We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fulkerson Winery

Fulkerson Winery
5576 Route 14, Dundee, NY 14837
607-243-7883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Attractions in Dundee
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us in our spacious tasting room overlooking Seneca Lake, a beautiful setting for wine tasting, no matter the season. Visit in the fall and enjoy fresh-pressed grape juices, used by home winemakers to make their own wines. We have a fully stocked Home Winemaker's Shop with all the tools and supplies of the trade, along with a newly expanded Home Brewing Shop as well. Browsers will enjoy exploring the shelves of our unique gift shop, featuring local food items, books, artwork and more. There is something for everyone at this unique stop on the west side of the Seneca Lake Wine Trail.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a beautiful winery. With a big HOWEVER...we had a group of 10 people and the very young man who assisted us in the wine tasting room was condescending to the point of rudeness. There was a definite aura of "I work here so I know more about wine than you do" to downright eye-rolling and snarky comments about what we "should or should not" like. Most of our group was in the 50+ age bracket and have been around the block a time or two, so his comments were really unappreciated. We had just spent close to $1200 at Dr. Franks which was our first stop, but our group spent not one penny more at Fulkerson's and it wasn't due to the wine quality. What a turn-off.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany M, Advertising Director at Fulkerson Winery, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you were treated so inappropriately. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly so that we can address this with the correct staff member. Please contact me at your convenience by phone: 607-243-7883 or email: advertising@fulkersonwinery.com to discuss. Thank you in advance. Brittany Morris, Advertising Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Finger Lakes, NY
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“food truck was not up to par”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We weren't big fans of the food truck food quality here. Everything was overcooked and seemed very generic. Winery is lovely though and worth a trip

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany M, Advertising Director at Fulkerson Winery, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed our wines but sorry to hear the food truck wasn't quite what you expected. The truck is independently owned and operated, and has been setting up here for just a couple of weeks, but so far, feedback has been overwhelmingly positive. We hope you'll come back and give them another try. If you'd like to discuss this further, I'd be happy to chat. Feel free to contact me by email: advertising@fulkersonwinery.com or by phone 607-243-7883. Sincerely, Brittany Morris, Advertising Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wines are likely good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Unfortunately, we were unable to taste the wine due to being ignored by the tasting room staff. We waited patiently as several parties who arrived after us were waited upon and serviced. We will, sadly, not be visiting again, but we hope the service will be improved for future visitors. The scenery is lovely!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany M, Advertising Director at Fulkerson Winery, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. This is certainly not the norm, as you can see from our other reviews. However, any negative customer experience is totally unacceptable to us. We would love the opportunity to address this with you personally and make things right. Please contact me at your convenience, via email: advertising@fulkersonwinery.com or by phone at 607-243-7883. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to show you what we're really about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful winery....great staff.....excellent selection.....some very interesting wines....highly recommend fulkerson on your next wine tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany M, Advertising Director at Fulkerson Winery, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and recommend us to your fellow travelers! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fulkerson Winery is one of our favorites on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail. The building is beautiful, with antique tractors on the grounds. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about their product, and they have fun activities like their summer event which pairs wine, BBQ and music. Definitely try their Matinee, a sweet white that even this fan of dry wines enjoys!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany M, Advertising Director at Fulkerson Winery, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Amy, Thanks for sharing your feedback! So glad to hear that you enjoyed visiting with us. We strive to offer a great experience whether it's an everyday tasting or a special event, like our BBQ. Thanks again - cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fulkerson Winery also viewed

 

Been to Fulkerson Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulkerson Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.