We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Hampton Resturant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1770 House Restaurant

1770 House Restaurant
143 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2716
631-324-1770
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
1770 House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in East Hampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dayton Lane
Sag Harbor, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quintessential Hampton Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

What more can you say about the 1770 House...superb service, great location, outstanding food. Always a winner. Even on a weekday night, we met several of our friends and neighbors who were dining there also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    28
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Porch is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ate outside on the porch and enjoyed our night. Good service and delicious seafood. We enjoyed some great wine along with our meal....overall nice evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always great food, service and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here for years and the food is delicious. Fish always cooked perfectly. Great melding of tastes. Calm atmosphere and warm environment. Excellent service.
Great prix fix in off season.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings and superb service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

we had a lovely evening here! the restaurant is small and intimate and beautifully decorated in keeping with the building. The service was efficient , friendly and not over bearing. The menu was varied and offered a good selection of all courses with lots of local ingredients which in this area makes it really special. The pace if the meal was good and enhanced the experience.

Certainly worth a visit if in the Hamptons, try the main restaurant first then if around for a few days give the Tavern a try downstairs, information pub style with a more casual menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

All my expectations were met. The service was impecable and the food was delicious. The wine list was large and good. The decor was inviting to stay and enjoy your company. Not to be missed: the foie gras at the appetizers menu and the "tres leches" cake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1770 House Restaurant also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to 1770 House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1770 House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.