We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Owner who Accomodates Hurricane Sandy Workers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bassett House Inn

Bassett House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bassett House Inn
Save
You added Bassett House Inn to your Saves list
128 Montauk Hwy., East Hampton, NY 11937   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Owner who Accomodates Hurricane Sandy Workers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Michael the owner is a very nice man.. He accomodated our crew of workers as we were sleeping in our cars. He offered us kindness, laundry service and his warm inn..You will never get this experience from any of the overpriced snooty inns in the hamptons.. 3000 thumbs up Mike for your hospitality!!

Room Tip: The room downstairs with the fireplace is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    4
    0
    22
See reviews for
7
15
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

In reading the other reviews (both good and bad), I get the impression that most people are probably telling the truth (as they see it and according to their preferences). The proprietor seems like an overall good guy. He's knowledgeable and helpful. The place outside is perhaps too cluttered and needs some gardening, but the rooms, linens and bathroom were clean. The place is furnished and decorated primarily with antiques, but everything was perfectly serviceable. The proprietor was willing to accept a very late arrival (3am), even though other hotels weren't willing to, knew where to find things, and generally was helpful to address any request. If you're looking for luxury in East Hampton, this probably isn't the place for you, but you should be expecting to pay $500, $600 or more per night. If you're just looking for a place to stay that's clean, close to attractions and easy to deal with, this place is perfectly fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the key and private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've read a bunch of the reviews and agree that Mike is a nice guy - but quaint and homey this place is not. As we pulled up to the house - I couldn't believe this was the place. Look like a wreck and needs lots of work; lots of knick knacks all over the place, etc but, had i known i would have stayed elsewhere... and the price - ridiculous for what you get

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Hampton hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My friend and I spent 2 nights in East Hampton at Bassett House Inn, and loved its quaint and homestyle atmosphere. I read the negative and positive reviews, but I used to be a travel agent, and know that some people are just chronic complainers. We went with an open mind, and felt very relaxed. The owner, Mike, is so accommodating and unpretentious. He knows about the area and its history. It's not a fancy or pricey place, but we enjoyed ourselves, and the breakfast was great. thanks Mike
Kalena L

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the inn. We were properly guided, i did not have to go to the visitor's bureau. Mr. Mike, the owner was very helpful to us.
We stayedonly for one night because of my daughter's appointments in the city. hadn't it been for that, we could have stayed for another night.

Room Tip: Plan early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place is filthy, cluttered, in disrepair, the owner is rude and a terrible host.
read further down to see the negative reviews and after reviewing them I agree they are all true.
The glowing reviews must have been planted here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Bassett House Inn for one night over July 4th weekend.
It's easy to access the Inn: Just a five-minute ride from East Hapmton station.
Michael, inn-owner, a sweet and happy guy, helped and took care of us as much as he can upon our requests.
The Inn has cozy space with collectables from all over the world.
It is so lucky to find the lovely and warm Inn offering fair price in the Hapmptons.
I'll definitely return the Inn in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
2.7 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 3 in East Hampton
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
11.0 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#4 of 9 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
4.5 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Gansett Green Manor
Gansett Green Manor
#1 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#2 of 17 in East Hampton
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.9 mi away
380 Inn
380 Inn
#1 of 2 in Wainscott
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett House Inn

Address: 128 Montauk Hwy., East Hampton, NY 11937
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Bassett House Hotel East Hampton
Bassett House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bassett House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.