We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel - clean and neat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3912 Vineyard Drive, Dunkirk, NY 14048   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dunkirk
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel - clean and neat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I had reservations at this hotel for 1 night on our way to Laconia, NH. The hotel itself was very clean, and our room was very large, clean and attractive. We had a corner room on the 2nd floor. The staff was friendly. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    74
    31
    21
    16
See reviews for
78
44
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

My room was clean and I really appreciated the fridge. But as a frequent road tripper, I know full well that it takes more than that to be a great budget hotel.

After a long day of driving I pulled in at this hotel for some rest. I was excited to read that they had HBO and anticipated watching a new documentary that was showing that night at 9pm. I heard it advertised on NPR during my drive and couldn't wait to watch it after my nap. Much to my chagrin, although HBO is listed on the hotel's channel guide, it doesn't actually have HBO. I asked the rep at the front desk and he had the audacity to say "Well, you didn't even know there was supposed to be HBO when you checked in." Really? Is this an acceptable response? How about "I'm sorry for the false advertising."

What you lack in amenities, you should make up in service. I should have kept driving and held out for something else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Creek, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Very nice hotel renovation done in 2009 really shows. Front desk and staff was very helpful. Rooms have a mini fridge,32 in flat screen, desk work area.
Bathroom is small but not really any worse then any other hotels. Shower head works good unlike some that almost tear off your skin. did not use indoor pool area. looks nice from walking past. breakfast in the morning was great. applebees bar and grill, dunkin donunts all in front of hotel. all in all for a $102 could not ask for any thing more will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We visit Fredonia because our daughter attends college there and has frequent concerts, This is really the only decent hotel in the area. The Clarion in Dunkirk is 2nd but is further away from the college and is also a little outdated.
The Best Western is a fairly new hotel. It is very clean, has a great staff, decent breakfast and allows small dogs. The rooms are adequate with comfy beds, a refidgerator and plenty of restaurants and stores nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Good value. Okay breakfast. Good location. Nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Stayed here for one night while attending events at SUNY Fredonia. I'm glad I looked back into this property as I found a recent review stating the hotel had undergone a face lift. Check in was interesting as I was grilled by the desk clerk over my use of a first initial. We had a first floor corner room with king bed. Room was spacious and very clean. LCD TV, new towels, bedding, carpeting and room decor were very nice. Mattress was new too but nothing to write home about. 24hr beverages at the breakfast bar. Free Wi-Fi. Small indoor pool and whirlpool (didn't use). After checking out the free breakfast passed and opted for the Dunkin' Donuts next door.
Only really issue was the HVAC. Unit vents were covered by draperies which blew all the heat up them and into the window. This would cause the unit thermostat to kick on and off without heating the room. A little help from the phone book pinned the drapes down on the window ledge keeping them off the vents.
Not a bad place for a quick stay. I would certainly book here again when the need arises!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We pulled in to Dunkirk, NY without knowing this hotel was there, since they're under new management and newly renovated and weren't listed on the internet yet. We decided to stop and ask about prices and see how clean they were. Upon stepping up to the counter, Cathy, the hotel manager, was extremely helpful right away. She offered for us to see one of the rooms, she told us about the accomodations and was so friendly. Our stay there, helped make this the best trip we've made to Dunkirk. The rooms are spotless...you don't feel like you're staying in a room someone else has stayed in...the bathrooms were spotless, the towels were plump and clean and there was a clean refrigerator for use. Everything in the room worked and we're allowed to have our dog in the room with us. The pool & spa were well maintained, and in full view of the snack/breakfast area. The breakfast/snack area is stocked all the time and available 24 hrs, for a late night snack, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, or some fruit. Breakfast is the usual with waffles, fruits, yogurt, coffee, fresh juice, bagels, etc. I can't say enough about the facilities and the staff. Thanks Cathy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn

Address: 3912 Vineyard Drive, Dunkirk, NY 14048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Dunkirk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dunkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunkirk & Fredonia Hotel Dunkirk
Best Western Dunkirk And Fredonia Inn
Dunkirk And Fredonia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.