We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurumba Maldives

Save Saved
You added Kurumba Maldives to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kurumba Maldives
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Vihamanafushi, North Male' Atoll, 09000   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct & save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vihamanafushi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing resort. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful without being too in your face and annoying. Our beachfront deluxe villa faced away from the airport onto white sand and turquoise waters. It was so relaxing and tranquil. Some evening e decided to order room service and have dinner on our veranda and others, we went into the main hub of the island where you had the choice of 4 or 5 restaurants and a chilled out atmosphere, perfect for couples or families. The gym was very modern and had everything you would need, not to mention cold water and face towels in the fridge for after ur workout. The while experience if Kurumba was fantastic from the moment we stepped onto the speedboat until the moment we returned to Male.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,207
    272
    53
    14
    11
See reviews for
349
908
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Although a little late writing a review but worth doing it now.

The experience of staying in a five star resort like Kurumba was just amazing. This was my first visit to Maldives and I absolutely made no mistake in choosing Kurumba for my honeymoon.

We chose BB option and it did turn out be good. Infact we were able to try the other theme restaurants. Booking was made for a Superior room but we got upgraded to a deluxe bungalow and also given a complimentary dinner on the beachside at the Ocean Grill restaurant.

Being a pure Vegetarian I was offered a variety of dishes and to be precise it was only made for us that day which did made us feel special.

We also chose to go for local city tour of Male and again it was a nice experience. My wife picked up some local stuff from the markets it was not that expensive but not that cheap even.

Best of luck to the staff of Kurumba and thanks for making it special for us. We will definitely return.

Thanks

Mayank Arora

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the beach bungalows, and we were right in front of the beach. Walking around the island, I saw the other rooms and they were just few meters away from the beach. We stayed for full 5 days, and we definitely didn't get bored, neither too busy,even though the island was fully booked. You see other guests sometimes,but you still have your personal space. The staff were amazing, so kind and friendly. We enjoyed food in 3 different restaurant, and all of them were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from Kurumba where we had gone for our honeymoon and it was absolute bliss. We stayed in a deluxe bungalow near the beach - our room overlooked the Indian ocean and beach. We would recommend this accommodation as they are nice, spacious and well kept villas - there is a lovely area at the front of the villa where you can lounge about in the shade. .Our villa did not face the airport which was an added plus – we specifically requested this.

The food was wonderful and we were spoilt for choice - we went for the all inclusive option. The main restaurant which is included in the all inclusive option is wonderful and provides a wide variety of food from Chinese, Indian and Italian cuisines. Each meal felt like a 3 course dinner. The level of service provided in the main restaurant was brilliant.

We would recommend this to everyone as opposed to the expensive ala carte option which allows you to go to 3 other restaurants - these are Indian, Chinese and Italian.

This is mainly a holiday to go on if you want to relax and unwind. It's fantastic if you are a good swimmer as you can snorkel and explore the coral reefs. My husband and I are not strong swimmers but did go on a glass boat which was good. We also went dolphin watching which was amazing and went to the capital city Male.

The entire resort is beautiful however one negative would be the poor lighting in the evening - luckily my husband had a torch with him! The internet access is free on the resort however devices do not always pick up the wifi connection.

Overall it was a wonderful stay :0)

Room Tip: Always choose a villa facing away from Male airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Despite comments from other people we decided to go to this resort as it was close to the airport and we arrived in the evening. Interesting to see all the speed-boats collecting their guest at the airport of Male. We had a beautiful Beach Bungalow (nr.195) at the other side of the island, but the distances are not big. No problem with the sound of the airport or the view of ships for the harbour on our side of the island. As we were leaving also in the evening we wanted to have the room til that we had to leave to the airport. Although they were very well booked they managed that for us with no additional charge: class!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed four nights in early October and everything was just perfect. The island was everything you see on a postcard - fine sand, clear waters, beautiful sunset, amazing amazing amazing marine life: We could spot baby sharks and stingrays from the beach, and snorkelling just off the beach were reefs with a great variety of fish - trigger, parrot, butterfly, trevelli, plaice, moray eels, it goes on..), and on the beach were clams and hermit crabs.
The room was large and spacious,thoughtful touches like a tap outside the verandah and a large beach bag in the closet were appreciated. Every room amenity u expect of a 5-star hotel you will find it here. The outdoor shower was fun, it was a treat to shower under the sky, with leaves above

Room Tip: The room was large and spacious,thoughtful touches like a tap outside the verandah and a large beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What can I say? Don’t make me leave!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like valued guests. The staff are very friendly and genuinely keen to be of assistance.

The island is not far from the airport and we therefore arrived by boat. Didn’t take long at all but be prepared to be a bit wind tousled when you get to Kurumba. We stepped onto the jetty and I felt immediately relaxed. Even though I could see the baby sharks under our feet. (they are more afraid of us) ;-)

The island is pretty circular with the restaurants and pool etc in the middle, with most of the rooms around the outside. There are paths leading round the island and to the rooms. There are orchid trees everywhere which are beautiful.

We had a great beachfront bungalow. With the obvious outside shower. Rooms are simply decorated with a modern style. It was always clean and perfectly made up. And quiet. We didn’t really see much of the other guests near our bungalow. It was quite secluded.

The beaches are idyllic, with incredibly soft sand and beautiful blue clear waters. We had some rain but that is to be expected depending on when you go. It certainly didn’t ruin our enjoyment of the island and was usually short lived.

We didn’t really visit the pool much as the sea was seconds from our bungalow even though we are normally pool people. Each room has its own loungers and your towels are waiting for you on them each day. The beach was very quiet with the loungers far enough apart for you to feel like it was your part of the beach away from everyone else.

I would recommend doing some excursions if you need a break from relaxing. The sunset cruise is lovely and a fabulous way to spend an evening.

We did the introductory scuba diving course with the hotel which was a great experience and even did an open sea dive. A great highlight of our trip.

The main restaurant offered a great selection of food from all cultures with something to suit everyone. It was pretty good, better than the average buffet with lots of options.

We usually had drinks in the bar after dinner. The bar is next to the beach so you can sit and look out at the ocean. You might find the drinks a little bit expensive. I would say London prices. People tended to head off early (it is full of honeymooners) and get up early to make the most of the beach or scuba diving.

If you want lots of night life and variety an island in the Maldives may not be for you. However, if you want total relaxation, an intimate setting and romance with your significant other, then it’s the perfect place to go and feel pampered.

I had my birthday while we were there and was presented with a cake and a card from the hotel which the staff had personally signed. I was greeted all day with a happy birthday from the staff and a happy birthday was laid out on the bed in our room in flowers. We didn’t tell them it was my birthday. They were attentive enough to bother noticing this from my details. It's this level of detail which makes Kurumba stand out.

I have visited other islands in the Maldives and this one is still the pinnacle still.... so far.

Room Tip: Splash out if you can afford it and go for the more expensive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Address: Vihamanafushi, North Male' Atoll, 09000
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kurumba Maldives 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with boat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, three bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene, Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurumba Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.