We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of c/o The Maidstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added c/o The Maidstone to your Saves list
c/o The Maidstone
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   207 Main Street, East Hampton, NY 11937   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 East Hampton B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“Wonderful birthday weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

Went to the Maidstone Arms to spend my birthday weekend & was quite pleased with the place. Upon walking into the porch a distinctive smell was coming from within the Inn (wood burning fireplace!) which brought a smile to me and husband. We checked in around 11am & were very happy that the room was available before check in time (3pm.) We were greeted by a lovely young lady who continued to walk us around the property. The room was filled with antiques and were informed that they are sellable pieced as well. Dinner was great. The sashimi salad was awesome and we had salmon which was also great. The surprise was that there was live music (piano!) which just put the icing on the cake to a wonderful stay. Would come again but only off season because I've been here in the summer & you can't enjoy yourself due to the amount of people around.

  • Liked — The room and dinner
  • Disliked — Location is right on Main Street but you here the trucks going by.
  • Tips/Secrets — Off season is the best because its cozy, less people & the wood fireplaces are all on!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    6
    16
    9
See reviews for
9
40
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

Stayed in June for a weekend and was treated beautifully by staff. The desk was friendly and made a point to go out of the way to accommodate my needs. The restaurant I was told has a new owner and the look is very inviting. Have reservations for July and will make it a point to arrive next summer as well. THANKS MAIDSTONE ARMS FOR EVERYTHING!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

Decent inn, slightly rundown, but the staff is so horrible and angry that I would never stay there again. I was there for the Hamptons Film Festival and paid $500 a night and the staff was NASTY and very unfriendly.
The restaurant is even worse. It's as if they are pissed off that you are staying there.
I'd stay at the 1770 House instead where they couldnt be nicer and the place is much cleaner. The Maidstone Arms needs to clean their rugs and their dusty stained furniture. Charging anything above $200 a night for this place is a TOTAL rip off.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2005

They need to take a trip to the lake placid lodge, to see how a place like this should be run!!!!The grounds a mess ,breakfast was nothing special!!Really do not offer much for the money......maybe you are paying for the zip code?

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2004

It's been a year since I stayed there but I was not impressed at all, especially given the cost. Room was small; bed not comfortable. Breakfast was a box of cereal, not even a carton of Tropicana OJ. Music was so loud at breakfast you felt like you were in a disco. A letter of complaint sent later received no reply.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to c/o The Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about c/o The Maidstone

Address: 207 Main Street, East Hampton, NY 11937
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — c/o The Maidstone 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at c/o The Maidstone boutique hotel, just a short drive from New York City, you will be welcomed as a friend. Located in the storied East End of Long Island, c/o The Maidstone hotel in East Hampton offers superior style, natural beauty and fine living. We invite you to discover all the unique nooks of our Long Island retreat: from the chic comfort of our lounge, our glorious garden, and our cozy rooms, to the pure, natural flavors of our cuisine while every whim is satisfied by impeccable service that is always gracious and never pretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your c/o The Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c/o The Maidstone Hotel East Hampton
c/o The Maidstone East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage c/o The Maidstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.