We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible shuttle service from the airport.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   102-40 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Airport Parking Included
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible shuttle service from the airport.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I waited 45 minutes in freezing cold for a shuttle that never came. On my 3rd call to the hotel the lady who answered the phone told me because I'm waiting at Terminsl B in front of the Spirit Airlines sign, I really needed to go upstairs to the departure level, for their shuttle only picks up at that level. Even though that is odd-- I saw shuttles from at least 4 other hotels at the arrival level -- it would be fine if they had told me that when I first called, but not on my 3rd call 45 minutes later! I finally took a taxi, and it was only a 5-min ride. What's worse was the lady made it sound like it was my fault as according to her the driver has gone by twice without finding me. I can see it's probably not the driver's fault, but someone in the management needs to straighten this mess out.

The hotel is fine otherwise, nothing fancy but adequate, especially with the rate I got on Hotwire.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear LoneWayfarer2013,
First i would like to THANK YOU for your review and for pointing out what seems to be a very frustrating issue in regards to the service you experienced with our shuttle form the airport. Please allow me to apologize on behalf of our staff for not being able to relate the right message and the pick up place to you. We are looking into this issue and we will take actions in making sure this does not happen again. I have notified the appropriate department as we look into this for you.
Our hotel and the proximity toe LGA airport makes us a great hotel to stay at while visiting the area. Feel free to contact me directly if you need further assistance. We appreciate your feedback and we do hope that you will give us another chance as we try to make this right.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    221
    69
    28
    14
See reviews for
173
121
42
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had an early morning flight so i needed to stay close to the airport. This was one of the nicer airport hotels i have been. Check in was a breeze. Parking was $15. per night (reasonable). The rooms were comfortable and fresh. Told the hotel that i enjoyed and they said, why not write a review!!! Would stay again.

Room Tip: How do you give a room tip unless you stay in more then one room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear skygirl321,
Thank you for a very nice review. WE are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn LaGuardia. I would also like to particularly thank you for recognizing our hotel as being one of the nicer airport hotels that you have been. This is great news for us and it only motivates us to do even better. See you soon and travel safe!!!

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night but was pleased with the room and the shuttle service to the airport. I actually dropped my car off at National which is on the same street as the hotell and walked the block to get there. The room seemed a little darker than I would like and there isn't much close by to explore.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear SharksPep,
Thank you for your nice review. Being at a such close proximity to the airport makes a great location to stay while in and out from LaGuardia airport, however we do offer a shuttle service to the train station as well, where you can take the subway for a short ride and find yourself in the city with a plethora of great things to do. We will be happy to take you to the train next time you stay with us.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hitlon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel staff were friendly and the security guard in the lobby at night seemed dutiful, but the hotel and experience was disappointing. My husband and I were in New York City for 1 night and stayed here because it is close to LaGuardia Airport. The walls in the room were paper-thin and we could hear all of our neighbors' conversations (which were a normal volume level)...in fact I woke up several times in the middle of the night because of hearing 3 or 4 neighbors snoring so loudly.

The pool is not in the building...it is at a neighboring hotel and the breakfast staff were not very friendly and I found a hair in my eggs. The fire alarm went off as well while we were there (there was no fire). We won't be going back to this one.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor near the end of the hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Vlajadoradelmundo,
THank you for staying with us. I understand the importance of being able to have a good nights sleep. I am sorry to hear about the "noises" you were able to hear from the next room. Please feel free to reach out to me should you decide to discuss further.
Our sister property has an indoor pool which is connected to our hotel and our guests are welcomed to utilize. In addition, i am sorry your experience at our breakfast buffet was less than pleasing. Please accept my apologies, as we are communicating your feedback to the appropriate departments and looking into your concerns.
Thank you,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The shuttle from LaGuardia airport was prompt, the check-in was fast by a friendly person after a short drive from the airport, and the room was clean and nice. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room, but I don't use them anyway. There was a coffee maker and hair drier in the bathroom. In the closet was an iron and ironing board. The bed was comfortable and the room on the fourth floor was quiet . The 42 inch LCD TV had a good selection of channels and the bath had a large shower and nice lotions, etc. The breakfast was OK. I purchased the room on Hotwire for a very competive price for New York. I plan to stay there the next time I travel to LaGuardia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear KJ40,
I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We have a dedicated team that puts our guest's needs at top priority. I am very happy to see that you had a very nice experience at the hotel. There aren't refrigerator and microwaves in all our rooms, however we do have them available and can bring them up to the rooms if you request them. They are available upon request. We are looking forward to your return and having the opportunity to serve you once again.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I came here for an acting audition and I chose to stay here for an overnight stay. Our rooom was great (just needed to be only a little bit more updated) but it was great. But isnt it a little dissapointing that they have to share a pool with the hotel nextdoor... The breakfast lady who seated us was texting her friends while walking us.... no one helped us with our luggage either! Everything else was clean and a great sleep. Come only for a overnight stay.

Room Tip: Stay only overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnorrisNYCLA, General Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear of the poor service you experienced at breakfast and we will use your feedback as part of our ongoing service training. We strive to make every guest feel valued and comfortable and we hope you will give us another opportunity to do so the next time you visit the city.

Sincerely,

Jim Norris
General Manager
Hampton Inn LGA
jim.norris@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel staff was very helpful, but the hotel itself was a disappointment. The room itself was clean and of good size, but we encountered several problems: One evening hot water ran out (manager said parts were unavailable over Presidents Day weekend). Heater/AC was so noisy we had to turn it off, and the desk chair was worn and unadjustable. Hard to believe the facility is only 3 years old.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Gary G,
Thank you for your honest feedback, as it helps us take corrective actions and improve areas that need attention. Our staff truthfully is the pride of our hotel and we are fortunate to have them. Our building is in fact 3 years old, pretty new and i am surprised to see of the "defect" on the furniture. We are looking into fixing it and replacing whats needed.
We value your kind feedback. If i can further assist with this or future reservations, do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport

Address: 102-40 Ditmars Boulevard, East Elmhurst, NY 11369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New York Laguardia Airport Hotel East Elmhurst
Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport East Elmhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn New York LaGuardia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.