We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender By The Bay

Lavender By The Bay
7540 Main Rd, East Marion, NY 11939-1504
+1 631-477-1019
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in East Marion New York, Lavender by the Bay has been growing the highest quality lavender on Long Island for more than 15 years. We offer seasonal fresh cut bunches, dried lavender, lavender plants, lavender sachets and crafts, and honey from our own beehives. During the bloom, entry into the field is free with any $8 dollar purchase per person in the store, kids are free. In 2002, we expanded our company by purchasing 17 acres of farmland in East Marion, New York. We have planted twenty varieties of lavender across ten acres of farmland, yielding over 50,000 plants for cultivation.
Massapequa Park, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The lavender is in bloom now and you can pick your own for $7.00. Unless you travel to Provence, a place like this is a rarity. The fields are so beautiful and the aroma of lavender fills the air.
You also have the lavender store where you can buy lavender sugar, lavender salt, lavender baked goods, lavender soaps and creams, sachets etc . Lavender honey is available at the end of July.
If you plan to stay overnight on the North Fork, The Blue Inn is next to the Lavender fields . You can smell the aroma as you leave your room. Breakfast is served outside and you can sit overlooking the lavender fields. In addition ,all is 5 minutes away from Greenport.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
N. stonington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Provence on Long Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Acres of varieties of lavender reminiscent of France. It is a pleasure just to visit this unique farm, inhale the scent of lavender and enjoy its' beauty. You may buy plants for your garden as I have done or cut and dried bunches to place among your lingerie or bedding. The honeybees are abundant here and have produced a flavorful honey. Prices are reasonable on all items for sale. A worthwhile stop!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakigemcam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have been visiting Lavender by the Bay since it opened. The continued planting of the beautiful fields and expansion of the types of lavender and other merchandise available makes each visit better than the previous one. It really is like being in Provence! Word of mouth has made this business incredibly successful, but they maintain high standards and I know they are working very hard to keep the experience optimal for their visitors. To clarify what the 2* reviewer said, they do not charge $8 just to walk the fields, you may walk the fields and take photos with an $8/adult purchase in their store, which sells fresh cut lavender in season, dried lavender, and all kinds of lavender products, many of them hand made with their lavender. Oh and the lavender honey OMG - from their own bees. So, spending only $8/pp is difficult, even for frequent visitors. If you are lucky the French owner will be there and if he has time he will give you a tour and explain all the different types of lavender.They have to do some crowd control to give people time, not disturb the residents in the area, and keep the fields pristine. Anyway, totally worth the visit and there's plenty to do in the area. Our favorite is the beach at Orient Point.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“this place is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Super scenic lavender fields with honey bees collecting the nectar for the fresh lavender honey for sale in the shop. Pick your own or choose from the plentiful crafts inside. You can't go wrong! they also sell plants of varying sizes and if you catch one of the owners they will give you detailed instructions on how to care for the plants. Great area with awesome winery and beaches too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful but rude staff, unpleasant experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I started coming to Lavender by the Bay about 5 years ago and it was very pleasant. We came to pick our own lavender and were given as much time as we wanted. The parking lot was not busy. I suppose word of mouth got around and this place is now very busy over the summer. I sympathize with the fact that the owners have a small parking lot and many customers to serve, but they seem to be compensating by being very pushy and quite rude. We came to the farm last summer and asked for pick your own materials again and were sent on our way. After starting to pick though, we were chased down by a different owner and asked to sign "contracts" about behavior on the field and time allotted. This was after the other owner had already sent us on our way without any mention of the "contracts". We found this pushy behavior very off-putting and were disappointed that the big crowds seem to be ruining this place. I hear now it is even worse, and they charge $8 simply to walk around the fields and ask you to limit your time to 15/20 minutes. It's so sad that this beautiful place is no longer relaxing or enjoyable due to the owners pushing you to leave/spend money as soon as you walk in.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam S, Guest Relations Manager at Lavender By The Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hi eskimo122,

Thank you for your review and apologies for our delayed reply (we just became active on TA). I'm glad you have enjoyed our farm in the past. I'm sorry to hear your most recent experience at our farm was not as enjoyable. I'm hoping we can turn this around for you so you can rediscover and enjoy our farm once again.

The amount of visitors coming to the farm has increased, and we've recently expanded our parking lot to help accommodate this growth. For a short period of time, we tried limiting customer's time in the fields to circumvent packed parking lots, but we no longer do this. We needed some time to work out the kinks, but now have a simply system: $8 entry fee into the fields during the bloom, which can be redeemed towards product in store. Everyone is welcome to enjoy the fields as long as they'd like. Our new pavilion was built with the idea that our customers would enjoy spending time cooling off from the summer sun while enjoying the purple scenery that surrounds them!

Please consider giving us a second chance and coming back to our farm next summer. We do recommend coming early in the morning and during the week, when the utmost tranquility may be attained. We sincerely hope to see you soon!

-Miriam, Lavender by the Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavender By The Bay also viewed

Mattituck, North Fork
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Lavender By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender By The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.