We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Sights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heckscher State Park

Heckscher State Park
Heckscher State Pkwy, East Islip, NY 11730
516 581 2100
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in East Islip
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Patchogue, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Summer Sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Wide open, well kept spaces. Love the free summer concerts. We last went to the LI Philharmonic concerts. There were literally hundreds of people there with blankets, food, candles and wine. Do as you like and enjoy the music under the stars!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    7
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
148 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“What The Hecksher!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I have been to many stae parks across the US and other nations. This one is just OK. Nothing special and not kept up all that well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandanch, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“beach/park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

i love the fact that i can go swimming and have a cook out at the same darn time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Never camped there but had many picnics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Love going to the Philharmonic year after year great place for large famiy picnic or BBQ. Just fun to bike ride around park.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for enjoying the day with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Family picnics, beach, bike and walking paths, playgrounds for kids, baseball fields all year round. Free concerts in the summer.
We enjoy going during off-season, to walk our dog along the dog walking path.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heckscher State Park also viewed

 

Been to Heckscher State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heckscher State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.