We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but a good deal....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9400 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
New Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nothing special but a good deal....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I agree with other property reviews. This is by no means a hotel. They have tried to make many upgrades but unfortunately it just doesn't suit well. Rooms are small but comfy. New TVs, WIFI, etc. Bathrooms are minimal and old but certainly suffice fine for one evening with my husband and I. The walls are thin and the hallway/doors do slam and it can be a bit startling. The lobby does lok like it was just redone.
The real reason we ended up here was because we are traveling for a few days post-Thanksgiving and needed a place to put the car (which at Thanksgiving AND at LaGuardia is not an easy task). With one night stay and the parking for the car we made out better than most other places I was looking at. There is a Courtyard (I think) also that runs the stay and park package and I may look to try them in the future.
Overall, nothing terrible but nothing to make this place stand out.

Room Tip: It may help (I don't know for sure) to ask for a room on the back side so you aren't on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionLGA, Manager at Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear maestra611,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Clarion LGA as well as taking the time to post a review. I am p,eased to see that you found all of our services and accommodations to your satisfaction. We have made upgrades and renovations recently . Our park and fly package is quite popular and I am pleased you were able to take advantage of it. We are always looking to improve and satisfy our guests, so thank you again for sharing your experience at the Clarion.
We do hope you will stay again next time and see what continued improvements we make.
Best,
Vanessa Penson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    78
    81
    40
    44
See reviews for
57
63
42
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

this is a 2 star hotel, confirm this by other websites. clarion confirm its a 3 star hotel. for the price I paid, this is a rip off. and false info on your side. Also they charged $ 10 for parking. Run down hotel, rooms and bathroom and very small. this is a motel not a hotel. no full breakfast. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionLGA, Manager at Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. I do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience so that we can better serve our guests in the future. We do not currently offer a full breakfast, however we do, as advertised, offer Complimentary Continental breakfast free to all our guests. I'm sorry you found the room smaller than you would have liked, unfortunately that is a standard complaint in NYC. We do have a variety of room types, perhaps we could have helped you with one of those options had we had the opportunity to talk during your stay. Our staff does try to make every guest as comfortable as possible and the front desk is happy to help guests with those options.
Again we appreciate your input and time.
Sincerely,
Vanessa Penson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a decent place to stay if you (like me) can't afford the Marriott down the street. The rooms are small but nice and clean. Bed was comfortable. Very convenient location next to LaGuardia airport--good choice if you get in late and don't want to travel into Manhattan. Walls aren't very thick--heard some outside traffic noise as well as noise from a couple next door, so I would recommend earplugs. Breakfast wasn't great. I try to eat healthy, so all the pastries and sugary cereals didn't really appeal to me. But for what I paid this place is a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionLGA, Manager at Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Shea O,

Thank you for your recent post of the Clarion LaGuardia. I am so pleased you found the rooms here clean and comfortable. Our breakfast is a continental set up, and we do include fresh hard boiled eggs and fresh fruit as healthier additions to the standard continental fare of bagels, waffles and cereal. I will take your review to the team and try to add some more healthier choices.
Thank you again.
Best,
Vanessa Penson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel was fine for the location to the airport. When calling to get picked up the phone rang and rang on and off the hook. Then when they did answer they would directly put me on hold never even asking if I wanted to be placed on hold. The front desk agent then gave quick directions that I barely heard on the phone because he was talking so fast. Since we had a large group it was OK for them to take several trips to get everyone to the hotel. The shuttle driver did not offer to help with our luggage. He just opened and closed the doors. He expects tips but does nothing to actually earn them. Our check in process was smooth but upsetting because the front desk again again was short with me. The breakfast was low quality but did not even offer any meat options. The only protein was eggs, microwaved eggs. The lobby is super small and super noisy. We enjoyed the neat features of the hotel including the slanted hallways and old fashioned elevator. The check out process was difficult too. And I am still fighting about charges with the hotel. Overall stay was poor but customer service made it the worst.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionLGA, Manager at Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. Having worked with you directly and your group I'm sorry you didn't come to me with any service issues you encountered while you were here, as I would have dealt with any problems on the spot. I'm sorry if there was any confusion or miscommunication with regards to 48hr cancellation policy or the description of our Complimentary Continental Breakfast which does include fresh hard boiled eggs but no meats that are generally included in hot Breakfast options not continental. We try to keep a wide variety of items in our complimentary breakfast. I appreciate your input and will have the staff go over the options again to see what we can do better.

