We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1770 House Restaurant

1770 House Restaurant
143 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2716
631-324-1770
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
1770 House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in East Hampton
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dayton Lane
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The food is so good! Having the choice between the main dining room and the tavern (a little more causal) allows your to go to 1770 no matter what kind of mood you're in! I also stayed at the hotel once and the staff is so nice and rooms are comfy and clean.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Three strikes you're out!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

For a number of years this was our favorite East Hampton eatery, with great food, ambience and service. In 2011, we had two disappointing meals-so we stayed away. In mid-September this year, on a Wednesday evening, my wife suggested we give 1770 House another shot. The ambience and service have always been good and remain so. This time, the stale warmed-up bread did not augur well. Nevertheless, the salad and broccoli rabe starters were fine. We both ordered suckling pig as the main course. This dish should look like a reddish-brown glazed well- prepared Peking Duck, only thicker because it is pork. It was a disaster. We received two cubes of pork with charred skin and dry meat underneath. We will not go back to the 1770 House again until they resolve their kitchen.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I decided to go to East Hampton as a last minute getaway. We read so many great reviews of the 1770 House Restaurant and decided to check it out for ourselves. We sat in the main dining room and were happy to find that the restaurant was still full at 9:30pm in the off season (Sept. 15th). As advertised, the food was better than any other restaurant that we had been to in the area. At first glance we thought that it might be a little stuffy, but we quickly felt right at home due to the friendly and attentive staff. Next time we're in the area we will absolutely return. If you have one restaurant to visit while in town, this should be on the top of your list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Great Treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived, which was 1/2 earlier than our reservations, the staff was great. Sat us in the parlor for drinks and even sat us early at a table on a Saturday night that looked packed. Very attentive and very friendly. Food wise, I loved the cucumber gazpacho with the crab meat, and though I looked side-eyed at a $36 lobster roll I have to say it was very large, full of lobster and tasty. My wife just raved about the suckling pig, it was her favorite meal of the 4 days we were in the Forks.

1770 lived up to the high reviews I'd seen and even more so when it came to the staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“BAD ATTITUDE AND BAD FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

1770 has so much potential, but wow was it an ugly experience. The manager must be taking pompous lessons, and was so unpleasent that even if the food was great ( and sadly it was far from great) that the night would have been miserable. My wife has been recovering from a serious accident and we have handi cap parking, but instead of being considerate we were hassled because we did not park in the "right place." Then when we got into the restaurant. we were told that there was a 30 minute wait. Not a great start. The food is very expensive for what you get. The portions are small, and the service was slow at best. In fact we waited over 20 minutes for menus. When the food arrived there was a hair in one of the dishes. We notified the manager, who made a smug remark and asked if we wanted the dish replaced. No offer of a glass of wine, nothing. She could not have been less interested in the fact that the salad was hairy. Stay away, dont be fooled, and you will thank me.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1770 House Restaurant also viewed

 
East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to 1770 House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1770 House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.