We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Bellhops are the BEST!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9010 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in East Elmhurst
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Helpful Bellhops are the BEST!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although I didn't find ANY of the people at the front desk to be helpful or even friendly at ALL, Eddie, Louie, Wilson & Mark at the bellhop desk were so friendly & HELPFUL!! What more could you ask for?? A nice attitude & friendly smile goes a long way with me.

Rooms were nicely appointed. Bathroom was nice except the toilet. Seemed to not fully flush, which explains why our bowl seemed to be very stained.

Was concerned with the noise of the planes departing/landing just next door, but I heard 0 noise once inside the hotel. Thank You for that!!

Free shuttle ride to/from hotel was a nice feature. Hotel was a bit spendy overall, however.

Room Tip: Need advice on how to get around, ask a bellhop!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    81
    47
    12
    8
See reviews for
56
26
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great choice for stay in NY, highly reccomended. No room service though, you can order downstairs and carry up. Great front desk customer service. Clean rooms, fabulous location close to the airport. No airport noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardLaGuardia, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Travelux,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay at the Courtyard Marriott @ LaGuardia Airport. We appreciate you recognizing the friendly front desk and our clean rooms. We are 80% complete with our room renovations which guests are reporting they are pleased with the results. Sorry about the room service, we are a limited service hotel but you can order breakfast, lunch and dinner and have it to go so you can enjoy it in the privacy of your guestroom. Keep us in mind for future trips into the NYC area.

Sincerely,

Richard J Murphy
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went up to New York to help restore power after Hurricane Sandy and stayed here. This is an awesome hotel. The rooms are nice, big and clean. It's right across from LaGuardia airport, but I think its a good place to stay. The hotel staff looks like they are not too friendly, and don't greet you with a smile, but will help if needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardLaGuardia, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tray D,

First let me thank you for helping the victims of Hurricane Sandy after the storm. Many communities were devistated so restoring basic necessities were welcomed. Im delighted to hear we were a good home for you during your period of assistance and at the end of a busy day offered you a clean comfortable hotel to relax in. Im certain our staff were feeling the strain of the storms fury and aftermath. Dozens of employees were without heat, hot water and power for weeks then gas shortages were commonplace testing even the bravest New Yorkers.

Plan a trip in the summer months so you can relax at our outdoor pool and enjoy the best of New York under better circimstances.

Regards,

Richard J Murphy
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had to spend a quick night in New York. This Hotel is near Laguardia Airport and is very busy. The front desk staff were friendly and responsive despite the amount of traffic in the lobby. Rooms are clean and quiet. Free shuttle to the airport. My driver was friendly and helpful when I had questions. Also they have free coffee in a small room off of the front desk. Big plus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardLaGuardia, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Chipmonk 1222

Thank you for your candid review of your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Laguardia Airport hotel. Im delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. At times when we run a full hotel and host a meeting or seminar our lobby can resemble Grand Central Station at rush hour. Thank you for mentioning the friendly and responsive staff despite the volume of business throughout the lobby.
If future travel plans bring you back to the NYC area we hope you consider us your home away from home.

Regards,

Richard J Murphy
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had to spend a night at this particular Marriott since I lost my connection home because of bad weather.

As the airline agent explained to me, any hotel near the airport would provide me with
a distress discount offered to any passenger under these bad weather conditions. Upon arrival at this Marriott, I was told there was no such distress voucher offered by the hotel, that they had never heard of that (neither the receptionist nor her manager); moreover, the airline agent should have given me the actual voucher, instead of making a promise on behalf of their hotel.
This situation left me wondering about the veracity of the airline agent's information, but when I asked around other airline representatives and some friends of mine who had been in a similar situation, they all concurred that the distress discounts offered by hotels under these conditions were indeed a real thing. It's just that this particular Marriott chose not to do that; moreover, the lack of help from the front desk lady was truly blatant.
I suppose they keep pretty busy as it is and do not care for repeat business from me or any travelers accustomed with a little finesse from travel industry providers. I will certainly avoid that hotel in the future, given that the quality is astonishingly sub-par for the price they are asking. I had to use earplugs in order to be able to sleep because the room was terribly noisy. There's no fridge, no mini-bar in the room, but one thing you can find are dirty appliances. Might be a good idea to try a different one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glastonbury, CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about this hotel. Had a great experience staying here. Food was great, room comfortable, staff was excellent. Room clean and quiet. Hotel was built some time ago and is being renovated. Lobby is gorgeous. Cool thing.. Hotel is built on a hill and the hall ways go down hill. No sharp angle, just enough to be cool. Parking was a breeze. The lot is secure and the staff so nice. Shuttle service to and from La Guardia perfect, quick. Driver very friendly. I would definitely stay again. Thanks to Vanessa and staff for a wonderful over night and for keeping our car safe.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been traveling to this hotel for about 7 years and their service has been wonderful . The manager Sharon is always very helpful. Always has a smile on her face and that shows with her staff. Cathy the F&B Manager is top shelf as we have had meetings there and what ever we needed to took care of it. We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia

Address: 9010 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laguardia Hotel East Elmhurst
Courtyard Hotel East Elmhurst
Courtyard East Elmhurst
East Elmhurst Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott LaGuardia New York/East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott LaGuardia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.