I want to thank you again for your business and choosing the Clarion Hotel at LaGuardia in East Elmhurst and appreciate the time you have taken to give us your input.
Thank you,
Vanessa Penson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Due to the traffic mess on the Grand Central Parkway, Long Island Expressway, Cross Island Parkway, Clearview Expressway, Van Wyck Expressway - this hotel is in a great location, right across from LaGuardia. Most car rental agencies are within walking distance of hotel. Avis & Hertz are further down the road. Clarion staff were helpful, friendly and polite. The room was clean and no issues were noted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionLGA, Manager at Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Henry,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the Clarion Hotel located across from LaGuardia airport. Many guests, like yourself, find our location very convenient to all parts of NYC and the surrounding areas of Queens, Brooklyn and Long Island.

I will let the staff know that they were able to meet your expectations and that you found your room comfortable and clean. We strive to satisfy all our guests.
Thank you again!
Best,
Vanessa Penson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel offers a cost conscious option remarkably close to the airport. The rooms were of average size for the chain class and the bathrooms were typical of a New York hotel. Check in and out process was very easy. On site valet parking was nice. Almost everyone from the parking crew were nice. The hotel is close to the city and in the right traffic you could get to lower Manhattan and mid town under 30 minutes via the midtown tunnel. Being close to the airport brings with it the obvious noise, but they are silent at night. If you are looking for a cheap and short stay, I surely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionLGA, Manager at Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear netTravel12,

Thank you for your post. Our Park and Fly program is indeed a great value and I am happy to know you were able to take advantage of it. Our shuttle runs 24hrs a day which makes it really convenient for guests flying out at any time. I will let our drivers and valets know they are doing a great job.
Thank you so much for choosing the Clarion LaGuardia.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Best,
Vanessa Penson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was bad since before we even got there. However, it is the cheapest for parking and flying in the La Guardia airport area. I called the front desk for help on pricing and the girl was not very helpful. The company was advertising a 30% off sale on rooms so I wanted to know what parking would be if I didn't do the park and fly package, but all she would say is to do the park and fly and then didn't take any time to take a reservation, just hung up. When we got to the hotel, the lady at the front desk was still not very friendly, just briefed and rushed. The rooms were more like luxury jail cells with rock hard beds and a bathroom that I could barely fit in. At 6AM the smoke detector started going off while I was in the shower because of the steam. I jumped out and called the front desk and he said he'd send someone up but to try turning it to the left. I did and it pulled the smoke detector off the wall, which the front desk person seemed mad at me and said I turned it too far. He said he'd send someone up later to fix it. After returning from our trip, we called the parking people for a shuttle back. They said they would be there in 5-10 minutes. It took us no more than 15 minutes to get to the road and the shuttle wasn't there. He came 10-15 minutes later and then started yelling at us that we called to early after we landed and it only takes him 5 minutes to get there so he drove around to every terminal looking for us, which took him 20 minutes. So had he just been patient and waited a few minutes for us, he would have saved himself and us about 10-15 minutes. Next time I go to fly out of La Guardia I think I'll spend the extra $40 and stay at the Marriot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionLGA, Manager at Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,
I'm sorry that you had problems with your stay and the confusion with the shuttle service. I appreciate your input and have made efforts to relay the importance of good communication between our staff and guests calling from the airport. Most first time visitors don't realize how close the Clarion is to LaGuardia airport and how quickly our drivers get to the pick up stop. When our agents say 5-10 minutes, it really is hat. Unfortunately shuttles cannot wait at the pick up spots at the terminals so if the guest isn't there the shuttle cannot wait. Therefore I have instructed the agents answering the calls to really clearly communicate with the guests. To make sure they are in the right area etc. hopefully this will help guests in the future.
Again, thank you for your post.
Happy new year,
Vanessa Penson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport

Address: 9400 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel at La Guardia Airport is the closest hotel to La Guardia Airport. The hotel was recently renovated. Our cafe is open daily from 5pm to 11pm (or later on occasion). We are easily accessible to all parts of New York City - Manahttan, Long Island, Queens, Brooklyn & the Bronx! We have parking available, bus parking as well, which makes our location ideal for groups in addition to the individual traveler. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure The Clarion Hotel at LaGuardia has something o offer you.The Clarion Hotel at LaGuardia. We're Making New York Your Kind of City!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion East Elmhurst
Clarion La Guardia Airport
Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport New York/East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel La Guardia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.