We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach/park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heckscher State Park

Heckscher State Park
Heckscher State Pkwy, East Islip, NY 11730
516 581 2100
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Wyandanch, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“beach/park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

i love the fact that i can go swimming and have a cook out at the same darn time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    7
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Never camped there but had many picnics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Love going to the Philharmonic year after year great place for large famiy picnic or BBQ. Just fun to bike ride around park.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for enjoying the day with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Family picnics, beach, bike and walking paths, playgrounds for kids, baseball fields all year round. Free concerts in the summer.
We enjoy going during off-season, to walk our dog along the dog walking path.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I've been going there for 30 years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The park has remained the SAME for thirty years. A great place to have a BBQ with the fam with no frills. BEWARE of the mosquitos they'll eat through EVERYTHING. The park picks up trash frequently BUT the garbage truck RACES through the grounds. Watch the kiddies....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Lots of thing to do in Heckscher State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I went to Hacksher Park to do some birding. The place is huge. Lots of areas available for multiple uses. You can BBQ, hike, bike, jog/run, enjoy the beach, they even had a model airplane area.

Beware of ticks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heckscher State Park also viewed

 
Fire Island, Long Island
Fire Island, Long Island
 

Been to Heckscher State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heckscher State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.