We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, room had a strong cigarette smell...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York to your Saves list
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104-04 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Crowne Plaza New York - LaGuardia Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade To First Class
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice staff, room had a strong cigarette smell...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My parents stayed there last night,
Hotel staff was really nice and polite.
However, their room really smelled like cigarettes! Which was really annoying since they don't smoke and hate it. This is unfortunate but they definitively won't come back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your business and for your comments. You stated in your comments that our staff was nice and polite , we strive to meet our guest expectations. We do apologize on behalf of the cigarette smell in the guest room , we do charge a fee to all guest that smoke in a non smoking room to avoid these issues. Thank you for your input and hope you will stay with us next time your in the NYC area. Thank you again and safe travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    198
    135
    102
    85
See reviews for
162
133
92
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

have stayed on two separate occasions. got a great price through priceline.com. hotel staff always polite and helpful. Lorraine Melo has been at the desk both stays and she is very efficient and helpful. It is a blessing to have courteous people when staying away from home in a new city and she has always been very nice. I love the room size and especially the showers. The rooms are spacious with chair and desk with another chair (both are very comfy). Nice big bed that is very comfortable (not too firm and not too soft) and I am picky about smell but the rooms are always clean and fresh smelling. The linens are very fresh also. The shower has a nice showerhead that adjusts to different settings and there is a built in seat as part of the back wall. Very roomy shower... save water, shower together! :) Also, offered is complimentary shuttle to LGA and the 7 train. Great hotel, good location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that as per your review that you find our staff helpful.You also stated that our room size and our showers were a feature you loved, we are glad we met your expectations. We look forward to your future stays with us. Thank you and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here with work colleagues for a couple of nights. Found rooms to be clean and comfortable. If you want free parking - you have to find a spot on the street. Otherwise, the garage next to the hotel will cost. The shuttle is very convienent - it will take you to the #7 subway line. Unfortunately, the shuttle will not come pick you up - you need to take a bus back to the hotel (did not see any taxi's at the station). Had no problems. The food in both restaurants was pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was of value and convenient to your needs. Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was extremely impressed with this hotel during our recent stay to NYC. The hotel and the rooms were very clean. I felt safe while we were there. And the best part? It's one of the most affordable deals in NYC. The hotel shuttle made it very easy to get to NYC public transportation. The staff was very helpful, from the desk clerk to the gift shop lady, to the transportation valet. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that your stay at the Laguardia Plaza hotel was affordable , pleasant and a comfortable one. We will be sure to let our staff of hospitality professionals know that they met your expectations. We look forward to your future stays with us. Thank you and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very helpful staff, especially Carla and Carolyn. ........Clean and comfortable. I was told that some renovations are to begin soon. That will help with future ratings.........Good location. Parking is usually easy. There always is a street space available close to the main entrance and there is garage parking also available. The bar is large with big screen TVs. Food and drink prices not bad for NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that your stay at the Laguardia Plaza hotel was a pleasant and comfortable one. We will be sure to let our staff of hospitality professionals know that they met your expectations. The hotel will begin extensive renovations to update the hotel , restoring its grand appearance and bringing the hotels oversized rooms up to date with all new furnishings and amenities We look forward to your future stays with us. Thank you and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

For a hotel adjacent to a major airport, the prices and service were quite good. The staff, in the person of Carla (front desk) was very good. I used this hotel during an exhausting business trip, trying to sleep late in NYC after arriving very late from Italy. Room was clean, well maintained and equipped, and even smelled clean! Woken by power saw in hallway at 8:38 AM. A grumpy call to Carla was handled by her with grace and professionalism - and the saw stopped! Slept another hour and went to my business meeting with an expectation of using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Older hotel, clean but not shiny. Probably good to ask when the proposed room was refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you find our hotel of value and will be returning back to us when you are in the area. Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great location, loved the free shuttle. The rooms however, need major renovations. I felt like I was staying in a low budjet hotel when I saw the room. I was definitely not impressed. I can tell it USED to be a really nice hotel. There's no way that it can be compared to the Courtyard, Hampton or Holiday Inn today.

Room Tip: Not the worst I've seen but definitely not 3 star quality. They don't even have coffee in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie M, Manager at LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience and opinion with our TripAdvisor community. The convenience and value of the hotel are definitely on point; between the present time and the next several months , a clean , convenient , friendly and economical hotel is what you will find at the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel. Over the next several months the hotel will begin extensive renovations to update the hotel , restoring its grand appearance and bringing the hotels oversized rooms up to date with all new furnishings and amenities. Thank you again and safe travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Elmhurst
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport
0.7 mi away
Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport
0.1 mi away
New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott New York LaGuardia Airport
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn At LaGuardia Airport
Comfort Inn At LaGuardia Airport
#7 of 10 in East Elmhurst
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Flushing/LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York

Address: 104-04 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Crowne Plaza New York - LaGuardia Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you have come to NY for Business or leisure you will be greeted with a warm welcome and our hospitality will exceed your expectations at the LaGuardia Plaza Hotel. We are located directly across from LaGuardia Airport and eight miles from JFK Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza East Elmhurst
Crowne Plaza New York
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.