We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop searching, this is your B&B for a finger lakes vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast
4986 Apple Road Extension, Dundee, NY 14837   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Dundee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stop searching, this is your B&B for a finger lakes vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Sunrise Landing was in a beautiful location, the road down to the water was very steep & curvy so go slowly & carefully! But the location couldn't be better! It was private & homey.

The hosts were kind & welcoming. The food was great. The sense of community very warm. Yet, my fiance & also felt our privacy respected completely.

If we ever vacation in in the area again this is the only place we'd consider staying at! I loved the message board used for communicating between hosts & guests. It also listed a direct number we could reach them at if there was an immediate need; but, most of the time we could find Barbara or Bob in the office or on the grounds.

It was delightful. It was rustic but very clean. We loved our weekend in wine & waterfall country!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

A great spot if you are visiting the Finger Lakes. Barb and Bob are great hosts. You will not be disappointed with your choice to stay at Sunrise Landing. I can't say enough about the food! A full breakfast in included and it is so good and filling you will probably not need lunch! The location is perfect, right on the lake, and close to many wineries.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

There are cheaper places to stay in this area, close as it is to Watkins Glen, tHe park and the racetrack. But Sunrise Landing stands head and shoulders above the rest.

PROS:
-stunning location on the banks of Lake Seneca, with panoramic lake views
-spacious rooms, very well kept and exceptionally clean
-quiet, serene environment, surrounded by wooded areas
-close to many wineries, and only ten minutes away from Watkins Glen State Park and the racetrack.
-excellent breakfasts
-filtered drinking water
-the small touches are abundant and very thoughtful....cookies, bottled water, etc. The owners even take your picture with the beautiful lake in the background, and print off a copy for you to take with you as a remembrance of your stay. When have you experienced THAT lately?

CONS
A minor quibble....the dirt road that leads down the ravine from the highway to the Inn is a twisty turny affair with several steep inclines and a few sections where only one vehicle-at-a-time can navigate. Their website warns that your vehicle requires four wheel drive during fall and winter. You should take that advice seriously. The owners have arrangements in place so that you can park your vehicle just off the highway and they will ferry you down to the inn, if you wish this. It is a great option when the access road is a mess. In good weather, however, the access road is a hoot to drive.

Conclusion
This is a premium property, in a unique, scenic and quiet setting. It is exceptionally clean. The small touches are abundant. The rates are competitive for what you get. It is a memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a four night stay at Sunrise Landing. We stayed in the Sunflower Apartment - a very comfortable, relaxing place with a full wall of windows overlooking Seneca Lake. This private accommodation - with its own entrance, has a full kitchen, living room area, bedroom, and bath. The unit is tastefully decorated and super, super clean. The unit also has its own deck/patio area with tables and chairs and a swing overlooking the lake for outside viewing of the lake.
Barbara and Bob are the perfect bed and breakfast hosts. They prepare and serve a delicious breakfast that includes fresh fruit, a coffee cake or pastry, an entree with side dish, juice, and cofee each morning. Enough food that we did not have lunch any of the days we stayed there!!! Each day was a different menu. And every afternoon/evening there are freshly baked cookies available. They even post a menu of the next day's breakfast - I found myself dreaming of breakfast!!! Barbara and Bob also provided us with information about the area - restaurants, wineries, etc. and Bob took guests on a boat ride of the lake. When we requested an early breakfast time the day of departure they accommodated us - and sent us on our way with a bag of cookies for the road! So...beautiful setting, wonderful accommodations, and the perfect hosts - we hit the trifecta for our first trip to the Finger Lakes area. We will be back to Sunrise Landing!

Room Tip: The Sunflower Apartment is spacious with outstanding views of Seneca Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I took my sister, who had recently lost her husband, to the Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast in Dundee, NY for a two-night stay. We stayed in the Morning Glory Suite which faced the lake. Everything was so clean and neat. The breakfasts were absolutely the best and more than we could finish. The scenery was so gorgeous. It was a nice respite for my sister who was missing her husband so much, and we also enjoyed the peaceful and pleasing atmosphere. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful. It was an experience to remember!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a night and we enjoyed it. Barbara is gracious and friendly. It is very comfortable and homey. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Wonderful few days spent at this B&B. The home was modern and clean and very spacious. Our suite came with a kitchen as well. The home sits high above Seneca Lake with a beautiful view. Breakfasts were a delight, and the hoteliers were charming and gracious.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4986 Apple Road Extension, Dundee, NY 14837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sunrise Landing B&B, located on the west side of Seneca Lake, less than 10 miles from Watkins Glen, NY. You will find pristine accommodations, secluded on a wooded hillside, right on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail. This three suite Bed and Breakfast is a perfect spot for a romantic getaway, a respite with friends, or lodging for an extended stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunrise Landing Hotel Dundee
Sunrise Landing b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list