We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel. Stay Elsewhere. Shuttle Driver Told Me It's Closing Down Soon. Good Riddance!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Landing at LaGuardia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Landing at LaGuardia to your Saves list
The Landing at LaGuardia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9400 Ditmars Blvd., East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel. Stay Elsewhere. Shuttle Driver Told Me It's Closing Down Soon. Good Riddance!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My company put me up in this hotel. It use to be a Clarion, but apparently they hotel was not being run up to their standards, so they pulled their name and the hotel renamed itself The Landing. I will make sure our company never uses this hotel again. I have never stayed in a hotel where the hallways slanted down. The hotel is built on a hill, and instead of level hallways and series of stairs, the hallways had a fairly steep angle. The carpet was old, dirty, needed vacuuming and had wrinkles in it as if it needed to be stretched. The hallways smelled of cigarette smoke and mildew, even though it is supposedly a smoke free hotel. The first room I was assigned was at the end of a very long, narrow hallway. It was so small that you couldn't pull the chair away from the desk without hitting the bed. It smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and mildew--even worse than the hallway. Besides that I was on the 1st floor and my room was on the end of the hotel overlooking a very busy intersection. I was afraid if someone took a turn too fast, the would crash into my room. I requested another room and that one was a little better and on the 3rd floor. Same steep hallways, though. The carpet is stained and dirty and the wall paper was peeling off. The light fixtures in the hallway had cracks in them and the walls were beaten up. The shuttle van is run down and has a large rip in the seat where you get in.

The front desk staff was not friendly. Having said all that, both mornings I managed to miss the shuttle and the front desk was able to call the driver and he came back and made special runs to the airport for me (I had business meetings in the airport). Now if this hotel is truly closing as the shuttle bus driver told me, then that explains the bad attitude of the staff and poor condition of the hotel and rooms. I would definitely not stay here again. Hopefully it does close because it really needs to.

Room Tip: Stay away completely. If you must stay there, the higher the better to avoid some of the street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
3
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for one night after arriving late. Shuttle service was uneasy to find, thanks to help of one of the airport staff found out that I have to call to the hotel to arrange a shuttle. The reception staff was not very welcoming or interested, the room was small and cold. The most unpleasant thing was that I did not feel very safe there, as I was travelling solo. Breakfast was poor. i would say that this was a cheap hotel experience even I paid a quite high price. I was happy to leave after one night there.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Noisy not the cleanest no frig in room had to request one. Bath tub very small and dirty. The BIG NEGATIVE had to pay. $9.00 to park!!!!!! Breakfast not good at all. Will not be coming back here. STAFF very nice......

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Stayed here for one night as a young girl alone, felt safe. Staff very friendly and helpful from the off and throughout, even keeping hold of my suitcase after I had already checked out but was visiting the Bronx Zoo. Rooms are dated, but clean. Large comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, bath was small but who would want to bath anyway when away - shower was hot and powerful enough. Iron and board supplied which was good. Could hear noise above throughout the night, but only creaking floorboards - not enough to keep you awake. Breakfast was okay, fair few options to put through the toaster and a couple of cereals to fill you up. As expected for a free breakfast, I think others expect a lot more. Free, good working wifi. More than sufficient for a nights sleep by LaGuardia Airport.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The Landing Hotel is on average rate. Room was very small. bathroom is also small as well, as you stand in it hardly. They missed room service in one day. He is very far from NY City. The main advantage is price.

Room Tip: May be rooms in first floor is better, as elevator is very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

This place is a total scam and an embarrassment to the hospitality world! Wow did I get scammed. The description and photos with the price make it sound like a clean great hotel. The continental breakfast was a joke. Hard bread and waffles. It was the worst and lowest form of breakfast I have ever seen in all my travels. The rooms are like closets and are bare bone. There is no access to convenient transportation and a night to get downtown to Manhattan. Instead of saving money I ended up spending twice what I should have. I say if going to New York City stay away from this place like the plague. It's better to spend a little extra and find somewhere closer to the City. I don't think this place deserves any stars.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

The hotel just changed owners when I stayed there last month. It used to be "Clarion" but I can understand why Clarion would not want to associate their reputation with this venue.
The rooms are really old and in desperate need of a facelift. The room did not smell great but worse- bedcover had fresh stains on it, and the second bed was not clean either. Not acceptable and Not worth the price paid!!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Landing at LaGuardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing at LaGuardia

Address: 9400 Ditmars Blvd., East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Landing at LaGuardia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landing at LaGuardia formerly the Clarion at LaGuardia Airport is the closest hotel to La Guardia Airport. Our cafe is open daily from 5pm to 11pm. We are easily accessible to all parts of New York City - Manahttan, Long Island, Queens, Brooklyn & the Bronx! Great for short & extended stays. Located near Flight Safety International, LaGuardia Airport, Flushing Meadow Park, Astoria Power, Randall's Island and much, much more. We have parking available, bus parking as well, which makes our location ideal for groups and individual travelers alike. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure The Landing at Laguardia has something to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Landing at LaGuardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion East Elmhurst
Clarion La Guardia Airport
The Landing At LaGuardia New York/East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landing at LaGuardia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.