We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY PERSOL SUNGLASSES DISAPPEARED” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Baker House 1650

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Baker House 1650
Save
You added The Baker House 1650 to your Saves list
181 Main St., East Hampton, NY 11937 (Formerly J. Harper Poor Cottage)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MY PERSOL SUNGLASSES DISAPPEARED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I had a wonderful stay. Accomodations are very good. Although the room I stayed faces the street and there are some noise.
Staff were very kind and educated.
The bad experience was related to the fact that my sunglasses disappeared misteriously. (Not inside the room). Probably in the garden or in the breakfast table...
Really not something expected from a place like this...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

All Hamptons B&Bs wish they were the Baker House. This spot is the real deal. They can do no wrong. I wish I had the sense and taste of their interior designer (love the decor)! And, the breakfast is not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I visited the Baker House for a long weekend. The hotel is beautiful, and the staff is very friendly. We stayed in the Maidstone room and despite being told the hotel was completely booked we felt as though we were the only couple there. Although the hotel is located close to the bustling center of town both the hotel and it's grounds are quiet and peaceful. The spa is great and if you book a treatment you will have the luxury of having the spa all to yourself. There are plenty of restaurants nearby so it's not a sacrifice not having a restaurant located in the hotel. The Breakfast served every morning was to die for, pastries, eggs, pancakes all wonderfully cooked. My husband and I travel extensively and have to stayed at some of the best hotels both in the US and Europe and we both agree the Maidstone is amazing and worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The Baker House is a wondeful hybrid of a European Inn and an American luxury hotel that affords one a gracious lodging and lounging experience with first class amenities. The main building is a beautifully updated Tudor with a lovely English style garden in the rear with a magnificent trellis covered with ancient wisterias. For those unfamiliar with the area, Baker House sits on the town green in the historic town of Easthampton, NY; one of the more charming villages on the South Fork. For the uninitiated, abandon the thought this is retreat set in a nature preserve at the ocean's edge. Baker House is in town on Rte. 27 so one may hear automobiles and other vehicular traffic but the village location is such a blessing since one can stroll the town; ride bicycles to the beach; walk to religoius services and languish in the magnificent garden at the end of the day with a book and a glass of limoncello!! The rooms are updated, (magnificent linen and bedding) well-appointed, clean, comfortable and lack that anonymous and ubiquitous hotel decor. We found that the staff was efficient, courteous and helpful without that Ritz Carlton cloying "how may I be of service" attitude. My partner is an architect and his impression of the renovation was that it was remarkably well-done considering the inherent problems of re-modelling an existing building. When one considers that a pool and a spa were dropped in the basement of this gorgeous home, it is hard to believe that as much of the original detail was maintained. We were simply thrilled with the whole experience and travel often to the Hamptions from the pastoral Berkshires and each time , we love the idea of being in such a beautiful Village where cars are left behind. Although we are not gourmands, the food was sensationally fresh, well-presented, abundant and graciously served. Thoroughly impressed with the experience and will come back.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for rear room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Sometimes when you travel for a while you looking forward head back to the comfort of your own place, except when you stay in a place like the Baker House, where seriously you will hate to leave.
I stayed in The Baker House with my wife as a part of our honeymoon and was the best part of it. The place is awesome, very well located and the rooms are massive and fully stocked, the beds are so inviting we didn’t want to leave the room.
The breakfast is simply amazing and the staff is so friendly they makes you feel like you are at home.
I would definitely recommend a stay at The Baker House

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The spacious garden with its lush lawn and ancient trees gave my kids endless hours of fun during our week away from the city, and the friendly staff made them feel right at home. They can't wait to go back this summer!
The short walking distance to the centre of East Hampton is another big plus for us grownups at evening dinner-time.

Room Tip: Fartehr inalnd form the road is quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

A stay at Baker House 1650 is relaxing & laid back ~ yet you are aware that there is acute attention to detail. The staff - especially Heather - is very courteous & non-obtrusive. Any requests we had were addressed satisfactorily and in a timely manner. This wasn't the busy summer season, but the whole weekend was tranquil. That was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms and common areas are very clean and well-apportioned. Getting a massage in the spa was pleasantly womb-like... Local & business newpapers and magazines abound. It is a MUST to have Alba's french toast for breakfast/brunch. I was worried at first about the proximity of the building to the main street, but there was no cause for that worry. I can't wait to stay when the outdoor pool is usable and the lovely gardens are teeming with flowers!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baker House 1650? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baker House 1650

Address: 181 Main St., East Hampton, NY 11937 (Formerly J. Harper Poor Cottage)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Baker House 1650 Hotel East Hampton
The Baker House 1650 East Hampton, Hamptons, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baker House 1650, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.