We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bassett House Inn

Bassett House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bassett House Inn
128 Montauk Hwy., East Hampton, NY 11937   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE ($275)
Ranked #17 of 17 East Hampton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

In reading the other reviews (both good and bad), I get the impression that most people are probably telling the truth (as they see it and according to their preferences). The proprietor seems like an overall good guy. He's knowledgeable and helpful. The place outside is perhaps too cluttered and needs some gardening, but the rooms, linens and bathroom were clean. The place is furnished and decorated primarily with antiques, but everything was perfectly serviceable. The proprietor was willing to accept a very late arrival (3am), even though other hotels weren't willing to, knew where to find things, and generally was helpful to address any request. If you're looking for luxury in East Hampton, this probably isn't the place for you, but you should be expecting to pay $500, $600 or more per night. If you're just looking for a place to stay that's clean, close to attractions and easy to deal with, this place is perfectly fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the key and private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    4
    0
    21
See reviews for
7
14
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've read a bunch of the reviews and agree that Mike is a nice guy - but quaint and homey this place is not. As we pulled up to the house - I couldn't believe this was the place. Look like a wreck and needs lots of work; lots of knick knacks all over the place, etc but, had i known i would have stayed elsewhere... and the price - ridiculous for what you get

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Hampton hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My friend and I spent 2 nights in East Hampton at Bassett House Inn, and loved its quaint and homestyle atmosphere. I read the negative and positive reviews, but I used to be a travel agent, and know that some people are just chronic complainers. We went with an open mind, and felt very relaxed. The owner, Mike, is so accommodating and unpretentious. He knows about the area and its history. It's not a fancy or pricey place, but we enjoyed ourselves, and the breakfast was great. thanks Mike
Kalena L

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the inn. We were properly guided, i did not have to go to the visitor's bureau. Mr. Mike, the owner was very helpful to us.
We stayedonly for one night because of my daughter's appointments in the city. hadn't it been for that, we could have stayed for another night.

Room Tip: Plan early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place is filthy, cluttered, in disrepair, the owner is rude and a terrible host.
read further down to see the negative reviews and after reviewing them I agree they are all true.
The glowing reviews must have been planted here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Bassett House Inn for one night over July 4th weekend.
It's easy to access the Inn: Just a five-minute ride from East Hapmton station.
Michael, inn-owner, a sweet and happy guy, helped and took care of us as much as he can upon our requests.
The Inn has cozy space with collectables from all over the world.
It is so lucky to find the lovely and warm Inn offering fair price in the Hapmptons.
I'll definitely return the Inn in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

My triplet boys and I had the pleasure of staying in this Country Home..Michael the innkeeper is a real doll.. The house tells a story with knick knack galore.. I told him he should make it an antique store.. He was friendly , kind and very accomodating to my family. A great little vacation:)!!! Kudos Michael

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bassett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett House Inn

Address: 128 Montauk Hwy., East Hampton, NY 11937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Bassett House Hotel East Hampton
Bassett House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bassett House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bassett House Inn to your Saves list