We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kurumba Maldives to your Saves list
Kurumba Maldives
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Vihamanafushi, 09000   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just got back from Kurumba. It's perhaps the best beach resort ever. Loved every bit about the resort. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Everything was bang on time.

I am gonna recommend Kurumba to a lot of my friends in Nepal. I would definitely love to visit again.

Thanks Kurumba!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    305
    54
    17
    12
See reviews for
414
1,051
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
seoul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

i was in kurumba on september! this time ! but i remember before i visited in maldives 2002. had hard time to get to resort by boat . but kurumba just a step away from airport . not even 10 minute .very good welcome ice cream ! nice room at the beach front ! deluxe room ! just step away from beach . they don't have over water villa . but its ok !!! nice meal... it was just super great but like they said kurumba was the first resort in maldives so some facility seems kinda old ! but who care you r in maldives ! and they even renovate resort! so you guys gonna feel so comfort every way ! good staffs , specially in medical care depart . doctor was so kind!! anyway you deside and go

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent short stay at the Kurumba. From start to finish we experienced 5* service. Food was outstanding in all restaurants and the bar supplied with limitless exotic cocktails my favourite being the toblerone! Apprehensive to snorkel, we were rest assured by Glen the instructor. I have to say it was one of the best experiences of my life. We saw such great marine life including sharks and turtles all at the edge of the island!

I couldn't recommend the resort enough. You will have a guaranteed fabulous stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Kurumba is one of those rare gems with which you can fault nothing. It is a stunningly beautiful property and the service is second to none. We still tell people about our experience at Kurumba because that is the best service we have ever received. 1) Beautiful rooms all with a little private beach area, 2) excellent food options- buffet and ala carte, 3) from champagne breakfast, dolphin cruises, night fishing, scuba diving, snorkelling, all available (for a reasonable fee), 4) world class service which makes you want to stay more! We liked the ceramic toiletry jars in the loo and asked if we could buy them- the reception handed them to us for free when we were leaving! Such a beautiful resort, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a basic room and thought of upgrading- but we liked the basic one more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Maldives and what a wonderful stay it turned out to be. We visited Kurumba resort during Eid period in August for a prolonged weekend.

When you land in Male, you are taken by boat to the island which is approx. 15 min ride from the landing island. We had the whole boat to ourselves and arriving at the Kurumba Island we were immediately greeted and welcomed and taken to the reception to check in. Everything was so peaceful and the pace is nice and slow. The weather was fantastic and although the forecast predicted rain for the 3 days that we were there, we had a beautiful blue skye all days with temperature around 30 degrees celcius. What more to wish for.

We got a villa situated on the beach under a lot of big palm trees and the scenery was really impressive with a stunning view to the beach and the ocean. Luckily, our villa was situated very conveniently next to the beach bar which had a good variety of cocktails, beers, soft drinks etc. There is nothing to complain about in regards to the villas, it was spacious, had a delicious smell of lemon-grass and the bed was fantastic to sleep in. The bathroom was very spacious and had an extension to the outside with a shower under the open sky. A very nice feature that we used a lot. There was a well an extensive minibar with all sorts of goodies and beverages, however, the prices were high as usual with mini bar items, so better head to the beach bar or the outlets.

Kurumba has as well a recreational area with a lot of activities, you have the list of things to do inside your room with timings and prices if applicable. We decided to do the snorkeling which was a 3 hours trip around the islands close to Kurumba. We snorkeled 3 reefs and saw an amazing life under water. Can highly recommend this! The water in the Maldives are simply amazing - clear visibility and very clean and calm.

We tried the Japanese restaurant The Hamakaze, which is set on a platform in the water, limited seating as there are only seats enough to reach around the kitchen platform (approx. 15 seats) the chefs are amazing! very creative and funny, they play with tools and food and a good at it. We had the lobsters and sushi and I can only say thank you a million times to the chefs for making this a memorable evening. Also the Ocean Grill was visited.
The breakfast was good, lots of variety, but quite crowded both days, most likely due to the holiday season.

