said his motto was "Under Promise, Over Deliver" and this place certainly achieved that. This place delivered more than the brochures indicated - free wine tastings, free cocktail making sessions, Moet champagne for breakfast, dining to rival the best restaurants in the world, in room surprises, a kids club that my children didn't want to leave....

Please pass on our genuine thanks to ALL the staff.....we'll be back and we'll be telling all of our friends to come too!

Room Tip: We were positioned near the Sand Bar. The outlook was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Good morning MiixX,

What an amazing review and you have made my day. It is always a pleasure to read when we have exceeded guests expectations and it is certainly our intention to provide a creative and inspirational service for our guests.

The team will be absolutely delighted to read your kind words. Reviews like yours are great recognition for our team and I am sure that it will be used to motive our team further.

Again, thank you for your time and we do look forward to welcome you and your friends back. Please feel free to contact me directly when you do.

Maldivian regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights in beach front deluxe bungalow.The resort was so clean n beautiful.Our 3 yr old daughter was accompanying us.The kids club at the resort was so good.Food at Kurumba Cafe was delicious n they served the kids meal complimentry during our stay.Indian food at Kurumba Mahal was so mouth watering.The staff at Kurumba was so helpful n it is full of lovely people.the view of the beach at sand bar was amazing.The snorkelling equipment was available at their recreation centre without any charges.In short it was like a dream holiday n this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Good morning Arwa,

What a pleasure to read and you have certainly put a smile on my face. Your kind words I am sure will be an inspiration to the team. I appreciate you highlighting the Cafe and Mahal restaurants and I will ensure that this is passed on to the respective team.

Thank you,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Great place, great location, fabulous rooms, great food and great amenities (all complimentary). Will Definitely visit again. Located close to the airport. The staff made every effort to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Armit,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you appreciated the extra amenities and services we do for our guests. I am glad it made a difference to your holiday.

Hope that you had a safe trip home to Oman and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Address: Vihamanafushi, 09000
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kurumba Maldives 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with boat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, three bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene, Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurumba Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.