We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent LaGuardia Airport Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9010 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
South Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Decent LaGuardia Airport Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Courtyard is typical of what you would expect of the Courtyard brand except in two areas:
1. The Bistro operated like a restaurant. This was disappointing in that there wasn't the quick order option but wait service. Much slower and more expensive. Dinner was much better than breakfast. We enjoyed the appetizers.
2. The room was large and comfortable but the bathroom was exceedingly small and needs to be renovated/upgraded.
I would say the most positive aspect was there was no noise from LaGuardia and this is located very close to the airport.
Overall the staff was pleasant but I was disappointed in some areas, for instance - a morning request to remove feather pillows did not happen until late at night after a second request.
Couple of notes: $22 per day parking and if you attend the US Open $6 pp round trip shuttle service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNYLaGuardia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport hotel; we are always grateful for guest feedback. Although you have shared your appreciation for our staff and close proximity to the airport, we were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with a few aspects of your stay. We will share your comments with our team as we are continuously looking for ways to improve our guest’s experience. The next time you are in the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    88
    47
    12
    8
See reviews for
59
26
28
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I found this hotel very good for people who are doing business in the area and don't need to stay in the crowd city, very good for air crews and people who attend to baseball and tennis games because of it's near location to city field and US Open courses. What i disagree of this place is that even they are receiving pilots, air crews teams, business people 24 hrs, they don't have late room service or at least mini bar! And the cost of the rooms where very expensive for what i got. they even don't give you a free water bottle at room.

Room Tip: Buy water and snacks at the shop next to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNYLaGuardia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
At the Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport we welcome and value all feedback. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Our hotel is as you mentioned close to Citi Field, home of the NY Mets, and the US Open. We are glad you had a good stay and appreciate your comments regarding room service; we will share your review our team so we can continue to improve the experience for future guests. Thank you again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A nice hotel at a reasonable price for the area (I paid. $143/ngt.). It is not a Courtyard by design, rather a converted Sheraton, so no actual courtyard. While older, it's completely refurbed to high standards, with an outstanding lobby & rooms done in the Courtyard decor. Staff is good, but language barrier exists in some cases. Pool area is great - well lit & an inviting little oasis - an older style pool with a deep end. Airport noise is surprising low. The beds however, are not the same as in other Courtyards. Frankly, I often chose Courtyard for their very comfortable beds & these weren't near as good, yet OK. It's an airport hotel - very isolated with nothing around - no food around at all. The hotel does have a very limited (& pricey) menu during certain hours. I enjoyed my 2 ngt. stay, but if I had any complaints it would be the beds & the horribly low water pressure ...plan on a long shower. Also the water taste is pretty bad. The good news is you can make up the long shower time since it's convenient to La Guardia. The shuttle runs every 10 min. & makes a complete loop in 10 minutes. To Manhatten ( or wherever) they have a car service (3rd party, but with a relationship). They use (& you can request) 'executive' cars, which are a slightly stretched (huge comfortable back seat) black limo type car. Cost to most anywhere in Manhatten is $41. A cab can cost that much & more at the wrong time of day.
I think that covers it - hope it helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNYLaGuardia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at the Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport Hotel. We’re glad that your enjoyed your stay and found our location to be so convenient for not only getting to the airport but also for exploring Manhattan. All your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope that one day soon we can welcome you back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

An older property, but great location as its just across the street from the airport. Room was very clean although one day I had to call Housekeeping as my room was not made and it was 6pm. Had breakfast in the restaurant and it was good, as well as the service. All other meals were in neighboring areas, such as Astoria and Flushing. Hotel had good recommendations for restaurants as well they assisted with directions on how to get to Times Square (bus stop right out front, to the train - about 45 minutes). They had a car service which we used for around this area, otherwise when we went to Manhatten, we took transit. Overall good property, for Marriott standards, a facelift would help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNYLaGuardia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and choosing the Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport. Our hotel is conveniently located for air travelers and we offer complimentary 24-hour shuttle service for easy, hassle-free transportation to and from LaGuardia Airport. We are delighted that our location and staff were such an asset to you when you were visiting the area. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay you encountered with housekeeping; thank you for informing us of your concern and allowing us to rectify the situation. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope that one day soon we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

An overnight stay to pick up someone at the airport. The hotel was totally booked and our room was crowded for three people, but that was all that was available. Lots of noise from the hallways and nearby rooms throughout the evening that later quieted down. Restaurant had a limited menu but the food was okay, although expensive. Took the airport shuttle back and forth and it was prompt with good service. Encountered an overworked and impolite staff person at check-in who seemed bothered when I asked her about parking information. Staff later on were more polite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNYLaGuardia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies if at any time the service you encountered did not reflect the high standards of customer service that we have set. We wish we were made aware of your concerns while you were still here so that we could have addressed them immediately. Your review will be shared with our staff to re-emphasize our commitment to quality customer service. Thank you so much for your comments; we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a very expensive hotel with a great location to the airport. It seems way overpriced to me. The service is good and the staff is very good but the hotel needs upgrading. The rooms are clean but in pretty bad shape. The whole property needs painting and sprucing up. I needed a place to stay close to the airport for a morning flight but will look elsewhere next time. I've stayed in very nice Courtyards but unfortunately this isn't one of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here with wife and son while son was competing at Jr. Olympics on Randall's Island. The staff let us store a 12 foot vaulting pole and was always available to answer questions about travel directions or where to get something to eat. Room was clean and bed was super comfortable. Since it was a really hot day, we spent some time at the pool. The walled-off pool courtyard is remarkably serene for a hotel next to an airport. The two guys (one younger, one older) that were on lifeguard duty were also very entertaining. The only minor disappointment was that our room's refrigerator wasn't working.

We were part of the Jr. Olympic group, so rooms were $129 (plus tax) and parking was discounted to $10.

Room Tip: Our room was on middle of hall on 4th floor. Never heard a sound from the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia

Address: 9010 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369
Location: United States > New York > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laguardia Hotel East Elmhurst
Courtyard Hotel East Elmhurst
Courtyard East Elmhurst
East Elmhurst Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott LaGuardia New York/East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.