We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Restaurant

Haven Restaurant
1 Shore Street | Cellardyke, Cellardyke KY10 3BD , Scotland
01333 310574
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cellardyke
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in Cellardyke over New Year and had dinner here on our first night. Service, food, etc were all very good. There is also a nice bar area if you just want a drink. For the Gin & Tonic fanciers out there it's worth noting that they stock Botanist gin which is made at Bruichladdich distillery in Islay. Very very nice - give it a try !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great seafood and nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Apologies for the delay in the writing this review, it has just dawned on me that I had not written one.
We have stayed in Anstruther for the past two years and visited the Haven on numerous occasions, the last being this visit which I'm writting this review for in August 2012.
the food is excellent, particularly the seafood (the speciality of the house) which is a must.
the restaurant is upstairs beside the bar and there is a nice little beer garden to the rear which is pretty.
The staff (and owners) are friendly and good craic.
The Guinness is always well kept and a good pint - another plus point for me!
the view is wonderful overlooking the small harbour and the sea and this adds the final touches to a great experience.
we will be back!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best squid ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband, son & I ate here midweek in early January. The set menu lunch initially appeared too limited and the kids menu had too many fried options but once the food arrived our opinions changed for the better!
My husbands beetroot rissotto starter was really tasty and my squid was absolutely amazing, definitely the best I've ever tasted and I've eaten it a lot!
We both chose roast beef main course and it too was delicious. We chose fish (minus chips with beans and peas) for our son and it was light & crispy, really delicious and not too fatty.
Overall, a great choice and a lovely walk from Anstruther to boot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Passed this pud a few times while out walking, what a mistake,
Went in the other night for a quick bite what a supprise, food was great, not to busy and very good value for money, will definately be back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Truly a Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were following an East Neuk traill, and stopped here for lunch. We climbed the stairs to the first floor for the bar and restaurant. The beer garden is further up the hill at the back. The view is out over the harbour and sea beyond. We had a table by the window, and enjoyed the view. The beer was well looked after. We had beetroot risotto, mackerel, followed by raspberry pavlova. Service was prompt and courteous, food well presented and cooked. It is an old establishment, so a little tired perhaps, but the welcome and ambience made up for this. Toilets were clean.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haven Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.