We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but dishonest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of East Hampton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added East Hampton House to your Saves list
East Hampton House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Pantigo Road, East Hampton, NY 11937   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Hampton
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location but dishonest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I am sad to have to write this review as we have stayed at East Hampton House twice now and it has clean rooms and a great pool for the kids. However, in this day and age you hope that when you mistakenly leave possessions in the room when you vacate, that the hotel will hold onto them for you and find a way to get them back to you. My husband recently left a laptop charger in a hotel in Chicago only to have it posted back to him the next week. This was not to be our experience at East Hampton House, we left three bathing suits after a last minute dip in the pool. We called three times, within hours, with minimal response. We knew the suits were there, but even this did not encourage the hotel to find them and hold onto them until our family who live nearby could go and retrieve them. We were told they were not in our room. This leaves me questioning, in hindsight, the safety of items in my room over the weekend and a very dangerous practice of not looking after guests lost property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
24
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

So much in the Hamptons is overpriced - from their restaurants to their stores. You very rarely get value for money. This place is the exception. The hotel is really nice - the staff are wonderful and the location is perfect - just minutes from downtown. This was our second time staying there and plan to book again for next year! Very family friendly. We definitely spent more time in the pool then at the beach! There is a great place for breakfast just across the Street - Goldbergs Bagels.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been updated. Also there is a laundry room there - so don't worry about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After I ran from 27 Inn, we were stranded and came to East Hampton at 10 PM. They were very helpful and we could stay at the one room they still had left. It was clean and all worked well. Nice little terrace outside and a very friendly staff. We did have to move rooms the second night, because we had no reservations, but it was well worth it. Good beds, clean, flatscreen tv and free wifi (important to my 10 year old) and your own outside space. Also a heated pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at East Hampton House for 4 nights. They were nice enough to let us bring our"Service Dog" and treated him nicely as well.. It is a perfect location if you want to be in the town of East hampton or Amagansett and Sag Harbor.. Very little traffic and quick to anywhere not too far away, including Montauk. We had a lovely 2 room set up with a kitchen to eat in, refrigerator and all that you would need to cook a meal. Very clean. Nicely kept grounds a nice pool and tennis courts, as well as a gym. The people working there were as nice as could be. The price was very fair. So many of the places to stay, anywhere in the Hamptons are so overpriced. This is a place we will go back to again.

Room Tip: Try to book a 2 bedroom room to stay in. 2 flat screen tv's and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stay at the EAST HAMPTON HOTEL over other hotels, because the rooms are spacious, clean and many of the rooms have kitchenets. The rooms are very interestingly decorated, catering to both couples and families. All rooms have either a balcony or patio. Their is swimming pool and fitness room. There is a barbeque area that is always clean and serviced. It has a tennis court and swing area for kids.Free passes are available for all beaches in East Hampton.
Very conveniently located to downtown. The staff is very courteous and accomondating. I would highly recommend EAST HAMPTON HOUSE for a pleasurable exprerience both summer and winter.
Gabe M

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were in East Hampton for a wedding and prices in the Summer can be very expensive. East Hampton House was an amazing deal compared to every other place in vicinity. The rooms are a good size, very clean, and functional - they may be outdated, but I believe vacations shouldn't be experienced in the room. The rooms have nice balconies for relaxing. The grounds, the pool, and tennis courts were all well maintained. It is a convenient for driving around, and it is a short walk to town and several good places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hamptons for the non-Hamptons crew. I liked it because it was not a cookie cutter corporate establishment. I stayed over Memorial Day weekend with my boyfriend and was very happy with the accomodations. The size of the room was great and the bathrooms were updated. Each room has a deck with chaise lounges that looks onto a green lawn, the pool or a tennis court. Our room also had a fridge and microwave. There were nice luxury details like a heating lamp in the bathroom and tennis courts with rackets and balls for use. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to town, so it's possible to do the Hamptons without renting a car if you don't mind walking (we rented bikes in town). If you're not sold by the hotel's website (which I wasn't initially) but would still like to get away for the weekend for a decent , i'd recommend giving it a try. The Bostwick Chowder House, across the street, serves delicious seafood fare in a very casual atmostphere.

Cons: Walls are very thin! Although luckily our neigbors were not loud. Also, the receptionists came off as blaise and checked out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Hampton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hampton House

Address: 226 Pantigo Road, East Hampton, NY 11937
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — East Hampton House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your East Hampton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hampton House Hotel East Hampton
East Hampton Hotel
East Hampton House Hamptons, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hampton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.