We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic inn with modern comforts--good choice for a woman traveling alone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Moose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Big Moose Inn to your Saves list
Big Moose Inn
1510 Big Moose Road, Eagle Bay, NY 13331   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Eagle Bay B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Historic inn with modern comforts--good choice for a woman traveling alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

The Big Moose Inn, under new management as of spring 2010, delivers all the ambience of a historic inn and Adirondack "great camp" along with the modern amenities that I hate to give up when I travel. The inn retains its turn-of-the-20th-century look (and closely resembles an old postcard photo I have of the place when it was "Burdick's Camp") but offers comfy rooms with modern bathrooms. There was no cell phone service (as is true throughout much of the Adirondacks) but Big Moose offers free super fast wireless internet so you can skype with your loved ones or check email. Framed newspaper articles on the walls of the inn recall the famous Chester Gillette/Grace Brown murder on Big Moose Lake that was later novelized by Theodore Dreiser in his book An American Tragedy. I was traveling alone so had booked a queen-sized room, but they upgraded me to the king-sized Pine Cone Room, with a magnificent view of the lake, at no extra charge. The bed was comfortable. Some pesky flying bugs (like little green gnats) swirled around the lamp as I read in bed, but that's the kind of thing to expect when staying right on a lake. The bullfrogs and loons I heard calling across the lake as I drifted off to sleep more than compensated for the annoyance of those bugs! The inn is medium sized (about 17 rooms?) and was a good fit for a woman traveling alone. Other guests were friendly and I could socialize when I felt like it and be alone when I wanted. A continental breakfast buffet was included in the room price. It was filling, though no protein other than hard-boiled eggs. You can take your breakfast out on the front deck and look out over the lake as you sip your coffee--awesome! Lunch and dinner are served in both the restaurant and the bar. I ate dinner in the bar, which was a friendly, casual place to mingle. The ceasar salad with salmon scampi was delicious. Several docks with Adirondack chairs are an inviting place to lounge and read. Canoes and kayaks are available to borrow. I intend to visit again, and this time I'll bring my husband so he can enjoy this gem of an inn!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, md
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We spent three nights, two full days at Big Moose Inn. The rustic charm of the inn and the beauty of the lake made this a perfect place for us to enjoy the Adirondacks. Our room was comfortable and clean. The owners are very friendly and eager to help. We enjoyed the restaurant and the extensive wines available. The crispy duck was excellent as were the steaks and prime rib. There are kayaks and canoes to enjoy on the lake, or you can sit on the porch with a cold Saranac lager and a good book. Lots of hiking trails in the area. A 45 minute drive to Blue Mountain to visit the Adirondack Museum is a good way to spend a half a day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Looking for peaceful, beautiful scenery, great food and rustic surroundings, then this is the place. Hard working owners Mark and Susan Mayer have a dream and they are fulfilling it for us and themselves. We no sooner got our luggage to the room then we spent the first hour just relaxing on the porch rockers. If Adirondack is what your looking for then this is it. Everywhere you look it's tradional furniture and decor. There are several docks for your convenience to park your boat or take a swim. There is a well stocked bar for your before or after dinner drink with tables for casual dining. The dining room is a pleasant, good sized room with servers that live up to or beyond expectations. We each had the petite 6oz. filet mignons and were exceptionally satisfied. Our apple crisp dessert was to die for.
Our evening was quite and relaxing with a gentle breeze blowing through our room. A good nights sleep was had by all. The morning arrived with a burned off fog and a continental breakfast. Mrs. G and I then spent some time taking pictures and enjoying the view of the lake from the dock.
We thank Mark and Susan for a great time and wish them much success with their new venture!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Recently traveled up to Eagle Bay for a visit and chose to stay at the Big Moose Inn. The new owners have done a terrific job sprucing up the place. The rooms are wonderful and clean. The service here is fantastic...........as is the food!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesville, Maryland
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

What a horrible stay. My Son and I spent one night here. We were looking for a walk back in time it had been about 20 years since my last visit we arrived on Saturdaynight looking for great food and a nice room what we got was food poisoning and an unclean bathroom shower I have never been so sick my son tasted the crab and said it was off I had a few bites of my meal and that was all I could handle. After a horrible night on the squeekiest beds we have ever slept in when checking out I told the owner about my horrible night she who was to busy on the computer to even look at me and said thanks for the info its good to know. What no sorry no let me give you your money back for your dinner nothing she was very rude and we have now taken them off our August and September visit list of both places to stay and places to eat. I have told everyone I know who viists the area to stay away!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Outstanding Adirondack Inn with a lot of character. Great place for snowmobiling! The staff is very helpful and friendly and the food in the restaurant is outstanding from burgers and beer in the bar to wine and gourmet dinners in the restaurant. I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Well this was my first time in the Adirondacks and I hit a home run when it comes to picking out accommodations. The Big Moose Inn is on a beautiful part of the lake, the people who work there are great and most of the guests I met had been going there for years. The location is perfect because you can easily do day trips to all of the sites, including Sagamore, Old Forge, Raquette Lake, the Adirondack Museum, Stillwater, etc. The best part is the dinners. If you want some of the best food ever, and I'm comparing this to great restaurants in San Francisco, Chicago, and New York, you will want to eat here. From the Roasted Duckling to the Veal Osso Buco, everything was presented perfectly and tasted delicious. I would give the hotel, staff, and chef all 5 stars. I’m returning next year for sure.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Moose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Moose Inn

Address: 1510 Big Moose Road, Eagle Bay, NY 13331
Location: United States > New York > Eagle Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eagle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Moose Inn is located on picturesque Big Moose Lake in the central Adirondacks. This peaceful and relaxing setting is a perfect summer getaway that allows you to feel at home without all of the extra stresses of your daily life. The Adirondack Mountains surrounding the Big Moose Inn offer great summer fun, especially on it’s bountiful lakes mid-summer. After a day of hiking, horseback riding, boating or Adirondack fishing, kick off your boots and sit by the Big Moose Inn fireplace or wood stove and enjoy the ambiance, the food, the ale and our Adirondack lake country inn. During the warm summer months you can cap off your day by relaxing on the porch in one of our rocking chairs. After the sun has set you can mingle with the other guests next to our bonfire and listen for the sounds of the loons on the lake. The Big Moose Inn offers free use of our canoes, kayaks and paddle boats to all of our overnight guests. If a game of checkers is more your speed, why not enjoy them on our floating gazebo dock, one of three docks the Big Moose Inn offers our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Big Moose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Moose Hotel Eagle Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Moose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.