We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant brunch in Stickley-esque surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roycroft Inn

Roycroft Inn
40 S. Grove St, East Aurora, NY 14052-2393
716-652-5552
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roycroft Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in East Aurora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: village
New Jersey
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Elegant brunch in Stickley-esque surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Sunday brunch at the Roycroft Inn is lovely. The surroundings are Arts and Crafts heaven, with quarter-sawn oak everywhere. There was a string quartet playing beautiful music, and warm, friendly servers attending to our needs. The buffet included a breakfast cocktail (Bloody Mary, Mimosa, or Poinsettia). The offerings included smoked salmon and the trimmings, a Caesar salad bar, an interesting table of assorted pickled veggies (the pickled cauliflower was awesome), an absolutely wonderful soup (roasted yellow pepper bisque), omelette station, jerk chicken, meatballs, mashed potatoes, scrambled eggs, French toast, waffles with fresh fruit toppings, breads and pastries, and assorted cakes, pies, cookies and fresh fruit for dessert. A wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion. Dress is neat-casual.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    32
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wilmette
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Side Trip For People Visiting Niagara Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant offers high quality American style food in a charming historic space. It's about a 30 minutes drive from the Buffalo airport and a lovely way to spend a half day after a trip to the Falls. Remember to make reservations. The service is courteous and the prices very reasonable. I would also recommend this restaurant for a bridal shower.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Great Old World Expereience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here recently and wrote a review of the inn, touching on the restaurant, I loved "dining on the big verandah, the wood burning fireplace in the DR, and the live quartet over sumptuous Sunday brunch. I find the meals in the USA are always very large portions and since you can't take a doggy bag on vacation, I'd split one of these big meals with your partner and have a starter salad and a dessert. The peach crème brule was yummy, and big!"

The menu was varied and interesting, and I had the steak topped with onion rings and it was delicious. I also has the petite Caesar salad which was just the right size. While this is a beautiful, delightful and quiet place, just a couple of quibbles. I would ask to be seated closer to the end of the verandah. The many staff hurrying by on the old wood floor felt a bit like elephants stomping by, and with the water station right behind my head, didn't feel quite as relaxed as I normally would. Granted there was a wedding, they were overly crowded, and we were glad to even get a reservation. Also, the warm loaf of bread was delicious but I found the butter a bit odd. I'm used to a thicker, more solid form of butter in smaller quantities. This was a huge tub of a really, really soft yellow spread that seemed like it was blended with something else. It tasted "okay" but wondering if Americans are generally more this to this type of butter? I expected the butter to be a bit more upscale for this type of restaurant.

All said, I'd return in an instant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The setting alone is worth the dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Roycroft has been around for over a century and was the home campus of many great, free thinkers, artists, artisans, and architects, the most prominent among them being Elbert Hubbard; a gent who tragically lost his life on the sinking Lusitania.

The campus is a stroll into the past, with most of the campus lovingly restored and maintained, including a restaurant and a lovely gift shop.

Although I have frequented the Roycroft since my teen years, it was as ever a pleasure to invite my favorite aunt and uncle to a Saturday brunch on the shaded terrace.

The fare was simple, fresh, and utterly delicious. But it was the setting and the company that made it memorable. If you want to commemorate a special event, or enjoy the company of special friends or family, you won't do much better than this historic and wonderful place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towamencin Township
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the guest house and not the main inn. The rooms here are smaller but very comfortable.
When we travel, I always say "I'm not planning on living in the room" so it's size was not a drawback.
Staff super friendly and the restaurant-lounge was very good too.
Super sized porches are always good too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roycroft Inn also viewed

 
East Aurora, NY
 

Been to Roycroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roycroft Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.