We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Vaccinated Before Your Visit!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blackthorne Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackthorne Resort
348 Sunside Road, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in East Durham
Farmingdale, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get Vaccinated Before Your Visit!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The only positive about this so called 'RESORT', was we did not have to stay in one of their rooms. We provided our own accomodations by bringing along our Travel Trailer. Which is always clean. They do have a campground on the property. However, the trainsient sites are very limited.

I cannot speak for the cleanliness of rooms, however, I can speak volumes about the facilities and amenities.The pool, forget about it. As described in other reviews, dirty and stained water. Their Tiki Bar did not have any mixes for any tropical or theme drinks. Go figure, it was only Memorial Weekend! We lost power twice and lost water three time in 4 days. And not only in the campground, the entire resort. There well ran dry and needed to be shut offfor 3 hours to replenish. Not so bad for me paying $60 a night but an inconvenience. Had I been paying $1,000 for the weekend, I would be mad! We stayed past Monday to avoid the Memorial Traffic. The majority of the campers left on Monday and dumoed there sewer tanks into the sewer inlet on their sites. The entire sewer system for the campground backed up because it could not handle the volume. I will not described what came of that!

For all of the beautiful property they have, they do not see fit to have any organized recreation for the kids. The playground is vintage at best, and rusting away. And did I mention the pool? This once was a thriving resort long ago. It has been some time since I was last there before this trip. And I was shocked at the state of the property and the lack of organization and logistics.

We only had one meal there and it was not bad. The bar area and nightlife is probably what saves this place. After the recent fire, the main building that was rebuilt is very nice. They also book very good Irish Bands. Which is why we go there.

It is a shame because I have been going to Blackthorne since I was a 4 years old and always had a great time. Again it has been a while since I have been there. It seems as if the owner has set his sites on other areas of the property, and letting things like updating infrastructure, recreation, and maintaining and upgrading the property fall apart.

If you plan to camp there, which I do not recommend, it is first come first serve. You cannot make a reservation. And there are only about 15 to 20 sites with water, electric and sewer. The majority of the campground is seasonal campers. So if you planning a weekend camping trip there, get there early on Friday or even Thursday. If it is a holiday weekend, than Thursday.

I truly do not like writing negative reviews. However, I do not have anything positive to say about this place unfortunately. I hope the ownership uses these reviews, which are all basically the same, constructively. And they make the necessary changes to make this place great again. It truly was a shame to see what the Blackthorne has become.

Our date of stay was Memorial Weekend 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    6
    12
    20
See reviews for
21
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed at the Blackthorne over the Memorial Day Weekend. Rooms were musty to the extreme. TV's had poor reception. There was zero to do there for the kids. It rained the entire weekend, and there's absolutely NOTHING for children to do indoors, especially when the television is on the fritz, and there's no WIFI.
The meals were mediocre. The young man manning the pasta station continuously brushed all the crumbs and dirt off his apron while standing above the cooking pasta, making sure 100% of the grime ended up within your meal. Disgusting in every way.
Do yourself a favor. Opt for anywhere else. Try Gavins.
On the upside, the staff was always extremely friendly, even when cleaning their attire while preparing your meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is so run down that it appears unsafe. Many dirty, rusty surfaces particularly noticeable in playground area and around pool. Buildings in desperate need of repairs and paint. Broken glass and caps from beer bottles randomly litter the grounds. It is sad, this place was probably charming decades ago.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is so run down that it appears unsafe. Many dirty, rusty surfaces particularly noticeable in playground area and around pool. Buildings in desperate need of repairs and paint. Broken glass and caps from beer bottles randomly litter the grounds. It is sad, this place was probably charming decades ago.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This trip was amazing. So much to do. Animal shows on Mon, Tue. an AMAZING!!!!! fireworks show, Wed. A magic show. And then Thur -Sat bands in the bar with no cover charge. This was a hopping place. Great staff and so much to do. There is a bar next too the pool that makes awesome frozen "adult beverages" while you watch your kids swim and play in the park. I would for sure go back.

Room Tip: There Tarra hall and Rose garden rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Dirty!!! You could get ill if you swam in the pool scum ring and bugs. Was there for a week never saw anyone clean or put chemicals in the pool. Phone did not work. Staff clueless about anything going on at the place. My kids kissed the floor when we got home thanking god they could sleep in their own bed and not worry about getting sick from the filth of the rooms . Not one thing to entertain the kids unless you include a local guy with half his finger missing showing his collection of snakes and telling the kids that everything they see on TV will melt their brains and insulting the cops and fireman about how they handle a call with snakes involved. Oh and when we first got there was told that we got the good room. It was our joke the whole week because if they were the good rooms would love to see the bad ones.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rooms were musty and smelly. Dinners was terrible - overcooked and salty. We went for a family reunion, paid a huge price for almost no entertainment, rowdy crowds and terrible rooms.

Staff were fairly nice but had no idea of anything happening at the resort.

Breakfasts were good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackthorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackthorne Resort

Address: 348 Sunside Road, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > East Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in East Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are just here to relax or out for fun. Blackthorne has all there is to offer. Enjoy everything from Lodging, Dining, Dancing, Top Notch Entertainment to Indoor and Outdoor Recreation. We have it all!Nestled amidst the breathtaking beautyof the Northern Catskills Mountains, The Blackthorne Resort offers all the comfort and luxury you desire.Terrace views to the majestic mountains, air conditioning, heat, television, and privatebaths. Ultra Deluxe rooms with queen sizebeds, refrigerator, and Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackthorne Hotel East Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackthorne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blackthorne Resort to your Saves list