Overall, very good value for money both in terms of accommodation and dining. We would definitely like to come again and we are recommending our friends to visit. You will not notice at all that this was the very first private island in the Maldives.

Thank you Kurumba for giving us an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel has recently celebrated its 40th anniversary and the experience gained over the years is in evidence everywhere: well-managed facilities, experienced management focused on fulfilling the customers' dreams, helpful staff, well-maintained surroundings. We spent 10 days with our two kids (4 and 2) and had the best time. Of particular notice are the 6 restaurants, all of which served really good quality food. And of course, the snorkeling off the Kurumba's reef was spectacular: we saw turtles, sharks, sting rays, morenas and of course hundreds of other fish, big and small.

We cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Deluxe bungalows and ocean view bungalows are fantastic and located on the side of the island with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed in Kurumba from 11-15 October and all I can say that this was the best trip i have taken so far (frequent traveler here).

things to note:
1- Kurumba does not provide transport to other islands (should u wanna hop to another island just for giggles). But they do have a daily transport/plan to bring you to the main city, male, which was just 15 mins boat ride away. PERFECT - it's close to the place i want to visit anyway cause every island in maldives look just about the same (seriously)

2- Kurumba has daily activities for you to participate in, so ditch the countless books youre going to bring cause most of the time youre going to be out tanning, or just participating something, or just having sexy time... whatever. eg of activities they have : snorkelling at house reef, coconut capers, tue night is cocktail night (AMAZING IDEA- free cocktails between 6-7pm every tue & u get to meet the staff behind all the scene. THEY ARE SO FRIENDLY), canvas painting, snorkelling at different reefs, daily trips to male city, afternoon scuba dive, cooking demonstration etc.

3- they have the majaa recreation centre, which is pretty interesting. they have air hockey there and a ping pong table. use it.

4- we didnt go full board, we only opted for breakfast. that was kinda expensive, it amounted to about 1500usd for everything (meals). so do really opt for full board. Hamakaze for lunch was amazing... had that so many times (tepanyanki), the italian place has the best salmon, the arab place was so-so. i loved the sand bar ( please visit around 5.30pm as the sun sets around that time and it is just amazing because you just sit on a sand bag and u can just see the clouds pass by. its so romantic). also, did i mention that they have the BEST BUFFET BREAKFAST EVER? tbh, everyday i looked forward to it. the beach bar (near the restaurants) is amazing............. every night we go there.
skip the rendezous lounge - its not much of an interesting place, other than u get to see kids and their families dance to music on saturday nights.

4- scuba diving centre: pretty good and safe. feel safe with the instructors there (the one who guide me and my bf was a russian guy who had shoulder length hair. he is great and extremely viligant under water, felt that i was safe under waters. PLS NOTE: if u dont have a license to dive, pls go for the morning dive before doing other dives (afternoon dives are meant for licensed divers only)

5.whilst we did have a hiccup over at kurumba, front desk supervisor Sammy was amazing. He was extremely accommodating towards us due to late flight. he provided us a room after checking out on the last day so as to allow us to be able to rest and change out before leaving the premise. also house keeping supervisor was amazing too - he helped me set up my hammock whilst i was somewhere snorkelling. :p

6. did i mention that there are staff around the beaches who would come around and offer you pineapple slices to quanch that thirst/ whatever? :)

7. it's kinda dark at night, so best that it would be better to walk with someone if youre afraid of the dark. also, its safe there, no one would probably kidnap you or whatever.

8. they provide slippers and umbrellas.

9. room 223 has horrible wifi. u need to sit out at ur porch for wifi. room 260 has good for everything u could think of

Room Tip: the more u pay, the better the wifi and view. ditto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Address: Vihamanafushi, 09000
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kurumba Maldives 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with boat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, three bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene, Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurumba Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.