We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
254 Dundee Starkey Road, Dundee, NY 14837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$50 to Local Eatery
Ranked #3 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Somerset, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Time Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

There were four couples of us doing a wine tasting weekend, we spent three nights at Starkey's and everything was great. Cathy did a wonderful job of making are stay enjoyable and was very helpfull explaining the area and what was there to do. Her breakfasts were very good and the location of the house was good for are wine tours.
Thank You

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We nested in the Robin’s Nest suite for three days of wine tasting and small town backwoods exploring. I was travelling with my parents in a party of three. Robin’s Nest consists of two connected bedrooms, a bathroom and access to the wonderful second floor porch. It was the perfect solution that comfortably accommodated all of us and will do the same for anybody travelling in a group of 3 or 4 who do not wish to take separate rooms, or simply wants to save on the extra expense.

We found the 1922 Starkey House to be an excellent base to explore the area from. Watkins Glen and the best wineries on the west and the scenic east side of Seneca Lake are all within 20 minutes’ drive. Keuka Lake is a short drive down a back road past Mennonite settlements. Just around the corner to the south is Lakewood Vineyards, great for bargains and very drinkable wines. Just to the north is the more historical Hermann Wiemer Vineyard among others. Once we had our fill of wine tasting we started exploring some of the many scenic nature escapes. There is nothing better after a day or morning of hiking than visiting one of the many microbreweries that is springing up among the vineyards. We felt especially welcome at the mother & son operation of Two Goats. Although it is perfectly located we liked the fact that the Starkey House is basically ‘in the country’ among locals, so that staying there you feel somehow part of the community rather than a tourist.

The inn-keeper Cathy served us three unique, freshly and masterfully prepared breakfasts on one of the great porches. Some of the star ingredients often came from places like her garden, or the bee-keeper up the street, or a Mennonite settlement. Cathy grew up in the area, then travelled widely and recently returned. Because of her intimate ties to the region she does not only knows most there is to know about the region but also will share many of the interesting back stories with those who are interested.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I spent a few days bicycle touring the Finger Lakes region and stayed with Cathy. She did a wonderful job making us feel at home in her lovely home. Waking up to the sunrise in the veranda room was excellent. We will return.

Room Tip: Veranda room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We celebrated our 24th anniversary at the 1922 Starkey House; what a wonderful experience! The house & rooms are extremely clean and tidy, the 2nd floor porches are a must for nighttime relaxing, the main porch for breakfast, a real treat! innkeeper Cathy Moskal is the most gracious and helpful host and a real artisan in the kitchen (5 star breakfasts!). Highly recommend if you plan on visiting the Finger Lakes & want a true B&B experience!

Room Tip: Any of the 2nd floor rooms with the porch, a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

What a great time at Starkey House! Cathy took the time to show us around the house, asked questions about any dietary requirements (we had none), and just make us feel like a part of her family. She even asked us what time we would like to have breakfast! And Cathy uses local food items for her delicious breakfast creations!
And our bed had the softest sheets we had ever experienced!
We hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our first time staying at a B&B and we had a great time. Loved the porches. The room was very nice and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfasts were wonderful and Cathy was a great host to say the least.
She does her best to make sure everyone is happy. It was a great experience and we hope to do it again. 1922 Starkey House is also in a great location when visiting the Seneca Lake area.
Thanks, Cathy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and it greatly exceeded our expectations. We made last minute reservations when our original vacation plans were cancelled, but we were lucky to find the 1922 Starkey House. We're both vegans and were nervous about finding vegan-friendly accommodations, but Cathy went out of her way to accommodate our vegan diet and was very knowledgeable about our restrictions. The breakfasts were exceptional and delicious! Our room was very comfortable, and Cathy was a wonderful host. There's lots to do in the area and Cathy was very helpful with suggestions. We had a wonderful experience and definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thanks for staying at Starkey House. I love to provide healthy breakfasts for all of my guests! The menu is created from fresh, local produce and farm-grown products including meats, poultry, eggs, vegetables and fruits. Guests may enjoy hearty American-style breakfasts as well as creative European type dishes that are among my signature dishes. I am able and willing to customize according to the needs of my Vegan, Vegetarian, Glueten-free and lactose intollerant guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 254 Dundee Starkey Road, Dundee, NY 14837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Heart of the Finger Lakes" with a veranda view of Seneca Lake 1922 Starkey House is the perfect "home base" from which to explore the wineries, vineyards, restaurants, lakes, and numerous attractions of the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. The house provides a warm and welcoming country atmosphere just a short drive away from the bustling shops and restaurants of Watkins Glen, Geneva, Penn Yan, or Ithaca.The Seneca, Keuka, and Cayuga Wine Trails, as well as the Artisan Cheesetrails are all just minutes away. If you enjoy Watkins Glen International racing, it is just ten miles away. Bring your love for fishing and boating to the nearby NY State boat launch.The house features Mission style architecture and sits proudly onalmost two lush acres with garden views of perennials and evergreens. Theproperty also displays huge Catalpa, Sycamore and Maple trees that provideinviting shaded sitting places. Guests may enjoy delicious breakfasts andevening buffet snacks in the dining room or on the porches. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list