We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Pet Friendly - No AC - Left much to be desired” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   576 Columbia Turnpike, East Greenbush, NY 12061   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in East Greenbush
Big Flats, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Pet Friendly - No AC - Left much to be desired”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We have two small yorkshire terrier dogs and chose this hotel due to it advertising "pet friendly" and it's price. Upon check-in there was a sign behind the desk that said 'NO PETS ALLOWED'. As I was over 4 hours away from home with no other reservation, I decided not to tell them I brought my dogs. I wasn't very happy. After walking into the room there were two heat vents, both with no registers on them so there was literally two rectangle squares in the wall which contained some cobwebs. Our AC was locked into "Energy Save Mode" which apparently translates into doesn't work. We kept it on it's lowest setting at 64 degrees and the room temperature never went below an estimated 72 and would auto-shutoff after about 30 minutes of continuous use. The bed was very hard and the bathroom door did not shut. Tried to do some work in the hotel with the free WiFi and it was too slow to be of use. I'm usually very content (I know you're probably skeptical after reading this review lol) but I was very unhappy with what we received for the price. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIGreenbush, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear MarkyMark1985,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am sorry to hear about your experience. As a general rule, we do not allow pets. Many people have pet allergies and cannot stay in a room which had a pet. Please be sure to notify management in the future if you are bringing a pet. Special arrangements could be made for you in advance. Addtional fees apply. The air conditioners are less than two years old and we have not experienced any issues. Our front desk is available 24 hours. We would have been happy to assist you if you had contacted us regarding the issue during your stay. We hope you stay with us again or another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country.


Regards,
Ben-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-E Greenbush, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
6
5
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Greenbush, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

First the good points--the place is cheap and convenient to the main strip (Columbia Turnpike). The room we had was spartan and clean. Despite being near the main road, it was quiet and all we could hear was the neighbor(s) taking multiple showers.
I'd say for a few days in town this place is okay.

It has a small microwave, a small refrigerator and an old shower (no bathtub, so parents with little ones, beware!).

Now for the bad...the service. The motel is run by people who either have no idea about customer service nor do they care. When we checked in, the man at the front desk did not greet us. He did not offer a smile. He just stood stoney faced and demanded with grunts that my partner fill out the form and hand over his credit card. This lack of customer service continued throughout our stay. Any time we had to interact with any staff member (all related, apparently as they seemed Eastern/Indian) we received indifferent shrugs (perhaps they do not understand English?) and sighs of annoyance.

I also felt paying upfront was a bad sign of a shoddy run organization.

Room Tip: Ask if you want a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIGreenbush, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Saxonpointer,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and convenient location. I apologize for the apparent lack of customer service you received during your stay. I have spoken to the front desk and the appropriate action taken. As with any service industry, money (in exchange for goods or services )is exchanged beforehand. Businesses such as grocery stores and gas stations require customers to pay for goods before using them. Hotels (including our establishment) all require payment in advance and is not a sign of a shoddy organization. We hope you visit us again in the future.

Regards,
Ben-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-E Greenbush, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayville, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

If you're looking for a no frills, value stay in the Albany area, this is your best bet. No complaints, staff was helpful, nice furniture, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIGreenbush, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear SteveM29,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff and nice room furnishings. We look forward to having you stay with us again.


Sincerely,
Ben-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-E Greenbush, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We where told cost of room was $60, however when we arrived, said was $70. I argued and got my rate reduced, however our friends couldn't get theirs reduced. Couldn't get room door open because of the ice and water buildup inside of door. Husband had to just about kick the door down to get it opened. Walked in and room smelled musty, old and nasty. I wouldn't even walk on the floors without my shoes on, the floors where that filthy. Table and chair in room - filthy. Bathroom disgusting. I put towels on the floor before I would step into shower. Shower stall wasn't horrible, but had a hard time getting faucet to turn on. Towels and sheets where clean, but comforter was disgusting. There was dirt caked in every corner of the bathroom and room. Our friends had mold on their shower walls. Our other friends couldn't get their toilet to flush. Stains on the carpets, looked like someone had eaten in the room and it was never cleaned up. Walls had brown stains on them. Curtains where disgusting to touch. This $60 room was more like a $30 room. Only two cons...it was 10 degrees outside and the heater worked great and there is an IHOP next door that served a great breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIGreenbush, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear campinggal,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. As a rule, our front desk quotes room rates not including tax. I have discussed the issues you had with housekeeping during your stay and the appropriate action taken.



