We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Airway Inn at LaGuardia

Save Saved
You added Airway Inn at LaGuardia to your Saves list
Airway Inn at LaGuardia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airway Inn at LaGuardia
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   82-20 Astoria Blvd., East Elmhurst, NY 11370   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Find another hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My first room the a/c didn't work properly, the smoke alarm went off, one phone did not work, and the tub was dirty with some sort of soot! The second night they moved me and were very good about that. The next room was cleaner and the a/c great, but, and this is not the hotel's fault, some man and his wife, who didn't speak English, were trying to get in my room and then banging on doors up and down the hall. After I called they sent someone up and took care of them. However, at about 3:45 AM the same thing happened. I believe that the man must have had some type of dementia. The entry is very tiny and much like European small hotel. The linens were clean, towels thin, but clean.... but it just felt like a one star hotel and very old.

Room Tip: I would ask to see the room before unpacking! It should be a budget hotel for about $75 a night, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    9
    7
    12
See reviews for
21
6
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Airway is a good choice if you need a Laguardia 'airport hotel'. Between the hotel's own shuttle and the bus stop next to the hotel, you're set for transport. And compared with nearly all the competition on this side of the airport, the Airway is more convenient to stores and eateries (not that there's a lot of wonderful things, but there's a range of choices).

Service and the room were pleasant enough - nothing to draw you here if you don't need to be close to the airport (esp given the price) but enough to distinguish them from run-of-the-mill airport hotels. Though Astoria Blvd isn't much to look at in this stretch (if convenient), the residential side streets are nice. Amazingly enough didn't hear or see a single plane flying over the whole time were here (mid afternoon through early morning).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The only reason to stay here is if you have an early flight from LaGuardia. The area is not great and the exterior of the hotel needs updating. However, the rooms are fine. Next door are a couple of fast food outlets, and one block away is an Italian restaurant if you need dinner and don't want to drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I were getting in late at LaGuardia and needed a place to stay over the night before catching the train to Manhattan and the Amtrak back home. Airway Inn was the only reasonably priced place that could accomdate all five of us without requiring us to rent two rooms. For under two hundred dollars we got a room with two double beds and a sleeper sofa; outrageous in Topeka, but a good deal for NYC near an airport. The beds and the sofa were lined up tight, just barely fitting in the room. Room was very worn, and facilities as a whole seemed very beat up, but seemed reasonably clean and safe. Shuttle from airport was a phone call away and arrived within 15 minutes.

On the way into the hotel a man in the parking lot accosted my adult son and told him "just warning you, one stranger to another: that place has bedbugs really bad!" This of course made us nervous. when we got into the room we inspected all the bedding thoroughly, and kept our bags closed and off the bed and floor (actually, this should be done in any hotel). we saw no signs of infestation. I checked a couple websites that monitor bedbug reports and couldn't find the hotel listed. We went to bed and found no bites in the morning and no bugs in luggage or clothes. No bugs since we have gotten home either, so either the guy in the parking lot had a grudge against the property or our room was not one of the infested ones.

Air conditioner is right by the sofa bed so when it was on my son was freezing, but when he turned it off my wife and I at the other end of the room were sweltering.

The walk down 82nd street to the Jackson Heights station to pick up the 7 into Manhattan took about 20 minutes. Seemed perfectly safe, even pleasant.

Room Tip: The room with the sleeper sofa is a good value if all you need is a place to sleep near the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I suppose it wasn't as bad as it could have been. it was clean, there was no evidence of illegal activity, & the staff were pleasant & competent. And there was internet, unlike my recent stay at a Hyatt. And there was room at the inn, which was not true of any other place in the area. I suppose the root of the problem is that LaGuardia is an unspeakably bad airport & that I'm not so comfortable w/ Queens, cause i'd stay in a similar place in the if I had to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

we stayed there during end hurricane sandy and they were so nice and made our stay enjoyable rooms clean and comfortble and staff really helpful good location if you want to be near airport trains and buses all nearby

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed there last October with a friend for one night.
The Hotel is 5 minutes away from the Airport which is very nice. You simply have to call the hotel to have the shuttle to pick you up.
The room was ... Not that great. This hotel needs some upgrades in my opinion. We did not spend too much time in the room anyway.
There is a Public Transportation right across the street that will bring you to the Subway service. We took it 2 times to go downtown and it was pretty fast - About 25 minutes.
I might go back for one night but not more than that. Ok quality for price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airway Inn at LaGuardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airway Inn at LaGuardia

Address: 82-20 Astoria Blvd., East Elmhurst, NY 11370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Airway Inn at LaGuardia 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Airway Inn at LaGuardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airway Motor Hotel East Elmhurst
Airway Hotel East Elmhurst
Airway Inn At LaGuardia New York/East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airway Inn at LaGuardia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.