We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, very nice wines and tasty food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veraisons Restaurant

Veraisons Restaurant
5435 Route 14, Dundee, NY 14837
800-243-5513
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Dundee
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Lovely views, very nice wines and tasty food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I had a late Sunday lunch at Veraisons. Overall, Veraisons is a little pricey, but the food was very good and the suggested wine pairing was excellent. There is a lovely, covered veranda with gorgeous views of the vineyard and Seneca Lake. However, the afternoon was so hot that we chose to sit inside. The dining room wall is mostly glass, so we still had a very nice view. Our server was friendly and attentive.

The menu has a small, but varied selection of appetizers, entrees and desserts. For a starter, we shared the cheese sampler platter for one. There were four local cheeses, served with fruit and crackers. The portion for one was very generous--more than enough for two to share with some left over to take home for later! The cheeses, crackers, blueberries and grapes were all delicious. My one criticism is that the few strawberries on the plate looked and tasted like they weren’t very fresh. We didn’t say anything to our server about the strawberries, but we probably should have. Everything else about our meal was very good.

My Caesar salad, served with goat cheese, chicken and parmesan flatbread was tasty and the homemade Caesar dressing was a standout. The suggested pairing of Glenora Signature wine was perfect. My husband said his grilled chicken sandwich was delicious. The portions were generous and we just didn’t have room for dessert, but we were tempted.

We enjoyed our meal, despite the small flaw, and will eat at Veraisons, again, when we are in the area. Veraisons is the restaurant at the Glenora Winery and Inn. We didn't stay at the Inn, but the winery and restaurant are both worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    25
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine pairing dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We attended the June wine pairing dinner & it was fabulous! For $50/person, we got a 5 course meal (beef shank with red onion marmalade, seafood sausage & duck pate, pomagranite granite, short ribs, & strawberry rhubarb semifrado), & each was served with a complimenting wine from their winery. Let's face it, at many restaurants you'd pay $50 just for the 5 glasses of wine! The food was amazing - Executive Chef Orlando Rodriguez did a wonderful job cooking & explaining the foods/wines. We sat on the patio overlooking the lake & vineyard, & watched a wedding rehearsal take place. It was very peaceful, & Sarah & Hallie provided excellent service. The following morning we had breakfast on the patio too - my husband had Eggs Florentine & I had the Andouille Sausage Wrap. Both were excellent & very filling. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Glad we picked this restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great food. I had scallops with some gormet topping on it and the sides were fried plantains and a mango veggie mix. My husband had Filet Mignon and it was done perfectly very tender. The service was excellent.Went on a Sunday night at 5:30 and it wasn't crowded. The dress code was casual.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, NY
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Overlooking Seneca Lake is great eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Midweek in mid-May and the restaurant was not crowded. Service was prompt and attentive. Food (we went with the spcecials that night - prime rib and halibut). The entrees were great but the sides were uninspired. Atmosphere was great! The restaurant is association with Glenora Wine Cellars which is right next door and the Inn at Glenora.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
“Weekend wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We attended my nephews wedding on June 23,2012 and had the most wonderful experience.
From the breakfast at Veraisons at Glenora to the most incredible dinner at the wedding; thanks to Kathleen and of course the chef. The entire event from beginning to end could not
have been more perfect. Thank You

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veraisons Restaurant also viewed

Dundee, Finger Lakes
Dundee, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Veraisons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veraisons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.