We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise out in The Hamptons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Max

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Max
85 Montauk Hwy, East Hampton, NY 11937-2802
631-324-2004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in East Hampton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Medford, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a great surprise out in The Hamptons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

After being turned away by other snooty restaurants because we didn't have a reservation, we were graciously taken in at Cafe Max. Friendly service, delicious food and reasonably priced. My husband and I were very happy. Potato leak soup was perfect. I ordered Chilean bass off the price fix menu. The woman who seated us reminded me of Lidia from Lidia's kitchen. I loved the way they added a dab of mashed sweet potato on the side for extra flavor. Very well prepared food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amagansett, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Un-Hamptons Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had dinner on a cold, wet, winter night recently. We came for their $23.00 two course prix fix, but ended up ordering ala carte. My wife ordered the flounder and I the Tuna and both were excellent, probably as good as it gets out here. My wife had asked them to cook the flounder with no butter but blackened and with steamed vegatables. No problem and no attitude!
My tuna was rare and perfect, topped with tasty seaweed.
Cafe Max might not be the most attractive restaurant in the Hamptons, but the chef and owner visited every table to check on how everything was.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Cozy Old Reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Specializes in fish. Nice single page wine list $40 to $60 mostly. $17 two corse price fix and $27 three course prixe fixe, at least on a Sunday night. I had flounder and guest had mussels. She liked the potato leak soup and I had the simple salad. Meal includes vegetable, potato and bread. Nice dessert selection and everyone liked there's. The apple cranberry tart was especially surprising (good) particularly for prix fixe. Since it's a small restaurant you may want a reservation. It was busy on Sunday night but not overly packed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“civilized dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

simple well prepared food, in a very pleasant cozy environment. well priced. attracts an older crowd. great homemade deserts. the owner is the chef and takes great pride in the quality and preparation of his food. he often comes out and greets the guests. the staff is very pleasant except for one waitress whos been there for many years and makes you feel not welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food for a non-Hampton price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice small non- franchise restaurant. Good food. Good service. Reasonable price , considering other restaurants in this area.
Big portions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Max also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Cafe Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.