We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hedges Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Hedges Inn to your Saves list
The Hedges Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   74 James Lane, East Hampton, NY 11937   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 East Hampton B&B and Inns
sunnyside ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Home away from home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I just spent a weekend in East Hampton and I booked The Hedges Inn not really knowing what to expect...Absolutely no regrets...The Hedges Inn is all what it's cracked up to be..meticulous rooms, beautiful patio gardens, and a such a gracious staff...The innkeeper/manager Ann...wow! She preps up a breakfast you will be dreaming for days...We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked another weekend around the fall season...See you soon!

Room Tip: We had a small room but it was cozy and quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Happy people usually make the happiest guests. It is always great to see our guests in enjoying all of the inn...sitting on the porch, a glass of wine at the bar, a little snack ouitside on the patio, watching a game on TV in the den...and eating breakfast! Thank you for making us your home in the Hamptons and for gracisouly taking the time to write about it!
See you next summer! Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    7
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
45
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Starting with my introduction to Brendan when I called to make my reservation the Hedges wowed me! Brendan warmly described the inn and offered to stay late to help us get settled when we arrived. Our room was the best I've ever ... wonderful linens and amenities, peaceful setting, great shower, cozy and quiet. Next morning, we were greeted with a fabulous table setting of fresh fruit, flowers, homemade scones and muffins followed by a fabulous breakfast prepared by Ann. Each morning the menu was different and excellent. The peaceful gardens surrounding the property have many seating areas which we used for cocktails later in the day. Honestly, we'd return in a minute. This is a Hampton's treasure! Ann and her staff couldn't do enough for us. We'll be back as soon as time permits!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Brendan is our newest staff member and I tell him he is a terrific fit for the hospitality business! Thank you for saying such kind things about your experience with him right from the start (and backing me up). I am pleased to know you enjoyed the room and amenities of the inn so much. We try to make breakfast spcial here at The Hedges Inn and having people who love to eat and try new things makes it so much fun! We have you down for next year!

All the best,
Anni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We recently hosted the guests for our weddding at the Hedges Inn, and hosted our morning after brunch there. Ann Clarke and her team could not have been more accomodating, friendly and professional. The Inn is historic and beautiful, the welcome warm and genuine, and the food inventive and delicious. Many of our guests told us that they would be returning to Hedges Inn when they return to East Hampton. I can definitely recommend Hedges and Ann and her team without reservation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
As an East Hamptonites you could not have been kinder to The Hedges Inn then to choose us as be the place your closest family and friends would stay. I personally enjoyed planning every aspect of your wedding send off brunch. We appreciate such recognition from outstanding locals and I have almost forgiven you for not telling me about your days attending Le Cordon Bleu in Paris until after the brunch was over and all the plates were empty! It was our pleasure to be a part of your special weekend and we are thrilled that everyone left so happy! Heartfelt congratulations from all of us at The Hedges Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Ann and her staff give over the top service. We had 6 rooms over a wedding event. It was as comfortable as home with the added feature of all your needs provided in a warm and gracious manner.

Maureen

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
If you felt at home at The hedges Inn then I could not be happier. Our staff tries to walk the fine line of meeting your needs as hosts at a small inn but leaving you alone to just be at home! Your family and friends were a particularly fantastic group of warm and gentle people and all of us on staff enjoyed your staying here at The Hedges Inn!
Sincerely, Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a lovely little Inn in the heart of East Hampton.....a nice little daily walk to the village is not a problem at all. The Inn is extremely lovely and quaint and just reminded me of a big old country home done up with all the luxury and comforts of an upscale modern city hotel. The rooms are all named with a beachy/nautical theme and there is even a lovely weaved beach bag with beach towels available in the room should you decide to venture out to the beach which is about a 10 minute walk from the Inn. The rooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable and the bathrooms and very bright and modern.The homemade food is definitely of gourmet quality with lovely floral accents right from the owners gardens garnishing the plates. Ann who is the general manager greets you with a warm smile upon arrival and is always there checking to make sure everything is just right and as you desire. Her staff are all extremely pleasant and most helpful and do so in a most sincere way. I would recommend this Inn to anyone and everyone! Thanks for a most memorable weekend in the Hamptons celebrating my brother's wedding day!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1st room on the left, at the top of the stairs on the third floor.....I think it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Everyone here at The Hedges Inn so appreciates your taking the time to let other people know what a great stay you had. We try our best and it's good to know when we are on track! It was our pleasure having you at the inn and well, you're room is ready for next summer!
All my best,

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Hedges is a beautiful inn, very tastefully decorated and the staff make you feel right at home! Ann and Brendan were great hostess and host for our group staying here for a family wedding. Their unobtrusive service provides a very peaceful an restful environment for our "down time" during the weekend. Thanks,
Ann and Brendan!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Oh, the pleasure was ours! There is something so rewarding about taking on a part in someone else's special moments with their family and friends. It truly was our pleasure to make it all it could be from our part in it! We hope to welcome all of you and or some of you back to The Hedges Inn for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The inn is gorgeous, perfect location to town and beach. Ann Clarke's breakfast is delicious; she is a gracious, wonderful hostess. All the staff are genuinely concerned about the best interests of the guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
So nice to have a houseful of kind people...makes us always want to do more and be better with people like you in the house! Thank you for being here, please make us your home here in the Hamptons and we hope you do come back again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hedges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges Inn

Address: 74 James Lane, East Hampton, NY 11937
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hedges Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful village pond The Hedges Inn is an East Hampton, New York landmark. Home to the famous swans that, like our special guests, return year after year. This exclusive enclave is around the corner from world-class beaches, nestled among East Hampton's legendary estates and just steps from the Village. Built in the 1800’s and recently renovated to the highest standards, The Hedges Inn strikes the perfect balance between sophisticated luxury and unpretentious seaside charm. We invite you to enjoy not just the intimacy of your rooms, but to take advantage of our entire house as if it was your own. The Hedges Inn. "Your home in the Hampton's." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hedges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel East Hampton
Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hedges Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.