We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nautical Nights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nautical Nights
Locust Rd, Seneca Lake, Dundee, NY   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
One Night FREE!!
Ranked #4 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had no idea what to expect. Lots of great reviews and nice pictures . . . but you just never know 'til you get there . . . right? Well from the minute Machelle greeted us at our car we knew this was going to be a great stay. She was so welcoming and accommodating. And what a fabulous place.

My main criteria in selecting a B&B for our one night in the Finger Lakes was to stay right on the shoreline. Not up on a hill with a view, but right on the water's edge. Well, the deck off of our room literally hung over the water. A few steps down and we were on the dock. We heard the waves gently lapping on the shoreline as we slept with the refreshing cool air coming in through our open door. The innkeepers have paid great attention to detail both in the decor and in providing the ammenities that make for a comfortable stay (outdoor spa, chiminea, quality linens, a Kuerig coffee maker, ice, chocolates, etc)

Breakfast on the deck overlooking the morning lake was spectacular. Oh, and the food was equally impressive.

We will surely be back. Coupled with finding some great wines (big reds at Kings Garden and Fox Run), this is a trip we could repeat again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water. I think some (or maybe one) has a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful, relaxing stay in the Finger Lakes at Nautical Nights B & B; we were celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary....and we had such a nice time. The location was perfect....away from town and right on beautiful Lake Seneca. Our hosts, Machelle and Brad were very hospitable and sweet, and their dogs, Spirit and Casper, were absolutely precious. Breakfast every morning was served out on the deck of the B & B and we were lucky to have beautiful weather the entire time of our stay. We stayed in the Herron's Roost room, which is the largest and has it's own large deck overlooking the lake; it was perfect for a special occasion stay! The B & B has an outdoor hot tub overlooking Lake Seneca and we took full advantage! The drive into the town of Watkins Glen is about 15 minutes, where you can find a few good restaurants or cafes to grab a meal. We ate dinner at Seneca Harbor Station one night (great view right on the harbor); and lunch at Crooked Rooster pub....delicious! Watkins Glen State Park is not to be missed, with its amazing views and gorge trails; what an unbelievable place!
We did not do any wine tours, but instead just relaxed and enjoyed the lovely serenity of Lake Seneca's beauty. We went to Suzanne's Fine Regional Cuisine restaurant for our special anniversary dinner and both the food and service were incredible (as well as the views); we highly recommend it! We're sure that someday we'll return to Seneca Lake and the wonderful B & B of Nautical Nights.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I just spent two nights in Herron's Roost, it was wonderful. Machelle, Brad and Spirit made us feel right at home. This B&B is truly a little piece of heaven on the finger lakes. The room was spotless and very private, the perfect place to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary. The food was delicious. We will visit again for sure.

Room Tip: The view from the second floor could not be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We just spent two nights in the Beach Bungalow at Nautical Nights and thoroughly enjoyed our first B&B experience. The setting is simply amazing...the rooms are directly on Seneca Lake. We loved waking in the morning to the sound of the water and the warmth of the sun rising over the lake, not to mention the delicious and varied breakfasts with the other guests. The road to the house is a bit steep, but doable. We didn't get a chance to get to the hot tub - it was always full - but the option was much appreciated. The B&B was central to visiting many wineries, near Watkins Glen, yet set away from the main road. Our room was clean and the decor modern... fresh water daily, mini refrigerator, coffee maker...all welcome touches. We enjoyed our private and restful vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I took an anniversary trip one of our favorite areas of the country - the Finger Lakes for a weekend and stayed at our first B&B - Nautical Nights on Seneca Lake. What a great experience! Brad met us along with Spirit upon arrival and showed us right to our room. We stayed in the bungalow off to the side of the main house and loved it. They have thought of everything and our stay was wonderful. Breakfast each day was delicious and varied - not what I expected! We spent some time in the hot tub overlooking the lake with a bit of wine and took advantage of the chiminea on the deck one night as well.
What a great location to base from and tour along all of the western Seneca Lake wineries! Great restaurants are also around. For some casual yet good food - visit the Crooked Rooster in Watkins Glen - just down the road. We also hiked in Watkins Glen one morning - beautiful.
Can't say enough about Nautical Nights - Machelle, Brad and Spirit.

Room Tip: We stayed a bit more by ourselves in the bungalow but others in the main house loved it as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Nautical Nights B&B is, BY FAR, the most beautifully located (IT'S RIGHT ON SENECA LAKE!!), perfectly-outfitted and gorgeously-situated accommodations we've ever had the privilege to visit. The road down to the property is intimidating, but well worth the effort. The on-line pics do not do this place justice. Imagine a room, small-ish but beautifully decorated and impeccably clean (including a bathroom with a roomy two-person shower), where you can lounge in bed and listen to the gentle lapping of the waters of Seneca Lake on the shoreline just outside your room. This is a rare and incredibly hospitable retreat. Machelle, Brad and Spirit make you feel at home the minute you arrive, and are willing to provide anything and everything you might need to make your stay romantic, memorable and complete. We first visited this B&B in October of 2008, and have returned every Columbus Day weekend since. There is no place we'd rather be than Nautical Nights. Thank you Machelle, Brad and Spirit!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Nautical Nights on the Seneca Lake is a perfect place to escape if you are looking for a high quality B&B in the wine trail and lake view. Our room was with all amenities, clean and facing the beautiful Seneca views from a big wall window. We watched the sunrise from the bed…and it was a big fun.
Our hosts Michelle and Brad were very friendly, and we enjoyed perfect breakfasts in excellent company with all the guests around one big table. The food was delicious!
We had a perfect vacation and enjoyable time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nautical Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautical Nights

Address: Locust Rd, Seneca Lake, Dundee, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautical Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nautical Nights to your Saves list