Regards,
Ben-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-E Greenbush, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

very nice up here I will stay here in the future.
I don't think that I have ever rated a motel this good on here before, but there was nothing to complain about here. No its was not the ritz. but it was clean, safe.and much better than expected.
I had to stayed here with a few of my co workers and we were satisfied with our room. The staff was very nice and very helpful

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIGreenbush, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Rickfact,

I appreciate the fact that you took time out of your busy schedule to share a review with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. If you ever return to the area, we would love the opportunity to serve you again.


Regards,
Ben-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-E Greenbush, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Mold in the showers, rock hard bed, crappy tv, had to unplug the fridge as is was extremely loud, front desk would only give our group one key per double bed room and insisted that we "stay in our rooms til we check out, no in and out". Expensive compared to other quality motels we've stayed at......would NEVER go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIGreenbush, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Iamthenight,

Thank you for sharing an opinion with us. I apologize for any negative experience you encountered during your stay. We are planning to replace several of the king mattresses next year. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future.


Regards,
Ben-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-E Greenbush, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I couldn't get a room at any neighboring hotels due to no availability. This hotel is located near I-90. The grounds are well kept. My hotel room was very large. However, the bathroom was terribly outdated. I believe that was PINK tile in the shower. The carpet was decent and so was the lighting. The bed really wasn't very comfortable though. I only had 2 pillows on a KING size bed. There was some mysterious hole in the floor behind the door.

There is NO shuttle. The front desk clerks were ALL extremely rude. One of them followd me into the parking lot screaming after I politely refused to leave my luggage in the waiting area while I went to breakfast. I asked her to lock it in the storage and she suggested that I leave my valuable luggage in the hotel lobby waiting area. No thanks!

Obviously, they never heard of security. The hotel is run by individuals of Indian descent. The hotel is located one block from a International House of Pancakes. However, the IHOP is only open from 7am - 10pm.

I would only repeat if nothing else is available. The place wasn't that cheap either.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany

Address: 576 Columbia Turnpike, East Greenbush, NY 12061
Location: United States > New York > East Greenbush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in East Greenbush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn, conveniently located in East Greenbush, New York. Our hotel is within a few miles of downtown Albany, the capital of New York. Visit notable educational sites like Albany Convention and Visitors Center, NYS-Crailo State Historic Site, New York State Museum, legendary USS Slater, Schuyler Mansion State Historic Site, Historic Cherry Hill, NYS-Capitol Building Tours, and Martin Van Buren National Historic Site. Enjoy some family time at Funplex Funpark, strike out at Spare Time-East Greenbush, tee off at Pheasant Hollow Golf Course, catch a movie Regal Cinemas East Greenbush, explore Empire State Plaza, and gaze up at the Henry Hudson Planetarium. Watch live events at Capital Repertory Theatre, Times Union Center, Bleecker Stadium, and Lebanon Valley Speedway. Treat yourself to a meal at one of the restaurants located within walking distance of our hotel such as IHOP, McDonald's, Fisherman's Cove Restaurant, Pizza Hut, Quiznos, Quigley's Pub, Chinese Kitchen, Hot Harry's Fresh Burritos, and Super Buffet.While staying at Americas Best Value Inn East Greenbush/Albany, enjoy the comforts of home with the assistance of our 24-hour courteous staff. Start your day with a free cup of coffee available in the lobby daily from 6-9am. Take a refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundromat and vending/ice machines. Our one story, exterior corridor hotel offers 32 tastefully decorated guest rooms featuring free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, sitting area, table with chairs, cable TV with HBO, free local calls, and wake-up service. Pets are welcome for a minimal nightly charge. At Americas Best Value Inn East Greenbush/Albany, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.