We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy oasis on a rainy day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Moose Station

Big Moose Station
2138 Big Moose Road, Eagle Bay, NY 13331
315-357-3525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Eagle Bay
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cozy oasis on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stopped in for lunch while staying at Big Moose Lake. It was a rainy day, but the big picture windows lining the additional dining section gave us a nice view of the outdoors. Big Moose Station was where the vacationers arrived for their Great Camp vacations on Big Moose Lake. A carriage, and later cars/buses, transported the travelers from the station to their lodgings. We enjoyed seeing this bit of history and enjoying tasty sandwiches. My tuna melt was delicious and my husband's hamburger was thick and juicy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Truly Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Four adults and one child had an excellent dinner last Saturday night. All the adults ordered Prime Rib,( certified Black Angus) King and Queen cuts which were perfectly cooked as ordered rare and medium rare. They were almost fork tender and very tasty accompanied by a house salad, warm bread and our choice of starch which included mashed potato, potato cheese casserole french fries or rice. The child's menu was varied and the choice of a grilled cheese sandwich on thick white bread was happily enjoyed. All four of us agreed this was one of the best Prime Rib dinners we have had in a long time. The rest of the menu and the nightly specials including Roast Pork, Rack of Lamb, several seafood choices and so much more will have us back often this summer. The building is a restored train station with seating inside or on the enclosed porch and lots of railroad memorabilia to enjoy. Pat was our delightful server.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A jewel in the deep woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We used a restaurant.com certificate and had two great seafood dinners. My wife had the scallops and pasta in a white wine reduction that she said was the best she ever had. I had the broiled seafood platter. The food was very fresh, and well prepared. The restaurant is in an old train station which adds a bit of romance to the atmosphere, a very nice spot.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Train and Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Wife and I ended up finding out there was a train ride up to Big Moose that offered up a brunch. We hadn't done very many touristy things in years past so we thought why not.

After a very beautiful train ride through the woods, and past places we never knew even existed, we ended up at Big Moose Station.

The brunch was very tasty, and the staff very friendly. There also was a lot of history in that little tiny place as well. Not just history about Big Moose, but the Adirondacks as a whole.

We will definitely want to try this place again for dinner sometime.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We rode by this place many times on our snowmobiles and we finally stopped for lunch yesterday. We were so glad we did. We were the only ones there and we ate at the bar. Great food and great service. We decided it was the best salad and best burger of the week. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Moose Station also viewed

 

Been to Big Moose Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Moose Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.