We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York

Save Saved
You added LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104-04 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Crowne Plaza New York - LaGuardia Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in East Elmhurst
New York City, New York
1 review
“Unexpected Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My family booked their stay via the hotels website with the hopes of finding larger space and comfort then Manhattan. They arrived in NY having recently taken trips to Dubai, Turkey, Spain and Japan to find their room tighter then they imagined a room outside of Manhattan would be. What the room size lacked, the hotel made up for it in the excellent service, cleanliness, professionalism and diversity of hotel guests making the LaGuardia PLAZA quite cosmopolitan. The pool, gym and business conference rooms seemed barely used, perhaps due to the short stays guests typically have (missed flights, next day cruises, stewardesses and pilots). After a few days, the room turned out to be cozy as we found ourselves spending time at other parts of the hotel when not touring NYC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience and opinion with our Trip Advisor community. The staff and management are glad to hear that we were able to overexceed your expectations. We will be sure to let out entire staff of hospitality professionals know your thoughts about your stay. We hope to see you soon on your next visit. Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    151
    115
    94
    80
See reviews for
129
101
76
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a day layover between the end of our cruise and our flight out. We checked in several hours before check in time without any problems. The room was clean as was the bathroom. The location is great for airport access besides the free shuttle is great also. We ate at the "Embers" the hotels bar and grill where we had a very good meal. So thank you Lorraine and Carlyn at the front desk and Jasmine and Terrence at Embers for a great stay. Hope to be back someday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your business and for your comments regarding your recent stay. The staff and management appreciate the fact that your stay was of value . We look forward to seeing you soon . Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had to stay here because my airline cancelled my flight, and airline had booked me in here. My room was on the 3rd floor. The room was ok, the shower looked unclean so I did not venture in to try it out. The shower room was very basic, I suppose like the room. I went down to the bar to get a drink and some food. There was no room to sit at the bar and no available tables. I eventually got a drink, but stood up drinking it. I did not order any food so I went back to the room. So glad I only stayed here for one night. Checked out early in the morning to catch the shuttle back to the Airport. Shuttle driver was great.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your business and for you sharing your comments with our Trip Advisor community. Your comments are very helpful to us as we work toward improving overall guest satisfaction. Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I called to make sure before I got there if I could check in early because my plane landed early... they said I could... needless to say once I got there I specifically asked for a room with a walk in shower and a flat screen TV... but I didn't get that person at the front desk said it would be one in there but it wasn't ... The bed was dirty, and hard, the carpet was nasty, and the bathroom, I will be reporting this hotel to the health department because its that filthy. If I could I would rate this HOTEL a 0

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your comments with our Trip Advisor community. We apologize if your stay was less than satisfactory, and not considered of value.
The hotel will be beginning extensive renovations within the next upcoming months . As for the cleaniness issue , your comments will be helpful as we work toward improving overall guest satisfaction. Thank you and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you're on a budget, spending your own money, and trying to keep it as inexpensive as possible, then...this is a great choice! We were moving our child in to local university (there went ALL our money!) from across country and needed a staging point. This hotel was fine. It's safe, clean, everything worked, and the location was great. There was definitely wear & tear all around-but no horrid smells, and the staff was very helpful & friendly. All the appliances (elevators, hairdryer, air-conditioner, coffee maker, lights, tv...etc) worked fine, and it was quiet. We could easily of spent double, or triple, but why? We stayed 4 nights. Went to the city a couple of days, and spent a couple of days loading up at Costco, Bed Bath & Beyond, Target, etc. & moving into a dorm. Mostly we just slept at the hotel. The subway is easily accessible by hotel shuttle, and returning at night was easy by bus. We're not at all familiar with East Coast public transit (or bus systems actually), but we never had any problems-no matter how late we returned! We rented a car for a day, which we picked up right around the corner-using the hotel shuttle again (great drivers-very helpful & friendly, with lots of tips!)-and the parking at the hotel was great.
Conclusion: If you're on someone else's dime-maybe don't stay here.....If you're watching your OWN dimes, it's great, especially if that's your main concern. We liked it! We'll probably stay here again when the kid graduates!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience with us and with the Trip advisor communtiy. We are pleased to hear that your stay at t he LaGuardia Plaza hotel was a pleasant and comfortable one. We will be sure to let out entire staff of hospitality professionals know your thoughts and about your stay. Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel due to its proximity to the airport. We saw the wide disparity in rankings and decided to stay anyway. It was just for one night so we figured we would suck it up. It was not a good idea. The whole hallway outside our room stank of urine. The bed was hard as rock. There was excessive noise until well after midnight and you could hear everything in our neighboring rooms. Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your business and for you sharing your comments with our Trip Advisor community. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory and not considered a value, your comments will be very helpful as we work torward improving overall guest satisfaction. Thank you and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonawanda, new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel was okay. No real complaints. It was moderately clean; no outstanding filth. It is of course an airport hotel, and as such no frills. You get in, get out, don't expect too much and you won't be too disappointed. It is not near a subway line, so not an ideal jumping off point for visiting anything else. This is a busy NYC hotel. Don't compare this to a room in Ohio or anywhere else. NYC is definitely in a class by itself (in all possible manner!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your business and your comments. We are glad to hear that you found the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel to be of value and convenient for you during your stay in NY. We are so happy to hear your experience with us was a pleasant one. We always try to be as helpful as possible to all of our guests in order to make them feel welcomed and comfortable. Thank you again and travel safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York

Address: 104-04 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Crowne Plaza New York - LaGuardia Airport)
Location: United States > New York > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you have come to NY for Business or leisure you will be greeted with a warm welcome and our hospitality will exceed your expectations at the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel. We are located directly across from LaGuardia Airport and eight miles from JFK Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza East Elmhurst
Crowne Plaza New York
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.