We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IL Toscano Restaurant

IL Toscano Restaurant
4205 235th St, Douglaston, NY 11363-1526
(718) 631-0300
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Toscano Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Douglaston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Douglaston Parkway
Transit: The Port Washington branch of the L.I.R.R.- Douglaston Station.
Description: For almost three decades, Il Toscano has been known for taking fresh, seasonal ingredients and preparing sumptuous Northern Italian style cuisine.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outrageous Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Have eaten at Il Toscano a number of times and have always had a good meal. Haven't been there in a while, so I met a couple of friends there tonight. There was a lobster special that sounded good, two one pound lobsters out of the shell, so I ordered it. Also got the special salad and a glass of wine.
Salad nothing special, just greens and peaches and a hunk of blue cheese, walnuts, just ok tasting. Wine good. Lobster, very good, nice amount, came with nothing else.
I almost flipped out when I got my portion of the bill. The lobster was $55, the salad $13.50 and wine $10.50, for a total with tax of $97.00!!!! I thought this was incredible!!! With tip, a meal for just one person came to $110.00!!! I know lobster is expensive, but I feel this was outrageous!!! My friends just got an appetizer each and one entree and one Coke. Their bill was $67.00. I will never go back there again. To pay for good food is one thing, to get robbed is another.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've eaten there with friends on a number of occasions and had two special parties catered there. Food is always delicious; noise level is tolerable, particularly during the week. Hospitable owners and staff. And, right across from the Douglaston LIRR station and....parkng is free!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglaston, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent food my favorite place. Love the fresh pasta. Great atmosphere-staff professional.. you feel like you are in Italy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occassion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The lobster is amazing! There are a few quiet areas for a romantic evening, but often it is crowded. The food is delicious and the restaurant is a few steos from the Long Island Rail Road.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Attention to detail, great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We live near this restaurant and eat there once every 2 months. We have never been let down. Delicious Italian food. Very good wine selection. Excellent service. Great place for family dinner, romantic dinner or a business dinner. It is only about 30 yards from the Douglaston train station. Free parking is a plus too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Toscano Restaurant also viewed

 
Douglaston, Queens
 

Been to IL Toscano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Toscano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.