We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LaGuardia Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added LaGuardia Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaGuardia Airport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100-15 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Wyndham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in East Elmhurst
Guilderland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was in Rm 101 on June 23. It didnt have microwave oven. When I asked for it, they charged me $15. The room didnt have basic amenities you would find in all other hotels. Even bathroom was not clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    89
    70
    29
    54
See reviews for
61
70
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

If you want a nice modern hotel with all the bells and whistles, a gift shop, restaurant and hot water - fuhgeddaboudit! If you want a reasonably priced clean room with airport shuttle - you're good. The lady at the front desk said it is being bought so hopefully new owners will update needs new carpet , furnishings , a flat screen tv and a fridge/ microwave would be nice. Does have wifi+, continental breakfast but no restaurant for lunch or supper really good food truck out front and several delivery options. No gift shop so bring your own snacks and any items you may need you need to get while out ,staff helpful and friendly , probubly better for a short stay, otherwise be prepared to travel daily to "the city" and when you get back to the hotel every day make sure you have everything you need , as long as you know what to expect you will be fine it's a lot cheaper than staying in manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlerock
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is the worst hotel and staff ever! We booked two rooms. Each room for two adults and two children. We called 24 hours ahead to confirm our reservation for the 2 rooms with 2 beds each, to sleep 4, and for handicap accessible. The lobby and the halls had a very bad musty smell. We thought it would get better when we got in our rooms but no! The rooms smelled worse and the carpets are stained and dirty! But what shocked us most,was that the rooms had only one bed! We called to the staff and they were very rude! Told us, that was all they had available, nothing else. I proceeded to ask for cots, pull outs, mattress, blankets or anything to help accommodate us. But the person on the phone told me they don't have any and to sleep on the floor! What? We have children! We have been on the plane for more than 5 hours, our flight came in at 11 pm. By the time we checked into our room it was after midnight. The children were so tired. We had no idea where to go or find another hotel at this time of the night. My father in law is handicapped and in a wheelchair. The room was very tight, smelly and not handicapped accessible. I then asked for blankets and pillows for the floor and this man brought us one blanket that was damp and 1 pillow! I ask for more and he said that was all he can give. I was so mad I called the hotel reservation center to request for transfer and received the same answer. They have no rooms with double beds and no cots! Unfortunately I had booked the hotel for 4 nights! I let my children sleep on the bed and my father in law and mother in law slept on the bed in the other room. That night my husband and I slept on the floor with the damp blanket sharing the one pillow! The odor was so bad. We did not even open up our luggage for fear of bugs and mites! The worst night ever and we were paying for this! As soon as morning came we got up and got ready to check out! I was told that they provided a free continental breakfast so I called my mother n law in the other room to go downstairs and get breakfast for her and my father in law because they are diabetic. When she got there one of the staff told her the food was not free! He told her "go buy your food somewhere else if you are hungry!" What? Did he think she was a homeless or something! My goodness this is a sweet senior citizen trying to get her breakfast! She came up to my room and told me that breakfast had to be paid for. I called down and the front desk told me we have free breakfast til 10! What? I was so upset! When we attempted to check out, the woman at the front desk was very rude and refused to check us out because she said we had booked our rooms for 4 nights and therefore cannot do it! My husband ended up being on the phone for over an hour with the travel booking company to get it cleared! We finally checked out and was re-booked into another hotel! It was a nightmare! I never had anything like this happen to me before and I never want to write such a disappointing review BUT this is a warning to families and vacationers! Do not go to this hotel! They are rude! The hotel is not accommodating! We had to sleep on floors on damp blanket. They never once apologize for the inconvenience or tried to accommodate us in any other way! They even tried to deny us the free breakfast! Never again! RUDE RUDE RUDE!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Bad service for the money I spent. Lesson #1 - Don't book ONE hotel for your entire trip. Front desk staff were very unprofessional and LAZY. They don't answer when you greet them. What kind of service is that? All the staff had sour faces 24/7.

Room Tip: Do not waste your money on this hotel. Extra $15 for a microwave. There's no microwave in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After we checked in and entered the elevator to go to our room, I couldn't help but ask myself ..what is that smell? I calmed myself down thinking that at least the room would be better. But I was wrong. The room smelled all the more weird. I cannot put the finger on what it was, but it smelled something moldy, old or any other synonym you would like to use.

I felt awful to walk barefoot on the carpet because it looked too old and stained. The layout of the room was weird, and their furniture and appliances are crying for an update.

The bathroom is a whole different story. I am not 6 feet tall, but I am not 5 feet either. I had to bend to wash my face.

The breakfast area was open and nice. Their service however, was not. The guy who seated us, was rude. I heard one lady ask for some sweetener and he sounded like he was yelling at her. Not polite at all. Unless you are flying out of the airport the next day, this is not the hotel you want to stay to go around NYC.

Also when we arrived, we were calling for the shuttle service which never came. The result? One angry cab driver who almost insulted us for making him drive such short distance from LGA to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

On the Monday before our trip I booked 3 rooms, since I was traveling with my husband, 3 daughters, son-in-law and 3 grandchildren. The person I spoke to said the shuttle ran 24/7. She emailed me the confirmations which I printed out and took with when we flew in Thursday night. When we got to LaGuardia I called for the shuttle. They said it would be there in 5-10 minutes. After 20 minutes we finally saw it but the driver didn't want to take us, saying he never got a call and this was the last run for the night. We finally convinced him to take us, but when we got there they couldn't find our reservations, even with the printed confirmations. They finally found one, and after a while, two, but said there wasn't a third room-except smoking. We packed into 2 rooms and my son-in-law had to go to the basement to get the cots and cribs himself. In short, it was a disaster and they didn't even apologize.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Hotel Laguardia has clearly seen better days.
The pictures in the booking page are accurate, but don’t really show the wear and tear in the rooms. The staff is clearly overwhelmed… every time I went to the reception, there was a line of people waiting to be serviced… the Air conditioning in the room was noisy and the knob was broken, so I couldn’t turn it off… The common areas (Elevators, hallways, etc…) need a touch up, and the complimentary breakfast choice is quite poor.
When you add the price of Parking, etc… this is by no means a good value, even in the New York Area, you can get a lot more for your money.…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LaGuardia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGuardia Airport Hotel

Address: 100-15 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Wyndham)
Location: United States > New York > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — LaGuardia Airport Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your LaGuardia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguardia Airport
Laguardia Airport East Elmhurst
LaGuardia Airport Hotel New York/East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaGuardia Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.