We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best In Town!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bassett House Inn

Bassett House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bassett House Inn
Save Saved
You added Bassett House Inn to your Saves list
128 Montauk Hwy., East Hampton, NY 11937   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE ($275)
Ranked #17 of 17 East Hampton B&B and Inns
nygirl2587
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best In Town!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

My friends and I stayed here for one night in the Hamptons over Memorial Day Weekend and were pleasantly surprised. Mike was so nice from the get go and was very helpful and accommodating. I have stayed at many hotels over the country and have never received service like I have here. It's not about perfection, the house is warm and inviting, it feels like you are staying with family or friends rather than a stuffy hotel. His rates are the best in town, and he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. He is a sweet guy, and reviews can't do him justice. You just have to see for yourself!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    4
    0
    21
See reviews for
7
14
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

A lovely place to stay with a beautiful garden and outdoor area in general. We wanted to just sleep under the stars (and we did, for a little while at least)! Michael, the innkeeper, was a kind soul who treated us with care and generosity. We were just 4 kids (well in our 20's and 30's) needing some tender, loving, care... a bit lost and without a place to stay in Montauk and he offered us a space and such hospitality at the Bassett Inn. We would and will return very soon, our next trip east, to stay again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I stopped here at random while searching for a place to crash on the eve of the 2010 Mighty Hamptons Triathlon. Michael was very kind and accommodating. He even let me return after the race to clean up, sort gear, nap.

I was not prepared for the expense of staying in Easthapmton, and Michael was kind enough to offer me a rate that we could both agree upon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We were in need of accomodation at 1:00 in the morning and Michael (inn-owner) was not only awake at that hour to answer our inquiry but went over and above his call of duty and gave us a very special place to stay. Without being overbearing, he provided a level of service that is rare to find.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Michael, the innkeeper greeted us upon arrival with a big smile and a warm hello. It was our first time traveling with our 15 month old dog and, if it's true what they say about dogs sensing danger, her tail wagging quickly put us at ease about our lodging. The Ritz Carlton it's not, but it is a wonderful country style home with clean, light, airy rooms with lots of charm. Our aim for this little getaway was to allow our dog to experience the ocean. Michael had many suggestions that fulfilled our needs and led to a good night sleep for all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband, dog, and I stayed at the Bassett House Inn in East Hampton for a long weekend in August. We chose the Bassett House Inn because it is pet friendly and we were travelling with Marcus, our dog. Michael is the "innkeeper" and he is personable and accommodating, offering to make us the breakfast of our choice every morning, and even offering to keep an eye on Marcus if we wanted to go out without the dog. Our room was large and very comfortable and the grounds are homey--nice, spacious backyard, bar-b-que, tables and lounge chairs. The Inn is also about a mile and a half from a beautiful beach. The Inn is not elegant but it is homey and comfortable and very, very pet friendly--which, for us, was important. We enjoyed our stay and recommend the Bassett House Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Where do I start. Old cars left in the overgrown back yard. Looked like a bad yard sale. Dilapadated house in need of repair. Really busy loud street, directly outside the front door. Dirty, filthy, dusty assortment of clutter, probably found on the side of the road. Micheal Bassett greets you immediately upon arrival with Credit card printer in hand to have you pay for your entire stay before you have had a chance to process or examine the premises. "Hot full breakfast " advertised on his website is really coffee from dirty, ancient coffee maker, bananas with fly protein, stale cereal and corn muffins, all served on a filthy vinyl tablecloth in his airless "dining room". Don't wander into the kitchen... he says it's "scary"...and I believe him. This is the most disgusting place I have ever stayed! If we weren't late for an event, we wouldn't have stayed the one night. How he is able to run a dump like this in the "most beautiful town in the US" is beyond me. Notice all the good reviews are by "trrip advisor member". No name required. They must be written by him. Check ALL of the reviews and you will see we are not the only ones who feel this way. We left after the first night. I am disputing the charge with Am Ex. This guy is a TOTAL con artist and a cad, no to mention, really strange.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Hampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bassett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett House Inn

Address: 128 Montauk Hwy., East Hampton, NY 11937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Bassett House Hotel East Hampton
Bassett House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bassett House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.