We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Dine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Moose Inn and Restaurant

Big Moose Inn and Restaurant
1510 Big Moose Road, Eagle Bay, NY 13331
+1 315-357-2042
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Eagle Bay
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Big Moose Inn is located on picturesque Big Moose Lake in the central Adirondacks. This peaceful and relaxing setting is a perfect summer getaway. The Adirondack Mountains surrounding the Big Moose Inn offer great summer fun. After a day of hiking, canoeing, biking, kayaking or sightseeing, kick off your boots and sit by the Big Moose Inn fireplace and enjoy the ambiance, the food, the ale and our Adirondack lake country inn. Belly up to the bar and share your adventures with the rest of the travelers, or join us in our dining room for a fine dining experience, prepared by our Executive Chef Dave Thompson. As an overnight guest of the Inn some of your amenities include: complimentary continental breakfast, use of our canoes and kayaks, and free wireless internet access.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Place to Dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Good eats and food. Can not go wrong by dining at their restaurant. The food selection is quiet tasteful. Their menu can accommodate all sorts of food lovers. Highly recommend to eat there but be aware you do require a reservation because they are always full.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Actually visited twice in one week!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food was very good and the atmosphere feels homey and comfortable. Just love the rocking chairs on the porch for a drink overlooking the lake!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inlet, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine Dining with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The big Moose restaurant has found its stride. We have had two dinners this season, and each was a treat. The chef is outstanding and can go plain or fancy. He has a sure hand with sauces and grills to order. The servers are knowledgable, friendly and dedicated to ensuring you have a good experience. And the view of Big Moose lake is a delicious icing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food with a fabulous atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We thouroughly enjoyed our dinner on the porch! Everyone in our party of 10 was truly satisfied. We raved about the food and gave compliments to the chef. The stuffed haddock, filet minion, and Big moose burgers wre top notch! This was definitely one of the best meals we've had....even the pickiest eater in our group, my 11 year old son said, "This was the best burger I have ever had! Three times better than the ones dad makes."

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Everything totally delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stopped by here without a dinner reservation (not recommended to do that) but they made room for us and everything we had was utterly delicious. I guess maybe I need to move to New York so I can eat there more frequently.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Moose Inn and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Moose Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Moose Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.