We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Guardia Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Elmhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Guardia Inn
100-15 Ditmars Blvd., East Elmhurst, NY 11369   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in East Elmhurst
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was just happy to have been able to book a room after the storm Sandy hit New York. I was on a business trip and my first choice hotel was canceled. La Guardia Inn did accommodate myself and my team as much as possible. The hotel overall was average, nothing fancy but the amenities were just enough. Continental breakfast was served on time and had plenty of food. Their fitness room was equipped plenty and kept clean all the time. The internet always worked and the room itself was just average nothing fancy. The only complaint would have been the water heater, it would give out half the time so showers had to be quick. Other than that... my experience was just average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The lobby was very nice and the staff extremely helpful. They arranged for a car service to take us to the pier the following morning to board our cruise ship. We were pleasantly surprised that the fare was only $35 for the approximate 40 minute ride. The room, however, was just so-so. The carpet needed to be re-stretched, and the hallway leading to the room reminded me of a hospital or similar instituion; it was painted a sad green color and was completely devoid of ornamentation. The restaurant was nice and again the staff was very pleasant. The price of the room was very good. We would probably stay there again under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Pros: room available after flight canceled, walked from the LGA airport (about 7-8 minutes), has shuttle if desired.

Cons: forgetful wait staff in restaurant, non-existent housekeeping service (asked front desk for extra blanket twice but no one ever brought one!), few power outlets in the room and the ones that do exist are inconveniently placed, AT&T wifi is free and it's easy to tell why (no service equals no cost, right?), and the TV set is from the late 1990's (a std def CRT? really?). No HBO but they have ShowTime (which has nothing worth watching, it seems).

The above took place within 5 hours of checking in! I'm still in the room; I'll update this review again as my stay develops. FYI, I'm looking into staying at the nearby Hampton Inn and Marriott, but because of all of the flight cancelations I expect they are fully booked. My Hilton or Marriott priority level may get me a room anyway... (This hotel is unaffiliated with any major chain.)

Update1: The blanket just arrived. It took three requests and 45 minutes to get here. :(

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The price was right- $109.00 per night great beds,pillows, great towels,shower. Great use of space. Front desk was helpful We stayed in room 309 and it was perfect for what we needed it for. Very clean, nice bath products. Pretty close to ge to to the train to take into the city. Will definately stay there again. Also it has an airport shuttle too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Made a change from the usual stay in New York City and was pleasantly surprised with the very warm welcome and customer service driven operation at hotel. Forget having to pay twice the price for less - Will be back ASAP and refer to friends, family and business community! Service at this hotel I believe is what made New York City and America great.

Room Tip: Practical and affordable choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYS Capital Region
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We have been stopping here for several years, even before when it was a Wyndham property. We usually stay 3-5days at a stretch. It is still the same, reliable place to stay. Nothing exciting, but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean and quiet, which is suprising this close to the airport. The staff is, and always has been, very efficient and friendlly. The resturant in the hotel is very good, and we have eaten here many times. There is a free continental breakfast, and all the goodies are always fresh, with waitstaff refilling your coffee cup without being asked. Parking is $18.00 a night, but every other place on Ditmars Blvd, near the airport, charges that much or more. If you want public transportation, busses stop right in front of the door. The only drawback is you have to drive to get to any resturants, other than the hotel, or the other hotesl in the area. We have been her before, and would return to it agian.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just spent 3 days at this hotel, the staff was really friendly and very helpful. I would really recommend this hotel to friends and would consider staying here again when visiting New York.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Guardia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Guardia Inn

Also Known As:
La Guardia Inn New York/East Elmhurst
Address: 100-15 Ditmars Blvd., East Elmhurst, NY 11369
Location: United States > New York > East Elmhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Guardia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Guardia Inn to your Saves list