We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food and lively atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cittanuova

Cittanuova
29 Newtown Ln, East Hampton, NY 11937-2465
631-324-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 55 Restaurants in East Hampton
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Italian food and lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have reviewed Cittanuova but not in the last year. We eat here at least 5 times per year and it remains consistently delicious. If you get there by 6-6:30, there is no wait even with the throngs of glitterati in August. Recent highlights were the Bruschetta (3 kinds, all wonderful), the Insalata Barbabietola (beet salad), gnocchi with roasted crunchy pieces of pork, calabrian chillies, lemon, and arugala, and the piece de resistance was the giant gamberoni (whole shrimp) with fresh cranberry beans, chillies, and tomatoes. They have a nice Italian wine list with a range of prices. Still one of my favorites-special comfort food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    24
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place to stop for an appetizer and drink while you are meandering through town! A little pricey for the serving size, but worth it for the people watching capabilities!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“The place for Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had the octopus appetizer which was outstanding -- tender and full of flavor! I followed it with the orrechiete with broccoli raab and sausage which was the best I've had in a restaurant. It would be better if they cooked the pasta in the water in which they boiled the broccoli raab before sautéing it but that's hard to do in a restaurant kitchen. The pasta had the right rough edges to grab and thicken the sauce -- if you really understand Italian cooking you will understand how unique that is. Others in our party ordered spaghetti and meatballs -- what a serving! And pasta with tomatoes, capers, and anchovies(?) Wow! Real Italian! We always look forward to going back but I do recommend going when the crowd is likely to be light. Call ahead and ask. Someday I'll try the gelato but I'm always so satisfied that it hasn't happened yet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester,NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Food, Attentive Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had dinner here with friends and family. Our friends, who have a summer home in East Hampton, have been here before and seemed to know the staff. We were seated right away and a waitress was right there to take our drink order and fill our water glasses. We ordered appetizers for the table and placed our dinner requests with the same waitress. The food and service were great and we never had an issue with either. After reading the other reviews about the service, perhaps our exeptional service was due to the fact that our friends are regulars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretentious and obnoxious service, worst in East Hampton”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you could give 0 stars on trip advisor, this place would take the cake. The waiter had no idea what was included with the entree (Piatto Misto), and furthermore he was disinterested in finding out. The kitchen refused to put tomato on a pizza (a pizza with tomato? What a strange concept....). The waiter then failed to understand the menu yet again and delivered a child sized pizza to an adult.

When questioned about the meal, the waiter replied rudely, "Listen, we don't put vegetables on pizzas, or chicken in salads. That's just how it is here, but if you want to buy another meal, you're welcome to". Note we didn't even order a salad so he only mentioned it to rudely make his point.

Overall, disgusting service, below average food, and in a place like East Hampton, with an abundance of choice, don't put up with it!

Instead, try Babette's, Nick & Toni's or Serafino's. All great food and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cittanuova also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Cittanuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cittanuova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.