We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuttle Issues Aside, Recommended Airport Hotel at LGA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   102-40 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Member Savings
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Shuttle Issues Aside, Recommended Airport Hotel at LGA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

First, there are shuttle issues at this hotel. Call the hotel as soon as your flight lands and request a shuttle pick-up. My experience was it took about an hour to arrive from the time of my call. Shuttle service TO the airport from the hotel is much more predictable and runs every 20 minutes. There is also shuttle service to the Line 7 Subway station every hour during many (but not all) hours of the day, which departs on the hour. There is no shuttle service FROM the Subway station to the hotel, but many city buses stop in front of the hotel. My room was clean, modern and quiet. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower with lots of hot water and good pressure, but there was no bathtub. A single cup coffee maker is provided but there is no fridge in the room. Coffee and tea service is provided 24/7 in the Lobby and there is free continental breakfast for all guests. My room was located at the end of the hall and had a poor w-fi signal, but the in-room wired internet connection was fine. There are not many places to eat in the area, but local Chinese food delivery was extremely fast and reasonably priced. The gym was acceptable for basic exercise, with treadmills, bikes and elipitical trainers, yoga mats, weighted balls, an adjustable weight bench, dumbbells up to 50 lbs., bottled water and towels. Except for an underinflated exercise ball, the Precor branded equipment was well maintained. If you are so unfortunate as to have to stay at LGA during a trip to New York, this hotel is recommended as a reasonable place to stay particularly when the $69/night rate paid on Hotwire is considered.

Room Tip: My last room on teh end of the hall was very quiet but a long walk to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear FitDude,
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the area. I also thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with out TripAdvisor community. I am sorry to see that you had to wait a little longer than usual for the shuttle to arrive at the airport. In addition, i thank you for highlighting the wonderful things you experienced, "comfortable bedding, complimentary breakfast and glad to see you used and enjoying the experience room". We do provide refrigerators upon request at no cost. Next time you stay with us, please inform the front desk and if one is available we will happily bring it to your room.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    199
    59
    25
    12
See reviews for
160
107
41
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Convenience, convenience, convenience!!!! This hotel is close to LGA airport with free shuttle available to and from the airport, although a shuttle is not needed if you don't mind a little walking. Less then a 10 minute walk to the airport from the hotel with easy access. There is also a shuttle to the subway line 7 into Manhattan every day on the top of the hour. Public transportation is also available for late night returns to the hotel.

The hotel also has a full free buffet style breakfast every morning. There is a business center with internet access in the lower level of the hotel. Also free wi-fi in the lobby of the hotel but no wi fi in the rooms. A hard line is available in each of the rooms.

No pool or spa in the hotel. Nearest restaurant is in the hotel next to the Hampton.

Overall I give the hotel a 8 out of 10

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Tony V,
Thank you for your review. "Convenience" is what you characterize as one of the many values the hotel offers. We are in fact very close to LGA airport as you state and accessible to the City. I am happy to see you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to greeting you soon again. Travel Safe!

Thank you,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have consistently found Hampton Inn hotels to provide a clean comfortable option for a reasonable price and the LaGuardia Airport location is no exception. We called to make the reservation (because other locations in the area that showed up on the internet search only would give 7 days or less of included parking.) This turned out to be a great decision. We have stayed at other locations near this airport and they were not as nice and only slightly less expensive.
The math is this: even with a coupon, parking off site is about $20/day plus taxes. So 8 days comes to $160 plus taxes. The hotel, including all taxes and parking for up to 10 days came to $270. So we paid less than $100 premium to stay the night. But given the stress of getting to the airport from Connecticut for an early morning flight, this is well worth it.

oh yeah, there is a very nice breakfast, included (and they had take out bags for the very early monring departures).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Louis F,
Thank you for recognizing our hotel as being comfortable and clean, we try hard every day to offer and maintain a great value at reasonably and competitively rates. Our staff d is our pride at The Hampton Inn LGA. They are the BEST. We will be delighted to see you again when visiting the area or for another early morning flight. No matter what the occasion, we will be here welcoming you again. Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

Sincerley,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Over priced for a two star limited service hotel. They seem to have forgotten that Hampton was a moderately priced concept. Over all the common areas look like they are about 18 m onths over due for an update or re do. Wallpaper loose at the edges . High occupancy. Looks liek a horse that was ridden hard and put away wet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear ABC100000,
Thank you for your review. I am really sad to see that your experience wasn't what we aim and doesn't reflect the hard work we put every day in trying to accommodate our guests by providing great service and a comfortable environment. I will take your comment to the appropriate department and have them look into the issue. Should you need to discuss this further please feel free and contact me directly. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is very convenient and accessible. We have stayed here several times when visiting this area. We hope to continue to do so. The staff is friendly, we can look forward to a variety of food at breakfast, and the fitness center provides some basic equipment for a complete full-body workout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take pride in every thing we do at the Hampton Inn LaGuardia and are happy to see that our hard works pays off in making happy guest and in turn they share with our future guests their wonderful experiences and reviews. We look forward to your return at the Hampton Inn LGA.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The room was clean but the bed and the pillows were very very uncomfortable. The breakfast selection was good. It is very close to manhattan but they charge for parking lot which is non-sense. Instead you can park on the street .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnorrisNYCLA, General Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing this quick feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear our location was convenient for your activities in Manhattan and apologize you were uncomfortable in our bedding. We will keep this in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction and hope you will return to stay with us again the next time you visit the city.

Thank you,

Jim Norris
General Manager
Hampton Inn LGA
jim.norris@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed for a two-night weekend stay, and was pleasantly surprised with how convenient this hotel was.

The bed was quite comfy, the shower and bathroom were nice, the tv was quite good, and the room was generally well-appointed for one of its class. My only complaint would be the room temperature. Despite keeping the thermostat set as low as it would go, we couldn't seem to get the room temperature below 75 degrees, which got a bit annoying at times.

I'm used to staying in the city during my New York trips, so this was my first time staying outside Manhattan... And I must say, I was quite pleased! It was no more than a 30-minute drive from any part of Brooklyn and Manhattan, so its convenience was key, while While this property certainly isn't breathtaking, it's what you'd expect to find in its price range. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Peter F,
Thank you for noticing what we try to accomplish every day. Our dedicated team go above and beyond in satisfying our guests needs.
Our location and proximity to the City and to the airport makes us the perfect hotel to stay. With our complimentary breakfast every morning make sure you start your day energized and ready to venture the City. Our shuttle will happily drop you off to the train station where you are able to take the subway to Manhattan. Hope to see you soon again.

Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport

Address: 102-40 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New York Laguardia Airport Hotel East Elmhurst
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.