We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge it from the outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mike

Chez Mike
596 Columbia Tpke, Ste 12, East Greenbush, NY 12061-1618
518-479-4730
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Near Albany
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Don't judge it from the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This great little restaurant is in a strip mall with a very unassuming facade that you might miss. But don't. This place is a gem. Terrific food, terrific service, and a great place to go with friends. We have eaten there a number of times, but I am only giving it four stars because the wait for our entrees was entirely too long last night and because I ordered the evening special of grouper, and it was entirely overcooked and dried out. Everyone else at our table had different meals and raved about them, and last night was my first slightly negative experience there. Definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Floral Park, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food in an unexpected spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found Chez Mike while in Albany on business, The place is small and simple but the food is extraordinary. The menu is somewhat limited but each item is well prepared and carefully served. The servers work well together and you feel appreciated as well as well fed. We have recommended this place to others who are at the same meetings but some are put off when they have to leave downtown Albany to go to this strip mall. I promise - it is worth the small effort to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

our family has been there with parties of 5-20. We had an aniversary party there and Mike opened early and did a great job, wonderful food. We most often go with 3-5 adults. I love the menu, vegitarian dishes as well as some traditional dishes for the less adventursome. They wil modify dishes to take out meats also! Butter and bread is awsome as well chop salad( last week), and homemade ice cream. Check the menu out online! Children are welcome by the friendly staff, this will be a longer wait time then casual chains for the yound ones.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good place, worth to go again next time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Like others reviewed, the butter and bread are perfect. And the service is very good also. It charged 12 $ for cork open if bring your own wine. I believe their desert should be very good, but no space for that this time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great meal, somewhat limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Located about 5 miles across the river from downtown Albany in a little strip mall where you would neve expect to find a restaurant of this quality. Wnt there recently with a party of five and everyone was fully satisfied. I went with the striped bass special which was quite enjoyable. The selection of main courses is wide ranging for almost any taste, although the number of actual selection available is a little limited, as is choice of sides. The place is small and fills up quickly on a weekend evening, so would definately consider making reservations if thinking about going. The strip mall location does have a somewhat restrictive impact on the internal atmosphere, but quality of food more than makes up for it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mike also viewed

East Greenbush, NY
 

Been to Chez Mike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.