We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel makes plenty of sense for NYC visit .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LaGuardia Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added LaGuardia Airport Hotel to your Saves list
LaGuardia Airport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100-15 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Wyndham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
ft laud , Fl
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This hotel makes plenty of sense for NYC visit .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you are looking for a inexpensive , clean and convenient hotel while visiting NYC , this is the one, and for a decent room with twin queen beds and a satisfying breakfast ,a short safe walk across a pedestrian walk bridge from LaGuardia or a hop on their many hotel shuffles . According to the staff the hotel was sold and the staff has no idea if they have a job in 30 days with the new owners and that may be why all the long faces with most of the staff . We were looking to spend our hard earned after tax dollars on shows, plays, sights, fine food and plenty of shopping . The last thing we wanted was to pay $ 500 to $ 2000 a night to stay in old hotels downtown with a fancy entrance and 50 year old beds. Each morning we awoke, had a very delicious continental breakfast and then headed across the walkway . We bought 1 week combo bus/subway passes for $ 30 each inside the airport and then grabbed the M60 bus directly in front of the airport and in less than 6 minutes we were at the Astoria Blvd- 30 St subway station . The N or Q line takes you through all stops like Canal street for great purses/watches/food, Little Italy, Soho, Greenich Village, Macy's , Empire state bldg., Statue of Liberty, World Trade center, Times Square, or Central Park. With those special passes if you get off at the wrong stop you can simply get back on with your pass rather than paying $ 2.50 for each and every ride. For example , we took the N subway all the way to Canal and then transferred to the R which took us to the Staten Island Ferry and a totally FREE cruise back and forth and stunning picture taking views of the lady Liberty statue for FREE . Be sure to walk Times Square at night with 100s of 1000s of people from all over the World. New York Pizza is the BEST ! Once again this is probably your last chance for a great NYC hotel for $ 119 . Once the new owners paint it and install new carpet you can expect to pay $ 299 a night for this convenience . HAVE A WONDERFUL TRIP TO NYC !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    81
    62
    29
    53
See reviews for
61
72
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

First be prepared for the 50.00 per night stay deposit added. I wasn't prepared for that. The rooms were clean and nice. Hotel is old looking and run down from the outside. But it's ok on the inside. Typical continental breakfast offered. The guy driving the shuttle is very nice and helpful. The ladies behind the counter aren't so! Depends on who is working what I guess. For u to catch the train u gotta walk to a bus and then they take u to station or u can go back to airport and then jump on a bus and then go to train station if u feeling lazy. It's about a 45 min commute to the city by bus and train. U cannot walk from train to hotel unless u like to walk long distances. I will stay here again only if I am taking an early flight out but not to sight see. Too much commuting!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel offers outstanding value if staying near the airport and saving some money are your goals. A big plus is that you can walk to it from the airport. We had backpacks, but I would walk again if I had a roller bag - even a big one. The tricky part is getting across the highway. Look for the bridge that crosses between the Marriot and the LaGuardia Hotel, both of which can be seen from the Delta terminal we landed at (Was it C? D?). The bridge has a sidewalk and almost no traffic. The walk took maybe 10 minutes, not more. Late night arrivers take note: the bar at the Marriot serves a selection of sandwiches and entres until 1pm. (The LaGuardia kitchen was closed when we arrived at about 10 pm.) One can walk to the Marriot from the LaGuardia in about 5 minutes, also on a sidewalk.
The king room we stayed in has a non-traditional layout, but it worked remarkabley well, shielding us from hall noise if there was any and offering plenty of space. The halls indeed are very ugly and ulititarian as noted previously. But the lobby and breakfast room have character, are appealing, and are well represented in the professional photos. It's a great choice for those looking for high value near the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Buyer beware! Hotel does not answer phone late at night. Called for airport shuttle for 5 minutes, no answer. Called operator for 5 minutes no answer. Forced to take cab to hotel., which they would not reimburse me for. Hotel is clean, old air-conditioner/heating system. Worn carpet. Employee attitude is horrible, must not be paid well. During breakfast, the breakfast male server was barking orders at customers like he was a drill sergeant.
Checked out 5/3/13 (Friday), asked to speak to manager. Front desk clerk said she would be in Tuesday. No manager?
Would NOT use again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just spent two nights there and I quite enjoyed my stay! Great breakfast and convenient shuttle to airport. Price is cheap and staff treated me very well. Lakesha, Michael, Janelle, Kevin, Broulay, Carmen and Shalese Thank You for making my stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night before our cruise from Manhattan the next day. Shuttle was great- very prompt pick up from terminal. Check in was no so great. Made my reservation 4 months in advance for a king bed. Gave the gal at the desk (no name tag) my name and credit card. She gave me my room key- room 424. Went up the extremely small elevator and walked down the barren white walls to our room. Opened the door and there were 2 double beds! Went back downstairs. The gal tells us that she is very sorry but they are all out of king rooms (on a Monday night in April). I asked why she did not tell us when she gave us the keys and save us a trip. All she could say what that this was all they had available.
Restaurant is only open for lunch. Breakfast is continental style with nothing hot at all. We asked the attendant where the coffee was, he smirked back to us "Did you not see it on the table when you sat down?" The coffee is in individual caraffe's on every table, but he did not need to be rude. Did not visit the bar as it closed at 10pm and we came in late. We ordered pizza from Giannis and it was delicious!!!
Took the shuttle back to LGA in the AM and took a taxi to the port from there as it was cheaper than the towncar they quoted us at. (Be warned- NYC towncars do not have the same regulations as taxis. They can charge per person, not per trip).
We stayed on the airport side and had no problems with outside noise. The hotel was also very quiet. The carpet is in serious need of a good stretch and the TV only gets 17 channels. 4 of them are not in english. WiFi was actually pretty decent.
When checking in the invoice says to let the front desk know if you do not want a new york times and they will subtract .50. Told the gal in the morning checking out and she looked at me like I was crazy and said the paper is in the basket across the lobby and is included in the rate.
I just really dont think the employees, managers, owners care about the place. They wave everything off and are just plain average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull Shoals, Arkansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Not great, but I was expecting more. The hotel is getting a little worn and would guess a closure was around the corner. The room was clean enough, although a little noisy. Its not the planes, its the freeway. Try to get a room not facing the freeway if you are a light sleeper.
The hotel advert is a little misleading regarding the resturant if you read quickly. The resturant serves a cold breakfast only and thats it. If you want food its the local chineese or Italian delivery. It does have a small bar with limited choices of wine and a high charge. Example: Cheap red wine $8.50 a glass and a little more for whisky & soda around $9.50. The bar maid is quite entertaining, so made up for it a bit. The airport shuttle is decent and the airport is close enough to walk to if you wish (or miss the bus), its just over the bridge and takes around 7 minutes at normal pace.
If you can get a decent rate here, you could do worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Elmhurst
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport
0.3 mi away
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
#3 of 10 in East Elmhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn At LaGuardia Airport
Comfort Inn At LaGuardia Airport
#7 of 10 in East Elmhurst
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott New York LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaGuardia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGuardia Airport Hotel

Address: 100-15 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369 (Formerly Wyndham)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — LaGuardia Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your LaGuardia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguardia Airport
Laguardia Airport East Elmhurst
LaGuardia Airport Hotel New York/East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaGuardia Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.