We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful menu and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mike

Chez Mike
596 Columbia Tpke, Ste 12, East Greenbush, NY 12061-1618
518-479-4730
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Near Albany
Hilton, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

our family has been there with parties of 5-20. We had an aniversary party there and Mike opened early and did a great job, wonderful food. We most often go with 3-5 adults. I love the menu, vegitarian dishes as well as some traditional dishes for the less adventursome. They wil modify dishes to take out meats also! Butter and bread is awsome as well chop salad( last week), and homemade ice cream. Check the menu out online! Children are welcome by the friendly staff, this will be a longer wait time then casual chains for the yound ones.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good place, worth to go again next time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Like others reviewed, the butter and bread are perfect. And the service is very good also. It charged 12 $ for cork open if bring your own wine. I believe their desert should be very good, but no space for that this time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great meal, somewhat limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Located about 5 miles across the river from downtown Albany in a little strip mall where you would neve expect to find a restaurant of this quality. Wnt there recently with a party of five and everyone was fully satisfied. I went with the striped bass special which was quite enjoyable. The selection of main courses is wide ranging for almost any taste, although the number of actual selection available is a little limited, as is choice of sides. The place is small and fills up quickly on a weekend evening, so would definately consider making reservations if thinking about going. The strip mall location does have a somewhat restrictive impact on the internal atmosphere, but quality of food more than makes up for it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not Veggie Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

While it's an unusual, casual/upscale atmosphere for strip mall dining, and the menu appears to be well thought out, would it kill them to join the 21st century and include more veggie friendly items?

Can't we transcend the banality of 'portobello burgers' once and for all????

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“It was very good, but now that I think about it $30 lunches are supposed to be very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had coconut thai chicken soup and it was great. The scallop salad with arugula was nearly great but the butter from the scallop was too much. A little light vinegar would have cut it. The pasta and sausage was way too big and we left 3/4 of it. The wine was tired, which seems to be the story of these days.

In all, I can make the next time excellent with some prodding and thought.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mike also viewed

East Greenbush, NY
 

Been to Chez Mike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.