We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appears to be on a path to become a former Marriott property...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley to your Saves list
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Tech Valley Drive, East Greenbush, NY 12144   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in East Greenbush
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Appears to be on a path to become a former Marriott property...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for about 5 years on and off. I have a good status in Marriott as I travel a lot. Overall I think that Residence Inns are perhaps a bad option for business travelers. People cook at times and even have pets in these rooms so smells, odors permeate easier than the occasional visitor.

As to this property near Albany, well, the odors and smells are bad. Mattresses feel cheap and soft. Bedding feels closer to paper towels. There are scrapes and blemishes in doors, hallways, walls, etc. You can see sub par maintenance efforts: e.g. different paint tones to correct blemishes and scraping. I think the worst is the state of the carpets. All you need to do is move a piece of furniture and you'll see in what bad shape they are. The other lousy point is the lackluster housekeeping. Dishes in the room are just thrown in the washing machines and replaced as they come out. So imagine grabbing a deep bowl and finding hardened egg yolk. Yes that happened in my stay. I dropped my car keys and looked under the bed and I found clothing items from a previous guest.

Overall this property feels unkempt, It smells old, and the counter service is not what it was a few years back. I am not coming back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn T, Manager at Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Victor-
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley.

You indicated in your response that your stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this in detail for I would love to learn and grow from your experience. Also, to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Samantha Munn CRDE
Operations Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott
samantha.munn@marriott.com
518.720.3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
41
14
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel weekly for seven months while on a nearby assignment. The hotel offered a good rate for my firm and it has been an excellent place to stay. The beds are comfortable, the staff is competent and courteous and the location is convenient. The recent completion of a roundabout makes it much easier to exit in the morning.

The hotel offers a free breakfast and dinner. It's not a restaurant but the meals are adequate and very convenient after a long day; especially during the winter when going out to find a restaurant means braving the cold again.

Location in a tech park means quiet surroundings and no highway noise.

Room Tip: Some rooms have gas fireplaces and those are quite nice during the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn T, General Manager at Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We appreciate your extended stay business for allowing us to be your "home away from home" during your assignment. We do our best to make sure our guests' stay is comfortable while being away from home.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we do look forward to hosting your overnight accommodation again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Andreadakis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was pleasantly pleased with the outstanding service and politness with the staff wduring my stay. Donna and RJ were ver yaccomodating and assisted with any questions I had not only with the local area but with hotel accomodations. I would recommend this specific hotel anytime when in this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn T, General Manager at Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and choosing our hotel for your overnight accommodation needs. We also would like to thank you for the kind words in regards to the service you received while staying with us.

We do look forward to hosting your overnight accommodations again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Andreadakis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent one night here in Sept. of 2013 after having stayed here previously in 2012. We had requested a rollaway bed and were told there were none even though we checked in at 2:30. Suite rooms state they sleep 5 but only have a queen bed and double bed fold out sofa. Our room was not as clean as it should have been - we found used napkins next to the dresser which weren't ours. In the past the hotel has had complimentary cookies in the afternoon and we were told they did not have them anymore. We stayed on the first floor and had a child or loud person above us who was running around late in the evening. Pool was not as clean as usual - questionable brown stuff on the bottom. The breakfast was very hectic and counter space was not cleaned regularly. One employee was running around trying to restock and clean and he seemed stressed. I do like Residence Inns because of the kitchen and this location is good for us so I will most likely stay again but I am hoping that some of these items are improved before our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn T, General Manager at Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be your "home away from home" while being on the road for you and your family. We would like to thank you for writing about your experience with us, and we do apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay this time.

We have brought this attention to our staff and will be using it to improve our hotel to better serve our guests in the future.

We thank you again for choosing to stay with us each time you are in the area, and we do hope we can regain your trust in the Residence Inn Tech Valley so that we can host your overnight accommodation again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Andreadakis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our extended family stayed here for a wedding. The rooms are large and well designed, as per residence inn standards. I liked the room layout and everything was clean and relatively new. Everything seemed clean and the beds were comfortable.

Whoever chooses the cooking pots and utensils needs to rethink some things. Why have only metal utensils with teflon cookware?? Of course it was all scratched up. I also question the layout and design of the hotel with respect to access for someone with a disability. The ramps leading to the front entrance are not laid out right and i don't see how a handicapped person could open both layers of entrance doors without assistance. Just maneuvering the luggage cart through there was a challenge- I needed someone to hold the door open for me. I don't recall seeing one of those auto door openers. Also the parking lot fills up and the entrance road intersection is an accident waiting to happen.

I was disappointed with the breakfast. The hot food ran out early and there was little hot food to choose from to begin with. I've seen better from hotels that charge 1/3 this daily rate. I will say the staff was very accommodating and the place was clean.

One of the people in our group tried to extend their stay an extra night, after the wedding. They were not given the wedding block rate, but instead quoted the walkup rate which was nearly double. So, they changed their mind and went home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn T, General Manager at Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and choosing to stay with us during your family's special wedding weekend. We also thank you for the nice comments about the service you received from our staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. We do our best to make sure we provide all of our guests the services that they need to make their stay as comfortable while being away from home.

We apologize for the disappointment you had with our Hot and Cold Breakfast Buffet. We appreciate your attention to this matter, and will do our best to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences in the future.

We appreciate your business for allowing us to be your "home away from home" while being on the road for you and your family. We do look forward to hosting your overnight accommodations again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Andreadakis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite with five adults. There was plenty of room and the hotel was clean and had everything you would need in an extended stay hotel.

The work out room was clean and well enough equipped. the breakfast had tons of choice.

The staff were friendly and I would definately go back if i was in the area.

Overall it was a great short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn T, General Manager at Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to hosting you and your friends again!

Sincerely,
Jonathan Andreadakis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I brought 4 teenagers on a shopping trip. Although this hotel was a little far from the malls it was worth the trip. We booked a one room suite giving the kids their own space and me privacy as well. The room was very clean and fit our needs so well. Great to have the fridge for the dinner leftovers. The staff went out of their way to get us extra towels and shampoo. They were always very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was great as well. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley

Address: 3 Tech Valley Drive, East Greenbush, NY 12144
Location: United States > New York > East Greenbush
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in East Greenbush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley Hotel East Greenbush
Residence Inn East Greenbush
East Greenbush Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.